We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual nice stay”

The Elms Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Elms Guest House
Ranked #6 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

New owners, very busy but the usual relaxed ambiance as the they imprint their own visions on the pleasant B&B. Breakfast was up to the excellent standard expected with runny yolks from my poached eggs exploding on my toast to my total satisfaction, the bacon was high quality and tasty. My room was at the front on this visit and a duty drunk was a bit loud on their way up the road but otherwise, my previous comments on this nice guesthouse apply equally today. It will be nice when the changes are made but in the mean time, it is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms do not as a rule have ensuite but this is being addressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenks008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Is one of the best b&b I ve been ever and the service is excellent especially since it is under new management and owners. It is really unique b&b with style & personality Ideal as I stayed there for business travel and for a family break and the new lovely lady running the place is so caring at all times...I definitely recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank nabil e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in a single room for one night. The accommodation is clean and tidy, and currently undergoing a program of renovation so should be even better next time! Can't fault the service or the great brekkie either!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank JJJ500123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My girlfriend and I wanted a weekend break in Bedford, so we decided to stay in a B&B.

We met Raisha (best guess at the spelling), a lovely open minded and funny host.

Our room was big, with plenty of light, clean and great value for money.

Breakfast was very filling and Raisha provided a wide variety of choices.

The Elms is also a short walk to the large park and town centre.

We met other people who help in and around the B&B and we felt part of a developing story tale under the new ownership.

We highly recommend The Elms B&B for anyone else looking for a stay in Bedford.

Thanks!
Richard & Johanna

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radams91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Currently staying at the elms (been here since January 2014) as a previous post has pointed out it has a new owner
I have stayed here on and off for the past few years when my work brings me to Bedford

So what's happening here is a renovation the old elms had nothing really wrong with it just a bit tired here and there but it has a new owner with new ideas

nothing has fundamentally changed with the place the food is still good the service is excellent
and the new owner is very friendly and endeavours to help you with any issues

so thumbs up keep up the good work

all an all

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udornbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have just returned from a 3 week stay at The Elms. I've been coming here for 4 years and I feel that this is my home away from home. The Elms is under new ownership now and the transition between hosts is going well. You can always be assured that things are clean and that your breakfast is freshly cooked. The breakfast room has been redone and is quite bright and cheery. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav06x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Visited Bedford and had planned to stay in other b&B's but since my last visit they have closed down the elms i found to be very welcoming and attentive decor a little warn and dated but was still clean and comfortable bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep would go again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Michaelalvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.4 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.1 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#11 of 18 in Bedford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#16 of 18 in Bedford
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Guest House

Address: 24 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Guest House offering bed and breakfast accommodation. Our guest rooms offer single, double and triple en-suite occupancy. All of the guest rooms are comfortably furnished and have television, free WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer an excellent breakfast selection from 6.30 in the week or take-out option for our guests with early starts. The Elms Guest House is an ideal location for week-day travelers wanting an efficient but comfortable stay. We are the closest guest house to the town center which is just a 2 minute walk, here you will find a large choice of pubs and restaurants to suite all budgets. Booking is strongly recommended. long stay discounts with additional benefits are available. The Elms also attracts a good weekend trade where guests can enjoy staying in the splendid tree lined De Parys Avenue one of Bedford's premier addresses. We are located directly opposite Bedford School and only a two minute walk to Bedford's beautiful Victorian park or the town center. Our large family and double rooms are very spacious and all guest rooms retain the original Victorian features. Weekend guests can enjoy their breakfast in our elegant breakfast room with high ceilings with typically English 'tea-room' decor. Our breakfast includes a selection of cereals and home made muesli with fresh fruit and home made compotes with a full English breakfast to follow. We pride ourselves in offering a good vegetarian alternative to the traditional English breakfast. Advance booking is strongly recommended at weekends and special weekend rates may apply, please inquire at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elms Guest House Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing