We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good choice”

The Elms Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Elms Guest House
Ranked #6 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here in September for 2 nights and thought it was very comfortable and very well run. It's also in a lovely street quite close to restaurants and shops.The room was a good size for three adults, and everything seemed clean and tidy. Breakfast would be one of the best we had on our month's trip, excellent selection provided. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    22
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
10
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we were without accommodation for the night after vacating a dump of a hotel close
by, and turned up on the doorstep of the elms. we have not stayed in a BnB for years and did not know what to expect. our short stay turned out to be a pleasant experience.the room and ensuite was clean and tidy and breakfast was excellent. landlady very helpful and friendly.good value for money,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

When i arrived at The Elms Guesthouse Margaret greeted me and was very welcoming.My room was spotlessly clean + comfortable.The breakfast room+ other areas were airy and clean, breakfast excellent.Nice quiet convienient location for the town.Nothing seemed any trouble for them .Lovely hosts , I would definatly stay there again.Well done .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN[WIRRAL]
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I've just returned from a month's stay at The Elms and would highly recommend it. This is my 3rd visit and have been so pleased with everything. The rooms are clean and very comfortable as are the common areas and breakfast room. The location is convenient to the shops, restaurants and attractions. Mervyn and Margaret are wonderful hosts and I consider this my 'home away from home' when I'm in England.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav06x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guetersloh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Mervyn and Margaret made us very welcome, they were helpful and we got the feeling that if it was possible they would help. The room was clean and the breakfast was most excellent, we will miss it. It was a cold time of year and the room was always nice and warm. We would not hesitate to stay with Mervyn and Margaret again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A real value for money without having to compromise on the quality. Lovely place in a beautiful street, very short walk from town centre so no need for the use of car or public transport-great! Well worth recommendation :)

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SsWwABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Extremely welcoming. Ideally located only 5 mins from town centre. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Terrific breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.4 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.1 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Guest House

Property: The Elms Guest House
Address: 24 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Guest House offering bed and breakfast accommodation. Our guest rooms offer single, double and triple en-suite occupancy. All of the guest rooms are comfortably furnished and have television, free WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer an excellent breakfast selection from 6.30 in the week or take-out option for our guests with early starts. The Elms Guest House is an ideal location for week-day travelers wanting an efficient but comfortable stay. We are the closest guest house to the town center which is just a 2 minute walk, here you will find a large choice of pubs and restaurants to suite all budgets. Booking is strongly recommended. long stay discounts with additional benefits are available. The Elms also attracts a good weekend trade where guests can enjoy staying in the splendid tree lined De Parys Avenue one of Bedford's premier addresses. We are located directly opposite Bedford School and only a two minute walk to Bedford's beautiful Victorian park or the town center. Our large family and double rooms are very spacious and all guest rooms retain the original Victorian features. Weekend guests can enjoy their breakfast in our elegant breakfast room with high ceilings with typically English 'tea-room' decor. Our breakfast includes a selection of cereals and home made muesli with fresh fruit and home made compotes with a full English breakfast to follow. We pride ourselves in offering a good vegetarian alternative to the traditional English breakfast. Advance booking is strongly recommended at weekends and special weekend rates may apply, please inquire at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elms Guest House Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing