We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of McQueens Bar - CLOSED

McQueens Bar
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Bar, Spanish, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: McQueen's is a bright, contemporary and vibrant new bar/bistro in central Carlisle. McQueen's is named after the legendary Actor Steve McQueen, alongside top quality premium beers such as Peroni, Moretti, Das Schwarze and Meister Pils. We have a wide range of bottled beers, ales, wines and cocktails with a wide array of food on offer. To start customers can take their pick from the taster (tapas) menu, which features an array of smaller dishes, from beef to olives and cheeses. There is also 'MCQueen's Corner' where all meals are inspired by classic Steve McQueen movies. All dishes come under £10 with homemade burgers, burritos and not forgetting our famous home cut chunky chips. Dishes from the main menu are reasonably priced with another wide selection from steaks to baked monkfish tail. There are 4-5 daily specials including a S.O.T.D and homemade deserts. The bar is full of quotes from Steve McQueen to Marilyn Monroe and we now have live entertainment every Friday, with a live D.J playing 70s, 80s and 90s on a Saturday night. 'Its not like anything else'
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having looked forward to the opening of this new bar I was extremely disappointed. Although only 4 other customers the service was disorganised and slow. The waitress and waiter on duty were very friendly however their lack of training was shocking. Having been seated for almost 15 minutes before being provided with a food menu, we asked for a wine menu to be told that the "usual drinks were at the bar, with white or red wine"we were then offered a "tab", the waiter had to revisit the table twice to tell us the 3 varieties of white wine on offer and twice to take our meal order(only 2 burgers). The food itself was fine. With the increasing choice of good bars and restaurants in this area we will not be returning to McQueens. I would recommend the management look to investing in training young,articulate front of house staff who carry out their duties with professionalism, a knowledge of the product ie. food and wines sold . We left in good humour having found the service hilarious however without a wish to recommend or return

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dsanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooney695, Manager at McQueens Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I'm sorry to hear that McQueen's did not seem to live up to your expectations. As you would expect the vast selection of wines, liqueurs, cocktails, spirits, beers and food that we offer and provide can be overwhelming to new members of staff, or those who are in training in a brand new 'new look' establishment.

Here at McQueen's we take pride in training our staff to high standards with every attention to detail and to make the customer as welcome and relaxed as possible. Most importantly we also pride ourselves with minimal mistakes made on food or drink orders, which is why double checking an order is important.

We are currently selecting a new and improved range of wines and introducing a wine list within the coming week. Menu's are always situated on the tables within the venue and we are glad that you enjoyed your meal. As you can understand a new establishment will have some minor teething problems but all staff have been praised through tripadvisor and through comments made by customers since we have opened. We hope that your next visit to McQueen's is and enjoyable one.

Robert Moon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I heard off a friend about Mcqueen's. I got told it was fantastic and I had to try it. So of course I did. I would recommend this lounge bar to anybody!! The food is 5 star restaurant standard, the staff are very welcoming and nothing was a hassle also very smiley and enthusiastic. I felt so welcomed from the minute I stepped in the door till the minute I left. The menu is different from other restaurants around, with a varied choice, so something for everyone. We had tapas which was beautiful the San Miguel chicken is to die for! Not a massive of list off cocktails but in my opinion is better because they focus on a few and make them great!!ill be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieS112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooney695, Manager at McQueens Bar, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to McQueen's. We have recently changed our cocktail menus and have more of a range on offer with exciting limited edition cocktails which are changed weekly. The San Miguel chicken has been a big hit with everyone and I myself must admit it is lovely.

We hope to see you again soon, and thank you for your review.

Robert Moon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I came here for lunch with a few friends on a saturday lunchtime, a few weeks after it first opened. I expected top class service and quality food considering it was newly opened and the fact the food was similarly priced to the likes of the Thin White Duke, a competitor across the road. We were placed downstairs where the music was too loud and there was no atmosphere as we were the only people there. The ?manager turned down the music though and seemed keen to offer help in any way he could. Me and my partner shared tapas to start which came along with the main course for some reason, the waitress was very apologetic about this. We paid £8 for 3 tapas which were disappointing - I don't think they were home made, just oven cooked frozen style calamari, vegetable tempura and patatas aleoli - quite tasteless and not presented great really. Then I had the chicken burrito - it looked nice at first but half of the plate was empty, it was quite skinny and this was £8 for a burrito with no side salad?! It didn't taste good either. Disappointing again, and frankly not worth the money. My partner had the pulled pork burger with chunky chips which he said was nice enough but mediocre for the money. I wouldn't bother eating here, maybe it will be more successful as just a bar serving snacks. In my opinion it's trying to market itself as a trendy themed food restaurant (Steve Mcqueen/american theme) but it is seriously falling short and is confusing - tapas along with american burgers? And not even authentic tapas. The overpriced menu can't compete with other trendier value-for-money eateries nearby such as Thin White Duke, Circle Bar and even Whyte's Cafe...it's a shame as the staff were very polite and helpful apart from a few mistakes. We won't be coming back here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loopylozza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooney695, Manager at McQueens Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I'm sorry to hear that McQueen's did not live up to high expectations on your visit. The Steve McQueen theme is not trying to represent an American style eating place. The venue is named after the legendary actor and the 'McQueen's Corner' menu is inspired by classic Steve McQueen films, where all dishes are reasonably priced under £10.

The menu is aimed to provide a various array of dishes and the tapas (tasters) have been extremely popular for a light bite or starter. We have had amazing feedback from our menu as all dishes are cooked fresh, as we have deliveries daily to ensure that our homemade food are of the highest quality. Our menu is highly competitive and great value considering everything is freshly cooked.

The downstairs can tend to loose some atmosphere as it is away from the busy bar area upstairs. However some people tend to find this more quite and tend to enjoy how secluded and the ambiance that the downstairs has to enjoy a quite and relaxed environment for a meal.

I hope you return to McQueen's and we, as a team, are able to change your opinion and view by having a fantastic meal and experience at our venue.

Robert moon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delighted by this bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The things that happen when your back's turned! Just back from Las Vegas where the bars/food are absolutely top notch and wandered by chance into McQueens for a bite to eat. Staff were great - nothing was too much trouble. We asked for hot sauce; the chef didn't have any jarred stuff so he made us a hot sauce from scratch. He should bottle it! We ate from the tapas menu and the food was top notch - both quality of cooking and quality of ingredients. Service was as good as anything in Vegas. We'll definitely be back. Keep up the good work guys:)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooney695, Manager at McQueens Bar, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The hot sauce from what i remember was very hot indeed. The chef does like to make all sauces himself and we do pride ourselves on the freshness and homemade side of our food.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope we made coming home to Carlisle from Vegas a more enjoyable experiences. Hopefully see you again soon

Robert Moon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A refreshing new lounge bar in Carlisle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

McQueens opened for business on 1st May, so this was our first visit. As the name suggests, the bar is an homage to the "King of Cool", but also displays pics of other Hollywood icons. The decor is modern, light & airy...but with a more intimate, darker area downstairs. The menu offers a tapas selection or main entrees, some of which have a "McQueen" theme. Between us, my husband & I had a "Towering Inferno" (burger) and a "Bullitt" (burrito), both of which were delicious. Some friends on an adjoining table had the tapas, which they said was the best they had ever had.
We welcome this new kid on the block and wish the proprietors all the very best.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazza1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooney695, Manager at McQueens Bar, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review on McQueen's. The menu does have an awful lot to offer but the McQueen's corner has been very popular since we opened. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you

Robert Moon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McQueens Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing