We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again a delight to stay at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Once again a delight to stay at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Best night sleep since I left home. Staff are helpful the rooms clean, tidy and neat.

For a budget hotel it would take some beating (£39 per night). Far better than the Hilton Tree Tops Hotel in Aberdeen (£124 per night).

Food in the Public house opposite was excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been fine. Very little if any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwbcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    246
    51
    11
    9
See reviews for
240
294
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orphir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay, one night. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent but the self service side lets it down. No trays are provided so its a constant backwards and forwards trip for coffee, orange juice, cereals and then join everyone else waiting for the toaster to perform! Meanwhile your breakfast - which is excellent - has been cooked. If only trays were provided for to enable guests to make just one or two trips to the self service table so much time would be saved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tredfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night I chose this Premier Inn as it is close to Carlisle Racecourse a short taxi ride of about ten mins. the rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a large tv. the only downside to this hotel was there was no airconditioning although a fan was provided it wasn't really enough. would stay again as we got this hotel stay for a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just off motorway quiet situation..perfect 10 minutes from carlisle racecourse . Hotel is good clean and comfortable staff pleasant. We ate breakfast in restuarant cold was buffet but had to order hot not as good as other premier inns and not cleanest food on floor ...felt floor could have been doing with a good clean. Would definately stay in the rooms again as was very comfortable and quiet, I have rated this on accomodation and not on restuarant as it would have ben totally different,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelldollMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We holiday nearly every year in Scotland and usually break our return journey around Glasgow. This year we decided to push on a bit further and spare some pain on the final leg back to Bristol. Having checked the reviews, this looked good, and it was ideal. 30 secs off the M6, hugely friendly (as with all PIs, which strikes me is one of the main selling points), nice restaurant with very friendly staff. Thoroughly recommended. Our younger daughter gets actively excited about stays in PIs!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I loved this premier inn the staff in hotel and table table were very friendly and welcoming we stayed with our one year old son and everyone made an effort to speak to him and say hi ect will defiantly stay at this one again.
Bed big and comfy room clean and tidy nice big tv on the wall not like the normal little ones you usually get.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The3taylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We decided to break our journey to Scotland and booked for one night here. We arrived at 23:40 after a long drive, and were very warmly welcomed by Eva, who immediately appreciated that it had been a long day and handled the check in and breakfast booking very quickly. The room was fine, and breakfast the next morning at the Border Gate next door lived up to it's title of "premier breakfast" ... The only disappointment was that there was no de-caf filter coffee available only sachets of instant decaf, but at least it was Kenco decaf! Staff friendly and helpful and if doing the same journey again would choose to stop off here

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGB_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Address: Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for exploring the North West of England and Scotland too, Carlisle is a great destination in its own right. And when you're staying at Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 442 you'll be able to enjoy all that this vibrant city has to offer. What's your favourite subject? History? Then make sure to visit Carlisle Castle and experience 900 years of fascinating facts. Geography? Marvel at the stunning landscape of the Lake District. Sports? Carlisle racecourse is just a short journey away. Cookery? Now you're talking - our onsite Table Table restaurant brings a fresh twist on eating out, and there's a comfy bed awaiting you at the end of your evening. Directions: Situated just off M6(J42), south of Carlisle. Next to the Border Gate Table Table. 10pound in taxi to city centre Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Racecourse Carlisle Train Station 3 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 42) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing