We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The true meaning of hospitality”
Review of The Grafton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #17 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The true meaning of hospitality”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had booked into a different hotel in the town but on arrival I was told they were overbooked and they offered no solution except to say the whole town was booked out. This was 2100, dark and me on my bicycle. In an effort to get rid of me they suggested the Grafton.
When I arrived there, the landlady, Cathy (and lady is the operative word) said they also were booked out but would not see me stuck. In the end she got me a bed for the night.
The customers in the bar were extremely friendly that night and the following day, so much so I nearly stayed another night.
Nothing but praise for the place and staff and owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colmsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Grafton is pretty basic; functional room with sink, shared bath.The room was clean and offered in-room tea/coffee service. There is a pub/restaurant attached, which seems to be a place for regulars. They don't provide toiletries--soap, shampoo, but shops are nearby. The outside noise level is intermittently high throughout the evening & into early morning, but no worse than some more upscale places. Proprietors are friendly and seem genuinely interested in making you feel welcome and comfortable. Close to shops, good restaurants, pedestrian mall, bus station. I would definitely recommend it for budget-conscious travelers.

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room, maybe something away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a wonderful place! Like home from home. Friendly owners that cannot do enough for you. Excellent location, 2 minute walk from the train station. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. You couldn't get better value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreifneSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Well this place is certainly no frills but its rooms and communal facilities are nice and clean, its well situated for the centre of Bedford, it has tv and coffee making facilities and my room had a wash hand basin.

Room Tip: Im not really sure but i would guess you are better off in a room that isnt directly over the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedehead38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

nice room with tv and tea/coffee. Had a good nights sleep. would use again.

Room Tip: room 12 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddypowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Simple rooms but clean, toilet & shower in corridor, clean. Conveniently in the centre and near the railway station. No noise in my room because of double glazing. Facility to make coffee or tea in the room. A very kind landlady that gave good service (f.e. I could borrow an iron and leave my suitcase in custody) . Had a very pleasant time here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

very poor breakfast
no internet wireless
not so clean

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
2.0 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Property: The Grafton
Address: 141-143 Midland Road, Bedford MK40 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grafton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing