We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mid week break”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We checked in here at the last minute you know just what you are getting with premier inns although there was a strange irritating clicking going on all night that kept me awake most of the night
When we checked out I informed them of the problem and with no trouble they gave me a full refund this would not stop me from staying again had we been in a b&b we would of just got an apology

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubylou_64088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. I am sorry to hear you experienced problems with the heater in your room, this is certainly not the standard we aim for and I will ensure your feedback is passed on. I am pleased to hear the team were quick to find a resolve to this problem for you and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    125
    76
    30
    16
See reviews for
132
179
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. We checked in on line so it took a couple of minutes to get the room key. We had dinner at the adjoining pub restaurant. Food and service was of good quality and reasonable value. The staff there were very friendly and atmosphere good.
Our night in the room was not so good however. There was a clicking from an electrical box which kept waking us. I discovered the following that it was from the heating thermostat.
I complained the following morning and the receptionist apologised. She also refunded our night's stay.
We didn't have breakfast there. It's poor value for money. Probably OK if you claim expenses from your company.
There is a McDonald's and Morrison's a couple of minutes drive away.
I would recommend for a stay if the noise in the room was sorted

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeballpaul25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us here at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. It is our main priority to ensure you have a great night's sleep and I must apologise that on this occasion this was not the case. I will certainly ensure the issue with the thermostat has been investigated by our maintenance team. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening meal in the adjoining restaurant and that the team looked after you well. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For a stopover on the way back from Mull, things didn’t start too well!
We went to the wrong Premier Inn, at M6 jtn 42, to be told “this often happens cos the other one is only half a mile down the road and the same post code area”. Our check-in at the correct venue was efficient, but on asking about booking a table for a meal at the Flaming Grill we were told that “they don’t take bookings, and it gets very busy on a Friday night so I would come down fairly early”!
Our room was clean and fresh, but the bathroom was in need of some TLC!
Thinking about the Receptionists advice on a meal, we went down to the Flaming Grill about 7:15. What she didn’t tell us was that it encompassed a ‘Sports Bar’ and England were about to KO against Peru! 2 Big Screens, commentary turned up full blast, hardly a table to be had. When we were offered one under a pair of the speakers, we decided to opt for a quick meal and back to the room. We were then told that the wait for food would be 30mins, the beer was rank, and when the food did come (20mins) it was awful!
The breakfast next morning was chaos, had to wait for coffee cups, milk, and bread to toast, and the table with everything on it was positioned in the narrowest part of the room right where the door to the kitchen was, and where people were queuing to be found a table.
If you use this Premier Inn sort out somewhere else to eat before you arrive, and skip breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had in the adjoining restaurant, this is certainly not the standard we aim for and I will pass on your comments to the management team of the Flaming Grill. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The most uncomfortable beds going and no money back guarantee. When we informed reception that didnt seem too bothered. We had stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and had the same problem, cant believe the beds havent been changed in 4 years. Also they have had to cut a piece out the toilet door so it could pass the toilet and close

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I must apologise that you did not have a comfortable stay with us, this is certainly not the standard we aim for with Premier Inn. We are expecting our new beds to be delivered later this month, and are addressing the issue we have with our bathroom doors. I am sorry that the reception team did not offer you a resolution under our Good Night Guarantee. Please contact me on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com, as I would like to ensure we resolve this for you and are able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here as a stop over before going to center parcs and was a great idea. Staff were friendly room was clean and comfortable and the attached pub restaurant was great if need to do a stop over round there again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. It's great to hear our team were so welcoming and you found your room to be of the high standard we aim for. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal in the adjoining restaurant and will certainly pass on your kind comments to their team. I hope you and your family enjoyed your break at Center Parcs and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Room 115 the bed is awfull two singles put together.... Horrible to sleep inn. Sort this our premier inn please I use premier inn a lot the best one so far in Carlisle is jct 44 very nice... So next time I'm staying then next when I stay up here again ..

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trev26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep, this is certainly not the standard we aim for with Premier Inn. Please be assured your comments will be investigated. If you would like to discuss this issue with me further please do not hesitate to contact me on operationsmanager.carlislecentralnorth@whitbread.com.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel met Premier Inn's normal high standards. The room was quiet and it was good to see that guests are now reminded to reduce noise.
Adjacent Flaming Grill pub provided an excellent steak, real ale and a great price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldergolfer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear you found our rooms to be of the high standard we aim for with Premier Inn and that you enjoyed your meal in the adjoining restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again on your next visit to Carlisle.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
1.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Address: Kingstown Road, Carlisle CA3 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle is the ideal base to explore the grandeur of the Lake District. And Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central North is a grand place to stay, putting you within easy reach of the national park as well as the business and leisure facilities of the historic city centre. Whether you're strolling along Carlisle high street, or stomping along High Street Fell, there's plenty to distract you here. Some visitors come to buy livestock at the Harrison & Hetherington auction market, others to spend time on Hadrian's Wall. Every September there's the Tour of Britain cycle race too. Then it's time to unclip from the pedals and unwind back at the hotel, with our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit M6 (J44) onto the A7. There is a Premier Inn hotel located on this junction but Carlisle North is located 1 mile away on the A7 towards Carlisle.On the left, next to The Gosling Bridge Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Golf Course Carlisle Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing