We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
340
159
27
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
159
27
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathquiet villagethe pubboth nightslarge portionshadrian's wallshort breaklanercost priorynight breakhuge bathroomtalkin tarnlake districtfull englishoriginal featureslamblovely atmospherefish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived on 26th Nov for a two night stay and loved every minute of it. Room was spotless, warm and cosy. All staff were lovely and service was fantastic. The food in the restaurant was beautiful and breakfast was the same quality! Overall loved our stay, worth the money and will be returning soon. Thanks String of Horses!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katierooney1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

If you’re up Cumbria way I highly recommend this “off the beaten path”country inn. Warm, friendly service, great dinner & breakfast, spotlessly clean rooms. Built in 1659, it has great character and the waiter/barman, Mitch, was great!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ecoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

A delightful 2 night break for our 40th wedding anniversary at this fantastic Inn dating back to the 16th century. 90 mins from our home in Middlesbrough ideally situated for the Lake District or the Scottish Borders. We had meals both nights which were excellent,I had the special (fish and chips) on the first night and chicken fajitas on the second with a battered haggis for starters and a lovely fruit crumble with custard for dessert. My wife likes vegetarian food had a tomato and basil soup 1st nigh

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here for a 2 night break, so quiet, relaxing, close to the lakes so there’s plenty to do/see, and the food when you return is truly excellent. You will be well looked after by Colin (host) and Mitch, who really do want you to have the best possible time. Enjoy! Thank you from Bob&Sue.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Looking for somewhere to stay so that we could travel on the Carlisle to Settle railway
This is a great place for a short break. Welcoming with good food served at dinner and breakfast.
Room perfect for our trip with a few extra touches

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews