We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Dalston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalston Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Dalston Hall... First impressions of the exterior made us feel privillaged. We were not dissapointed once we got inside. Our room was stunning with an amazing bathroom (no bath) but very modern and piping hot shower. The property interior will not dissapoint either with it's classic style and imposing charm.

The owner was most helpful, allowing us to check in well ahead of published times. He also assisted us in directions for sightseeing and shopping in very nearby Carlisle city centre.

Breakfast was a pleasure with obviously freshly cooked fare... In fact the best scrambbled eggs enjoyed over our 8 day trip of Scotland.

The grounds are beautiful and lend themsleves to be the perfect location for private functions and weddings.

We wish the proprietors every success with their business as every attention to detail has been addresed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonsReviews1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    43
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
34
120
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the Dalston hall 3 times in the last 6 months,
Interesting old manor house, very large luxurious rooms, enormous beds and bathrooms, great breakfast and friendly staff,
couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013. It was quite late in the evening until we arrived.
We were checked in by the owner, who didn't give us the most friendly welcome but was very efficient. When he served us drinks in the bar later he had lightened up a bit and was quite cordial.

Our room (7, I think) was lovely. It had a four-poster bed with a comfortable mattress. The building itself is very interesting and it has been sympathetically converted into a hotel - you certainly feel like you are in a very old building and not a modern hotel room. The room had a nice layout with the room sort of divided into two areas - one with the bed and one with a small sofa, dressing table, TV, etc. The windows are beautiful - no modern double glazing in sight. Very heavy curtains would keep out any draft. My only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was a little dated and not very well laid out - there was a shelf right above the sink which got in the way when trying to wash my face. Everything was very clean, however.

Our meal in the restaurant was very good. I had scallops (ever so slightly over-done) with black pudding and cauliflower puree and my husband had pate. The fillet steaks were excellent. Perfectly cooked and there was a good selection of sauces and side orders. The two members of staff who served our food and drinks were excellent. Very attentive and friendly. I overheard them giving plenty of advice to foreign guests who were looking for tips on the area. The staff could not be faulted.

Breakfast was also excellent.

I would recommend Dalston Hall, and would certainly stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TownheadHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

stayed here for one night on a saturday and first impressions are good when you approach you see and old building with a tower and stone mullion windows - the entrance door is big and old then inside there is an iron yett (metal gate) as part of the original old tower.

the main hall is lovely with wood paneling and a balcony and was set out for a wedding

reception was quick and efficient and we were given our key to room 13

the room is not what you expect - sort of modern with some eclectic pieces of furniture - all good quality but not what we wanted or expected

we changed to room 11 which was more in keeping with a historic building with a 4 poster bed and dark furniture (except for the unusual leather chair)

everything was very clean and mostly in good condition but there are no curtains - just blinds
the view looks out onto the roof and if anyone is working on the roof outside they can see in - even the bathroom!

the staff are all pleasant and polite

the restaurant looks nice apart from an unusual large chair at the side - seemed completely out of place

lots of black - tablecloths , napkins and staff attire

the food was very nice - tasty , cooked well and presented well

one problem - we ordered the house champagne as it was my birthday and we were served sparkling wine ???

we only realised this after it had been opened and we tasted it

when we ordered the champagne the staff member said the name of drink which we assumed was the name of the champagne as there are so many and when we asked about it afterwards we were told that we were offered this drink and we said yes - yes we did we thought it was the name of a champagne as that is what we asked for - NOT sparkiling wine (i know it is made in the same way but it is not the same drink)

the grounds outside are nice to walk around but it would be nicer if they were maintained better as this is classed as a 4 star hotel

overall we mostly enjoyed our stay but at £135 per room for one night there are better hotels and cheaper even old hotels with character

Room Tip: room 13 is more modern and contempary in design so if you like "ode worlde" appeal chose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel/castle during April for 1 night and was treated like a King. Fantastic service by all concerned and the owner himself was there to assist with any issues. The room was huge and furnished to a very high standard. Although I did not eat the evening meal at the hotel I did take breakfast and it was one of the best I've had in any hotel in the UK.

This is certainily a hotel that I will be using again in my trips to the Carlisle area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iron0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Dalston Hall last week while working in Carlisle for 5 days.

I booked 4 nights from Monday through to Friday. Although situated a couple of miles outside the city, the location is excellent and only took 10 mins to get to work every day.

The hotel is set off road and is easy to find, the grounds of the hotel are beautiful with fantastic lawns which are extremely well kept.

Inside, the decor is superb with a real old fashioned feel to it, a must for any visitor who wants to sample the atmosphere of a country hotel.

The room I was in was massive with large modern tv, couch and 4 poster bed. The room was cleaned every day to an excellent standard.

Anyone who stays here MUST try the food, I ate breakfast and dinner every day I was there and could not find fault in one single meal.The evening meals were absolutely outstanding, with a great choice to suit all.

The steak was one of the best I have ever eaten and would thououghly recommend it. I dont think I can praise the food enough.... try it you wont be dissapointed.

The staff in the hotel are extremely friendly, keen to make conversation and nothing is to much of an issue. You can order food from the bar and once ready they carry your drinks through to the restaurant for you, a nice touch I thought.

The owner is a lovely guy and takes time out to join you for a chat and spend time with his customers.

All in a fantastic hotel and well worth a visit if your in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review because I feel this hotel doesn't get the recognition it deserves , the hotel only has 13 rooms as space hasn't been sacrificed in order to make more profit . A big plus to me :) the owners are very pleasant and approachable and can not do enough for you . The steak I was served was one of the best I have ever had ! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend dalston hall to anyone. I will be booking another stay there myself, so thanks again to all at dalston hall for making us feel so welcome . All the best. Ian

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlisle
3.1 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
992 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
1,034 reviews
11.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalston Hall Hotel

Property: Dalston Hall Hotel
Address: Dalston Road (B5299), Carlisle CA5 7JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalston Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 Star hotel nestling in the heart of the beautiful Cumbria, just 10 minutes yet a million miles away from the vibrant City of Carlisle, this magnificent Grade II listed Hotel provides the finest luxury coupled with discreet yet friendly service from the resident owners and their team. The perfect place to stay. Thirteen individually designed, lavishly furnished suites and bedrooms. The perfect choice for fine dining. Exquisite cuisine complemented by a splendid cellar. The perfect choice for weddings and celebrations of all kinds, be they on a grand scale or rather more intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Dalston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalston Hall Carlisle
Dalston Hall Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing