We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & Warm with just the right amount of Atmosphere!”
Review of Dalston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalston Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband arranged our night here last minute so I didn't have any expectations prior to arriving. After driving through wild wind and rain we found the staff to be extremely welcoming and after quickly setting in we made ourselves comfortable in front of the roaring log fire in the bar area. We were invited to have a quick look round the hotel before dinner and I just fell in love with it. The owners were happy to talk us through the history of the place and both my husband and I felt very much at home there. My steak was honestly to die for and our bed room was warm and comfortable and with a lovely view. The surrounding village is pretty and the area is lovely if you're into walking. All in all - I would definately recommend this hotel and it must make a perfect venue for weddings. I've recommended it to everyone and I look forward to going back there to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancsLass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Dalston Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed here for 1 night on the way up to Scotland.
We were one of 2 guests that evening, but it was well booked up from the next day on.
We booked a breakfast deal - and breakfast was done perfectly. But the treat was staying for dinner. We both would like to return again it was that good, and normally we never go anywhere twice!
So thank you to the manager and his team, we had a fabulous stay.

p.s. If I lived up here I'd consider it a fabulous wedding venue.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

A beautiful building, full of character and quirkiness.
Staff all helpful and friendly, as you would expect from a family run business, owner quite a character........nice guy.
Food excellent, fine dining.
Room quirky we opted for the Tower and it was brilliant, can't wait to see what the owner does with it when it is refurbished.
Quiet and relaxing...perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therapeuticpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

the staff at Dalston Hall made my daughter Corinne & Pauls wedding day so special,the surroundings were magnificent,the food excellent,the firework display was breathtaking,a brilliant time was had by all,I would recommend Dalston Hall for a wedding venue,It was a magical day

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Just returned from an overnight (Monday) stay whilst visiting the (very) nearby Lake District.
A very well appointed building, easy to find and only 5 mins from Carlisle,
We turned out to be the only ones there (!) but the staff were welcoming and helpful- offering to keep the kitchen open if we wanted dinner.. (we let the cook have the night off and ate in nearby Carlisle)
The Hall itself is a lovely building, with care and attention spent on it.
The Reception was unmanned as written below- but they were soon to answer us.
The room (5) was large, very well maintained and had a very nice view overlooking the garden and gazebo. Large, modern bathroom, with huge shower and eco friendly lights and water,. Very nice bedding, comfortable beds and flat screen TV should you require it. The hotel is set in a listed building, so don't expect modern, Ikea furniture and wifi. If you want a baronial hall, suits of armour, leather seats and atmosphere- this is for you. Although very quiet- this did not spoil the stay- and an excellent breakfast was served for us the next morning. If you require food, drinks etc and they are quiet- make sure you tell them in advance and they will oblige. NO COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOM!! That would b a bonus for £100+ a night.... HIGHLY recommended if you want to escape the tents and caravans. Minutes from Carlisle- with excellent Indian restaurant-TEZA.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amityisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Well what can I say a truly wonderful hotel with a wealth of character. My partner and I recently travelled up North visiting various locations (a trip down memory lane).

I booked this hotel direct with the owner and was offered an upgraded room if possible. True to his word on arriving we were given a beautiful four-poster room (No 9). The hotel is beautifully presented and I found the owners very attentive.

In the evening we relaxed outside before our evening meal, they offer a well thought out menu and wine list. My partner had the 24 oz T-bone steak and I had the fillet (thinking that it wouldn’t be too filling – wrong!) but what can I say, it was locally sourced produce and you could have cut it with a butter knife.

In the morning we had a walk round the gardens before enjoying a lovely breakfast. If you enjoy quality and good service then this hotel is for you. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrews05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I really dont know where all the bad reviews are coming from ! My partner and I have just come back from a wedding at Dalston Hall and it was absolutely amazing! I would just like to comment on some of the other reviews; Reception was manned all the time by a nice young lady and so was the bar! The food was lovely, not some of the rubbery chicken you normally get served at weddings ! Special thanks to Charlotte & Andrew who ran the wedding, as they were brilliant, I misplaced various items throughout the day and they were there to help! With regards to the bad reviews, I can only think it is worried competitors as they day i experienced was by far the best wedding I have ever been to !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerdragon222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,012 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,402 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,068 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalston Hall Hotel

Address: Dalston Road (B5299), Carlisle CA5 7JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: £118 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalston Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 Star hotel nestling in the heart of the beautiful Cumbria, just 10 minutes yet a million miles away from the vibrant City of Carlisle, this magnificent Grade II listed Hotel provides the finest luxury coupled with discreet yet friendly service from the resident owners and their team. The perfect place to stay. Thirteen individually designed, lavishly furnished suites and bedrooms. The perfect choice for fine dining. Exquisite cuisine complemented by a splendid cellar. The perfect choice for weddings and celebrations of all kinds, be they on a grand scale or rather more intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalston Hall Carlisle
Dalston Hall Hotel Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing