We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Once again a nice stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Staff very helpful even though this was the wrong Premier Inn. But I was booked in on my return journey. I always prefer to stay at this Inn on our way to and from Scotland. Booked in already for November.

The food in the pub in the grounds is very good, better than the Hilton Garden Inn in Aberdeen.

The room is basic, clean and quiet, but if booked in advance cheap.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwbcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    268
    57
    13
    12
See reviews for
259
320
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent, newly refurbished rooms.
But crowded parking, full of vans.
Table Table breakfast OK, but "plastic" food for dinner. Ate out at local pub second night.
Very nice and helpful staff, especially at Reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186565David_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A relaxed atmosphere at this Premier Inn. Good food and recently upgraded rooms with not much noise from nearby M6 at night. Parking can be limited and parking bays so narrow, doors can barely be opened.







  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Problems with power cut from minute we arrived. Did not admit to major problem & told to move hotel until we had been in hotel room for 2 hours. Then had to move to another hotel when despie booking a meal for 18.30 could not now get a meal until after 21.30. Went to McDonalds instead. Staff had lost the plot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, PITL at Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am extremely disappointed that we did not meat your expectations on this occasion. We did try and keep the entire guests informed of the situation with the power. It is rare for us to have power failure and I can only apologise for the experience you had. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Everything from start to finish fantastic as usual. friendly, clean and exceptional value for a hotel like this. Budget hotel but it doesn't feel like it. Stayed in Premier Inn's a fair bit and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

You've seen them in Cell Block H, they are there in good ol' Porridge. .... now you too can experience of a prison cell at this Premier. In room 32A, you have all the usual fitments of a Premier Inn with the added feature of a windowless cell. High up on one wall is an opening allowing the minimum of light and air just like in all those prison dramas. On a hot evening, the place is airless, you can pace the room but not look out unless you stand on as chair. Feel enclosed, feel cut off from the outside world, experience room 32A. It makes leaving in the morning that little bit more enjoyable!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, PITL at Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I was disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Your feedback is very important to us and I would like to resolve this for you if you could email me at pitl.carlislem6j42@whitbread.com with your reservation details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great room for us to get a good nights sleep in and then the breakfast in the morning to get you going for the day. Just what was expected no more no less. Stayed at this Premier Inn now on three occasions and its been great on each occasion. We will probably stay there again next year on our way up to Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
2.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
Address: Carleton, Carlisle CA4 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for exploring the North West of England and Scotland too, Carlisle is a great destination in its own right. And when you're staying at Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 442 you'll be able to enjoy all that this vibrant city has to offer. What's your favourite subject? History? Then make sure to visit Carlisle Castle and experience 900 years of fascinating facts. Geography? Marvel at the stunning landscape of the Lake District. Sports? Carlisle racecourse is just a short journey away. Cookery? Now you're talking - our onsite Table Table restaurant brings a fresh twist on eating out, and there's a comfy bed awaiting you at the end of your evening. Directions: Situated just off M6(J42), south of Carlisle. Next to the Border Gate Table Table. 10pound in taxi to city centre Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Racecourse Carlisle Train Station 3 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 42) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing