We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Townhouse, my partner Ben had walked Hadrian's wall. I was to join him there for the last day, but due to train delays I didn't arrive until very late - after 11pm. I had been able to warn Ben however, and he was given a key to let me in, and come and go as needed. The room was big enough for all three of us - Sansa the dog was welcomed - and had a small but spotless en suite with good quality toiletries provided and a decent shower. A variety of teas, coffee and hot chocolate was provided in the room and a TV. It was also located in a very quiet spot, and our room being at the back was very peaceful. I was welcomed warmly by Christine in the morning, and fed a good breakfast which we ordered the night before. I am picky with breakfasts but Christine & Duncan provide something for all tastes and we were properly set up for the last 15 miles. We returned late, but again there was no problem as Ben had been given a key. Christine was very accommodating the next day, although she needed us to check out by 1045 she let us leave our bags in the dining room for a few hours as our train wasn't until 1449. The Townhouse is only a short walk from the city centre and we spent a pleasant few hours window shopping and watching the world go by from a cafe. Christine ordered us a cab when we returned and was cheerful and friendly the whole time. The only improvement I could imagine would be a bathtub for aching walkers :) Many thanks to Christine & Duncan; if I am in the area again I would certainly re-book.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
15
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Second time we've stayed here in five years and it's good to find that it's still run by the same people, Christine and Duncan, and still every bit as good.

Quiet and leafy location, warm welcome, well appointed rooms, comfy beds, great breakfast and very convenient for all sorts of things like the town centre and railway station, the M6 and Hadrian's Wall. Oh, and it's dog friendly. Our Jack Russell loves it too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkAroundtheClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A short walk from the Hadrian's Wall trail so it was convenient. We arrived soaking wet after a downpour with our very wet dog! Nothing was a problem we were shown where to hang wet coats, newspaper for the wet boots and Catherine was not phased by the wet dog!
A good welcome.
The room was large and comfortable with the best shower we had had all week (a very big deal on a walking holiday). The whole palce was perhaps a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint and freshen up but it was clean and comfortable.
It is a short walk into Carlisle city so access to an evening meal was not a problem.
Breakfast was nicely cooked and there were a number of options available.
Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubysmum2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at the Townhouse on the first night of our walk across Hadrians wall, we were very pleased to arrive, but too tired to walk much further to try the town centre restaurants, the rooms were lovely and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A nice friendly greeting, room excellent, situation good just a short walk into town, Breakfast excellent with lots of choices.

Room Tip: Although it's situation in the town it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This conveniently located guest house was an excellent value and about 10 minutes walk from bustling downtown Carlisle. The host was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was excellent. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have spent a number of nights in this B& B in January.The house is a beautiful Victorian property within easy walking distance of the city centre.
My room is comfortable and cleaned daily.Teas ,coffee, and hot chocolate are supplied in the room.The premises are well maintained and to a good standard and the bathroom which I use is modern and impeccably maintained.
There is a good choice for breakfast and having tried different variations on the breakfast I have found it to be good.
One customer who reviewed the place in September was very unkind and I feel that his review was not balanced and fair.How dare the owner have a policy that guests should check in before it is too late in the evening.Running a business such as this is no easy task and they cannot be expected to be on duty 24 hours a day. You would expect this at a five star hotel where I can assure you that the level of service you receive will be commensurate with the price.
A nice comfortable place that I would without hesitation recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#5 of 61 in Carlisle
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arkale Lodge
Arkale Lodge
#9 of 61 in Carlisle
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlisle City Hostel
Carlisle City Hostel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 153 Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star English Tourist Board rated. Ten minutes walk from Carlisle city centre, bus and train station. Five minutes drive from Junction 43 M6 motorway. Ideal base whether visiting Carlisle on business or for pleasure. Great location also for Hadrian's Wall, Keswick / North Lakes or Scottish Borders. Standard single rooms. En suite single and double rooms. All rooms non smoking. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Bed & Breakfast Carlisle, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing