We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night stay en route to Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
String of Horses Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One Night stay en route to Scotland”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here en route to and from Scotland, reason?.....hotels in Scotland more than doubled their prices during the Commonwealth Games!!!

I am glad I did, because as a longer than expected drive occurred, it meant I discovered a lovely venue as a base where I will return with my wife and tour the Hadrian's wall country and the Lakes!
It is set in a very quiet village, in fact ZERO traffic noise.....staff welcome you with broad genuine smiles and the rooms are lovely, food is great and the olde world charm of the beamed pub/restaurant area is wonderful.

Comfy beds, excellent WiFi good signal in other words!

Only down side for me was room 5 only had a bath, the shower was attached to the taps of the bath and therefore impossible to have a stand up shower.....you do have to kneel in the bath and manoeuvre with one hand...not great however the bath was wonderful. Maybe all rooms do have showers? worth asking if you are infirm for example. But I had a 4 poster!...AND a great TV......and room big enough to play 5 a side in!

Room Tip: Ask for a shower in the room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianAnnManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    146
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
302
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The String of Horses is an honest to goodness, authentic pub/hotel in a lovely location. It has bags of character, no pretentions and is obviously run by people who care about their guests.

Rooms are a good size, well furnished with a well fitted, good sized bathroom with hotel wide wifi. We had a family room that was an excellent size for Mum, Dad and two small boys with one double and two single beds. All of which were very comfy.

Beer was good. The bar had actual, real live locals in who enjoyed a chat. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was tasty, honest to goodness pub food of a decent standard with great portions at a sensible price. What's not to like!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as a base for travelling to the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. It turned out to be ideal. Room was fine, breakfast was excellent, evening meal was also very good. Colin was most helpful regarding travel to Carlisle and parking for the station. If you like a quiet, out of the way place, this is hard to beat. Would definitely stay here again. (I feel the few negative reviews say more about the reviewers!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12SuzieB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The String of Horses Inn was a well presented establishment set in a small village and very pretty countryside. It is great centre for a short break to see Carlisle, The North Lakes Area and Hadrian's Wall. Food and hospitality was very good. Only downside was our room was above the main bar area and was a little noisy on the first night, but only until 11.00 pm. However there are other rooms and if we had booked earlier one of these would have been available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Highly recommended
Charming . Wonderful atmosphere. Excellent service. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.
Although off the beaten track the hotel is set in a lovely village. Staff were more than helpful to your needs.
We have family living near Brampton and were under the impression the hotel was close by.
Still an excellent place to rest your weary head.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The String of Horses was one of our favorite accommodations in Britain. My wife and I were taking our two grown daughters on a very hurried driving tour, and stopped here after leaving the Lake District, on our way to Scotland. We all fit into the one family size room, and had a great night. Obviously, this is not a modern 5 star hotel in London, but for someone who appreciates being able to stay in a 17th century coaching inn, it was perfect. It was authentic to the period in many ways, but our room had all the modern conveniences. But it was the dining that really surprised us. Between the four of us, we had scampi, salmon, and Caribbean chicken for dinner, and it was all wonderful. As we were trying to find the best sticky toffee pudding in Britain, we had some everywhere we stayed and String of Horses won the award for the trip. And we fell in love with pear ciders. Best of all, the room, dinner, drinks and desert for a family of 4 came to just 160 BP. We'd go back if we were anywhere near Carlisle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a great two days at the string of horses I would recommended this inn very nice room and excellent breakfast and excellent food in the restaurant in a very nice quite spot. This is a 15 th centuary inn

Room Tip: A room on the front of inn which every room u choose it will be quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to String of Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about String of Horses Inn

Property: String of Horses Inn
Address: Faugh | Heads Nook, Carlisle CA8 9EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — String of Horses Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your String of Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
String Of Horses Hotel Carlisle
String Of Horses Inn Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing