We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Grafton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #17 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to stay at Bedford for an evening as had an early morning sports competition the next day.

Room is fairly basic and reasonably clean. There was a dirty ash tray and a bizarre stack of pennies by the TV.

Shared showers and toilets.

By the main road so noisy with the traffic outside.

Good value for money though for a one evening stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nnoriel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Having heard of the graftons friendly reputation, we decided to stay here to expore the historic market town of bedford and visit family.... Not only did this friendly service far exceed our expectations but the room has recently been refurbished and the price was a steal for what we got.

We staying in room 18 which was large double bed and a couch. It had a large bathroom with separate heater shower sink and toilet (the heater was important in these wintery months).. the room came with a flatscreen 32inch tv with cable tv, wifi, a kettle fully stocked tea and coffee and was very quiet and warm room its own manual heater... the decor of the room was modern and worthy of Tatler for its design and the window facing north was openable for a bit of crisp wintery air.... and a large wardrobe.

Downstairs there is a bar with a pool table and it closes at 2300...

Close to the train station 3 minute walk it is perfect for the business or breaking individual or couple...

Bedford itslef is awash with culture with more italian restaurants than anywhere I have been outside italy mostly very high quality at a reasonable price.

When revisiting bedford I will be sure to stay here again and will ask specifically for room 18.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

What a friendly place with great beer good staff and rooms clean will go back soon close to town center and shops I meet a few of the locals who are also very friendly .its nice to have a drink in a old style pub and have a chat with the staff and locals

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wiggyx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had booked into a different hotel in the town but on arrival I was told they were overbooked and they offered no solution except to say the whole town was booked out. This was 2100, dark and me on my bicycle. In an effort to get rid of me they suggested the Grafton.
When I arrived there, the landlady, Cathy (and lady is the operative word) said they also were booked out but would not see me stuck. In the end she got me a bed for the night.
The customers in the bar were extremely friendly that night and the following day, so much so I nearly stayed another night.
Nothing but praise for the place and staff and owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colmsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Grafton is pretty basic; functional room with sink, shared bath.The room was clean and offered in-room tea/coffee service. There is a pub/restaurant attached, which seems to be a place for regulars. They don't provide toiletries--soap, shampoo, but shops are nearby. The outside noise level is intermittently high throughout the evening & into early morning, but no worse than some more upscale places. Proprietors are friendly and seem genuinely interested in making you feel welcome and comfortable. Close to shops, good restaurants, pedestrian mall, bus station. I would definitely recommend it for budget-conscious travelers.

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room, maybe something away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a wonderful place! Like home from home. Friendly owners that cannot do enough for you. Excellent location, 2 minute walk from the train station. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. You couldn't get better value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreifneSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Well this place is certainly no frills but its rooms and communal facilities are nice and clean, its well situated for the centre of Bedford, it has tv and coffee making facilities and my room had a wash hand basin.

Room Tip: Im not really sure but i would guess you are better off in a room that isnt directly over the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedehead38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
0.5 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#12 of 18 in Bedford
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Property: The Grafton
Address: 141-143 Midland Road, Bedford MK40 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grafton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing