We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had never stayed in a Premier Inn before but if staff at others in the group are as welcoming/friendly we would have no hesitation in recommending others to try Premier Inns (we stayed at the Premier Inn on the M6, Junction 42).

Our first impression of the bedroom was the size of the room, as we have stayed in other places where the room could only be described as 'cramped'. The king-size bed was very comfortable to sleep in & the room was light & airy. Although the wardrobe/storage was very basic it was adequate for our needs as we were only staying for 2 nights.

If you book a stay & Premier Inns are running their 'Meal Deal', which includes a 3 course evening meal & a drink (wine/beer/soft drink) plus full breakfast the following morning, it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tojan662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    253
    53
    12
    10
See reviews for
250
303
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Not sure why the staff are so good here but the Junction 42 Premier Inn is a little oasis off the M6 motorway and we always stay here when breaking our journey to Scotland. Has a good restaurant that is open quite late (can get served up to 10 pm most nights) and a hearty breakfast for a lot less than a big hotel. Comfortable and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisdced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed at the Premier Inn Jct 42 a couple of weeks ago as it was convenient (driving from Birmingham to the Highlands needed a break after a non-stop working weekend!). Check-in was efficient yet friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. One thing I would say is that the room was a little cold when I arrived but this is easily adjusted using the thermostat on the wall. As promised I slept like a log, despite being metres away from the motorway I was not aware of the traffic noise at all. The hotel itself and staff were first class. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the overall experience of dinner and breakfast. Service in both circumstances was slow, my starter never arrived at dinner and even drinks service was slow. Disappointing, but I would stay there again for convenience sake and knowing that the Housekeeping Team have high standards.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

perfectly sited hotel for over-night stay when travelling to/from Scotland and northern Ireland. Everyone knows what to expect when staying at Premier Inns. Nothing fancy, but comfortable good clean accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowersinmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stay in Premier Inns all the time mainly York and Preston excellent comfort food and most important when you satyu a lot they MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Stayed on a business trip, reception great gave me all info. Rooms very clean and comfy beds with plenty of pillows also tea and coffee making as much as you want. Great breakfast wish I could have it every day.
Overall a great stay as I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzycatBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed here a couple of days ago, for one night, when travelling home from Cambridge. The weather was awful and the M74 was unpassable in parts and the M8 had been blocked for over 40 hours.

We have, in the last few months, stayed at a couple of Premier Inns within travelling distance of Cambridge and have always found them to be clean and comfortable. This Premier Inn was no exception and provided a much needed and comfortable break from the severe weather conditions. There was no problem getting into the car park, or out of it the next morning when it was minus 16, everything was well gritted.

I have to praise the staff in both the hotel and the restaurant. They were absolutely fantastic. The reception staff were friendly and provided us with computer printouts of the weather and road conditions. We had not asked for them to do this - they just thought it might help us to decide which route we should try! We ate at the restaurant both in the evening and on the morning of our departure. As mentioned in a previous review, the slight downside is that the restaurant is not attached and so you have to walk a few steps outside to enter it. However, even in the snow and freezing temperature this was not a problem. The food was well-presented, hot, tasty and well-priced. In the morning we had not not realised that breakfast finished at 9am and, as we were passing through reception at 8.59, the receptionist said she would phone ahead to mention that we would be there in a few minutes. When we arrived the Manager greeted us and was fully aware of our situation - that we had an arduous journey ahead. He directed us to the buffet and took our order for a cooked breakfast - asking how many eggs, sausages, bacon, etc. we would like. This was freshly cooked to our requirements. He also offered to fill our flask for our journey.

I have also just written a review on our experience at the Premier Inn, Colmworth Park (near Cambridge) where we stayed for a couple of nights just prior to breaking our journey in Carlisle. In that review I explained about our problems getting there due to snow and how fantastic they were in re-arranging our booking at very little extra cost.

To conclude - Premier Inn will definitely be getting all my business in future. Their staff staff are superb!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
3.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Address: Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for exploring the North West of England and Scotland too, Carlisle is a great destination in its own right. And when you're staying at Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 442 you'll be able to enjoy all that this vibrant city has to offer. What's your favourite subject? History? Then make sure to visit Carlisle Castle and experience 900 years of fascinating facts. Geography? Marvel at the stunning landscape of the Lake District. Sports? Carlisle racecourse is just a short journey away. Cookery? Now you're talking - our onsite Table Table restaurant brings a fresh twist on eating out, and there's a comfy bed awaiting you at the end of your evening. Directions: Situated just off M6(J42), south of Carlisle. Next to the Border Gate Table Table. 10pound in taxi to city centre Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Racecourse Carlisle Train Station 3 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 42) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing