We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good overnight stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good overnight stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for one night. Staff were efficient and friendly. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We have stayed in a number of premier Inns over last few years. Decoratively this was not quite so good but everything else was fine. Our only problems were with the restaurant. The food was good and service was reasonable. In the morning the hot water from the flask for the tea smelt very strange. We did draw it to a waiter's attention, as had a fellow diner the day before, but nothing was done. I asked for some tea made fresh in the kitchen but it did not arrive before we had to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    246
    51
    11
    9
See reviews for
240
294
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to break the journey between portsmouth and fort William. Looks like it was something like a posthouse forte in a previous life but has been nicely modernised and rooms are to the premier inn standard. The bar was very pleasant and the guy serving behind the bar was welcoming. Good in the restaurant was nice but prices are starting to rise. Didn't have breakfast as think the price of the breakfast is too high if you haven't got kids who eat free. Asda is just across the roundabout and serve breakfast from 08:00 and had a breakfast, toast, orange juice and hot drink. Two for £9.

Overall the hotel was good and would have got 5 star if they had not put breakfast price up.

Finally, it is in a great location only a couple of hundred metres off the motorway. (That might be a problem on a hot night with no air con and windows open). With windows closed it was very quiet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Superships1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Friday 30th May 2014 and was very impressed with the value for money and the breakfast was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was just right for the M6 and also it was not far to drive into Carlisle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Chose this as a night stop to break up a long drive based on the TV ad about a good night's sleep! Wasn't expecting much given the cheap price and tired looking entrance sort of worried me a bit as a first impression. However nice warm welcome and room was a very pleasant surprise. If anyone has read any of my other reviews they will know cleanliness is REALLY important to me. Well the room was spotless and completely adequate for what I wanted and exceeded expectations in some areas. Fantastically comfortable bed and pillows just like the ad! Large flat screen TV, hair dryer, refreshment tray etc etc. Based on this really good value for money. View out onto lawn and fields in distance. Excellent sound proofing as outside really noisy with motor way close by. Downside only eatery next door pretty poor, I would bring my own sandwich next time!! However the staff there were lovely too. Should add that the breakfast that I had already paid for was cooked to order in the restaurant next door and they did know how to poach an egg so all was not lost. Filling station close by that has snacks as I remember and very friendly staff. So impressed by the room at this Premier Inn and it's high standard of servicing, good job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollaston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is well situated just off the M6. Very helpful and friendly receptionist who was able to give good advice when required. The room and bathroom were very clean and overlooked a grassed area to the rear of the hotel. A superb view and even with the window open it was very quiet. The meal at the restaurant next door was very tasty. A great place to rest overnight before continuing my journey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent welcome, very comfortable bed, very clean bathroom and bedroom, large TV, 30 min free WiFi. Would highly recommend.
We travelled with friends and were given rooms close by. The receptionist was particularly helpful and gave a very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed overnight on our drive to Loch Ness to break up the journey. Warm welcome, great sized family room, great food and fantastic customer service! Highly recommend this Premier Inn for a stop over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Address: Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for exploring the North West of England and Scotland too, Carlisle is a great destination in its own right. And when you're staying at Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 442 you'll be able to enjoy all that this vibrant city has to offer. What's your favourite subject? History? Then make sure to visit Carlisle Castle and experience 900 years of fascinating facts. Geography? Marvel at the stunning landscape of the Lake District. Sports? Carlisle racecourse is just a short journey away. Cookery? Now you're talking - our onsite Table Table restaurant brings a fresh twist on eating out, and there's a comfy bed awaiting you at the end of your evening. Directions: Situated just off M6(J42), south of Carlisle. Next to the Border Gate Table Table. 10pound in taxi to city centre Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Racecourse Carlisle Train Station 3 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 42) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing