We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I booked the Swan hotel for myself and 9 colleagues. We had spent a day at the bodyflight centre and dinner at the horse and jockey and this seemed like the perfect place to stay after a great days out. Location was great, only a 15-minute walk from the station. Bar area was nice (albeit ran out of Baileys!). I wish I had asked for a non smoking room, as the room I was allocated really did smell of stale smoke, I didn't realise hotels still had smoking rooms/floors. Despite me making the booking for 10 of us, I was given the worst room, a junior colleague was allocated a suite! Overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Many thanks for posting your review. We are delighted your day was such a success. All public areas are non smoking, however we do have a few smoking rooms as there is a demand for them. We hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Me and my partner married at the Bedford Swan Hotel on 24th August 2012 and the day couldn't have gone better.

Rachel, the wedding planner, did a fantastic job in the build up prior to the day giving us the information and details we needed making sure everything was going well. Then on the day Rachel set the room up following requests I had given her perfectly, the room looked absolutely beautiful, Rachel had done a wonderful job.

The day itself came and we couldn't have asked for any more from the staff, the day ran smoothly without a hitch. Erkel, our toastmaster, was brilliant all day long, anything we wanted he made sure we had it, his team on the day were equally brilliant. The food that was served was some of the best we've had in a long time and everyone was impressed at the quality.

All our guests have commented on what a wonderful day it was, with particular comments towards Erkel and the team.

We really did have the most perfect day, thank you so much to everyone at the Swan who made this day even more special for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Congratulations on your recent wedding. Many thanks for your delightful feedback. Your comments have been circulated to the team who I know will be delighted to read them. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

After reading some reviews on trip advisor I was a little anxious on what to expect from this hotel, however all expectations were exceeded. On arrival the reception team made us very welcome in a truly genuine manner, Sian being extremely helpful. The bedroom was comfortable with gorgeous views over the embankment. Bathroom was clean, the decor is a little dated however I was expecting this due to a previous tripadvisor complaint. I really don’t think its a big deal, not every hotel has the cashflow to sustain a modern look. The rest of the hotel looked fabulous!! & certainly over compensated for the very few areas that were lacking.

The pinnacle of my stay was my trip to the Lotus Spa. The spa rooms are cosy but relaxing. I was so very fortunate to have Sam as my spa therapist, who is also a reiki master. I enjoyed a facial, then back & foot massage. I have been to many fantastic hotel spas, but the treatment I received from Sam surpasses them all. She is passionate about her job & has a beautiful personality, the customer service she exhibited is an asset to the hotel.

Cocktail bar is very relaxing with a very helpful barmaid who really looked after us. I enjoyed afternoon tea in the lobby, subdued atmosphere & I loved the classic decor. Washrooms in the lobby area should definitely be next on the refurb list, but they gave us a good laugh. Breakfast offers an extensive selection, could be warmer. The pool area boasts more gorgeous decor & a Jacuzzi. The addition of sauna, steam room & separate changing rooms would make this area of the hotel complete. In general most staff were great but this was not consistent among all, more professional & enthusiastic service from staff would really give this hotel the edge.

In summary The Bedford Swan offers fabulous surroundings, perfect atmosphere, outstanding spa therapists, good food & staff. Perfect place to hideaway & relax for a few days. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted we managed to exceed your expectations and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Thank you so much to The Swan Hotel for all their help in ensuring our wedding day went without a hitch! everything ran so smoothly on the day and the room looked fantastic The food was lovely, all our guests said the same!, the canapes, main meal and evening buffet were all fabulous. Thanks also for accommodating all the special dietary requirements without it being a problem at all.

Our wedding planner Rachel, all the service staff, bar staff and also our Toast Master, Erkul, were really friendly, helpful and very professional. This is such a lovely venue, beautiful inside and such a pretty location - overlooking the embankment and river. If you are planning a wedding, we would definitely recommend you consider The Swan Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Firstly congratulations on your recent marriage. We are delighted your wedding was such a success. Your comments have been circulated to the team who I know will be pleased to read them. We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I would like to say a big thank you to everyone involved at the Swan Hotel for making my sister's wedding day such a wonderful and memorable occasion. Special thanks to Erkul (a witty character) our toast master and his team, for ensuring that the days events ran like clockwork and who all made it seem so effortless. The Hotel itself is a stunning 18th century building, with superb views overlooking the river Ouse. I have never before stayed at a Hotel with so much charm or character and where the staff are so willing and eager to help out. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toalson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you so much for your review of your sister's wedding at The Bedford Swan. I am delighted this was so successful and have passed your kind feedback on to Erkul. We hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel is beautiful. I'd never been before, and was surprised as to why not when entering! My family and I went for afternoon tea for a birthday which was lovely - good food, nice waitress. The only thing lacking was not being acknowledged by staff very well. We entered from the door nearest the car park, and wandered through somewhat at a loss. When we went to reception and asked where we should sit, we were told we could sit anywhere, but then had to go and find a waitress. We must have chosen a bad spot as she only wandered past us again once and didn't appear to notice we wanted to pay up, so again had to go up to reception. This wasn't a huge problem however, and the food and decor made up for it - very antique, mix and match with a lovely exclusive quality feel. I plan to return to try out the dinner in future, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent afternoon tea experience. I sincerely apologise my team failed to acknowledge you promptly and will pick this up with them. I am delighted you enjoyed the Hotel and food and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to Sarah and the entire team at The Bedford Swan. I am an Events Manager who was looking after a large international delegation staying at the hotel over several days. We work with a lot of hotels on group bookings and it can frequently be a nightmare. This was the friendliest and most accommodating hotel I have worked with and I really appreciate all of the support. As far as feedback indicates, everyone had a great stay and I really recommend it to individuals and Event Managers dealing with the complex logistics of a large group.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding Sarah and the team at The Bedford Swan. We look forward to working with you on future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
323 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £64 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing