We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, great food! Try the Steak!”
Review of Dalston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalston Hall Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, great food! Try the Steak!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have just come back from a short weekend break at this lovely hotel/hall.

On arrival, we where amazing with the exterior of the place, and how grand it looked. Its not a huge hall, but its smaller size made it feel more homely and certainly an ideal option for a wedding location!

Inside the hall, again, old grand and beautiful. Wooden panelling throughout, leading to an open main hall where weddings are held. Wonderful place to take photos and enjoy.

We stayed in room 1, which was a mix of old and modern. Grand 4 poser bed facing a modern mood lit jacuzzi bath, which also had a sparkling 'star' style roof over it. (lovely!)
The room was clean, the bathroom with shower was new and modern, with a great raindrop shower. The jacuzzi in the room was brilliant. This was the highlight for me, it just set the mood for a great relaxing stay. And as for the bed, it was difficult to get out of as it was so comfy.

The gentleman on reception, (the owner/manager?) was very pleasant and helpful. Giving my girlfriend some literature on the history of the hall and the ghosts that have been seen in there. (Unfortunately, we didn't see anything spooky during our stay).

The evening meal, we both decided to try the steak, as many people on here have recommended. We where not disappointed. At first, we thought it maybe just a smidge expensive, but once the steak arrived, we knew this was a good priced steak.
We both had Sirloin, Medium Rare and the steaks where big, really really good sized!
Cooked to perfection, with an amazing smokey taste. Highly recommended!!!

Breakfast was lovely too. I had the full english, and my girlfriend had Smoked salmon(?) and scrambled egg. Once again, the food was of a great standard!

If your looking for a nice, quiet, romantic place to stay as a couple I'd highly recommended Dalston Hall. My girlfriend said it best "This was the best birthday I've ever had".
With comments like that, I knew booking here was not a mistake. :)

Room Tip: Room 1 has a jacuzzi and 4 poster bed, perfect for a romantic evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hailfire101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    42
    18
    10
    17
See reviews for
30
117
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our 20th anniversary and we needed something really special and we got it. The place was amazing. So cosy and friendly yet grand and impressive.
The staff could not have done more to help. The food was off the chart. We have never eaten stake or lamb cooked so well and properley never will again until we go back, which we are already planning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cluck1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently stayed here with my partner as we had a wedding in Carlisle. The hotel was unique and did not have a chain feel. I really liked all the History about the hotel and Carlisle itself. The food was good as was the service - I would recommend this place to anyone. Fantastic

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt-Lowry-Carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the first night of our honeymoon, 25 years ago, and went to celebrate our anniversary. we were able to book the same room (the Tower) and although being told by the car hire staff it was haunted (!) had a superb stay. the room was beautifully decorated, and our stay, over 2 days, exactly what we wanted. we ate in Carlisle on the Friday, and in the hotel Saturday evening. whilst the restaurant was quiet, the food was excellent, service very efficient, and friendly. otherwise, the staff were unobtrusive, and allowed us the space to really enjoy the hotel and grounds. we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent place to stay. Just had 7 nights there for my 50th birthday. Service is totally unobtrusive, food is excellent and the hotel steeped in history. We had a lovely week in beautiful tranquil settings. The staff cannot do enough to help you. The rooms are all different (we were in room 6 - the tower). Highly recommend staying here. The steaks are to die for!! Thanks to all the team for a wonderful break. Cotswolds Subaru & Isuzu, West Oxon.

Room Tip: 4 or 6 are both brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I worked in Carliisle a few occasion over several years, I stayed here and always found the rooms meals and general feel of the place to be great. Keep saying to my wife we must go together to experience this wonderful hidden hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wanted somewhere atmospheric, romantic and yes upmarket for a single nights stay for our 25th anniversary, and xhose Dakston Hall.

Fantastic, if you need to make up for neglecting previous anniversaries ths is just te place.

Superior double, was like a small suite, 2 TV's , four poster bed, and some lovely features.

Staff in the bar and restraunt were local, knowledgeable and very friendly.

The owner lives on site, and s a viable presence, making sure your experience is up to standard.

Try the steak, but never eat steak anywhere else again, it won't match up !

Yes, we will be going back, in fact I think she's started saving already !

Room Tip: Ask the staff, some rooms are more modern, some classic, tell them what you are after and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeH_Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
223 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
971 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
611 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalston Hall Hotel

Property: Dalston Hall Hotel
Address: Dalston Road (B5299), Carlisle CA5 7JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalston Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 Star hotel nestling in the heart of the beautiful Cumbria, just 10 minutes yet a million miles away from the vibrant City of Carlisle, this magnificent Grade II listed Hotel provides the finest luxury coupled with discreet yet friendly service from the resident owners and their team. The perfect place to stay. Thirteen individually designed, lavishly furnished suites and bedrooms. The perfect choice for fine dining. Exquisite cuisine complemented by a splendid cellar. The perfect choice for weddings and celebrations of all kinds, be they on a grand scale or rather more intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dalston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalston Hall Carlisle
Dalston Hall Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing