We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Friday 30th May 2014 and was very impressed with the value for money and the breakfast was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was just right for the M6 and also it was not far to drive into Carlisle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    277
    63
    13
    12
See reviews for
274
331
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Chose this as a night stop to break up a long drive based on the TV ad about a good night's sleep! Wasn't expecting much given the cheap price and tired looking entrance sort of worried me a bit as a first impression. However nice warm welcome and room was a very pleasant surprise. If anyone has read any of my other reviews they will know cleanliness is REALLY important to me. Well the room was spotless and completely adequate for what I wanted and exceeded expectations in some areas. Fantastically comfortable bed and pillows just like the ad! Large flat screen TV, hair dryer, refreshment tray etc etc. Based on this really good value for money. View out onto lawn and fields in distance. Excellent sound proofing as outside really noisy with motor way close by. Downside only eatery next door pretty poor, I would bring my own sandwich next time!! However the staff there were lovely too. Should add that the breakfast that I had already paid for was cooked to order in the restaurant next door and they did know how to poach an egg so all was not lost. Filling station close by that has snacks as I remember and very friendly staff. So impressed by the room at this Premier Inn and it's high standard of servicing, good job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollaston, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is well situated just off the M6. Very helpful and friendly receptionist who was able to give good advice when required. The room and bathroom were very clean and overlooked a grassed area to the rear of the hotel. A superb view and even with the window open it was very quiet. The meal at the restaurant next door was very tasty. A great place to rest overnight before continuing my journey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent welcome, very comfortable bed, very clean bathroom and bedroom, large TV, 30 min free WiFi. Would highly recommend.
We travelled with friends and were given rooms close by. The receptionist was particularly helpful and gave a very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed overnight on our drive to Loch Ness to break up the journey. Warm welcome, great sized family room, great food and fantastic customer service! Highly recommend this Premier Inn for a stop over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Premier Inns seem to have a good reputation for providing modern and well-appointed rooms, and this hotel hit exactly this mark. The room was clean and of a good size, the bed and pillows comfortable, the lighting as warm as modern bulbs will allow and a spacious bathroom with a bath! and at least some surfaces to put toiletries.

The adjacent Border Gate pub restaurant was the venue for a pleasant and reasonably priced evening meal, then the breakfast there was even better - a lot better than I expected of such an establishment. Staff, too, were very attentive.

One of my pet hates in a hotel room is an exhaust fan in the bathroom which is on the same circuit as the light, and seems to stay on for an age after the light has been turned off. It also makes it impossible to hear the TV when in the bathroom! This room had one of those *SCREAM*. I often get around the problem by putting on a mirror/shaving light over the basin instead of the main overhead lamp, but sadly this bathroom didn’t have one. I realise this exhaust fan setup is such a common feature of hotel rooms that I can’t really complain, and anyway, maybe I am alone in hating the noise of these wretched fans, but it was the only blip in an otherwise perfect overnight business stopover.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

excellent hotel all staff friendly.easy access from the motorway.excellent location for travelling too Scotland.Food quality in the pub restaurant for dinner and breakfast good quality and reasonably priced.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
993 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
202 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Address: Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for exploring the North West of England and Scotland too, Carlisle is a great destination in its own right. And when you're staying at Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 442 you'll be able to enjoy all that this vibrant city has to offer. What's your favourite subject? History? Then make sure to visit Carlisle Castle and experience 900 years of fascinating facts. Geography? Marvel at the stunning landscape of the Lake District. Sports? Carlisle racecourse is just a short journey away. Cookery? Now you're talking - our onsite Table Table restaurant brings a fresh twist on eating out, and there's a comfy bed awaiting you at the end of your evening. Directions: Situated just off M6(J42), south of Carlisle. Next to the Border Gate Table Table. 10pound in taxi to city centre Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Racecourse Carlisle Train Station 3 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 42) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing