We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a one night stay at the Swan in Bedford, and i have to say it was very good, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, and the hotel was really impressive,(its actually an old coaching house dating back to the 17th century). We booked breakfast in the package and also car parking(£5), The breakfast was worth the extra charge and was available until 10.30am, the £5 car park charge was also good value, as this hotel is on the river bank and parking elswhere would mean a bit of walking
The rooms were well equipped, and comfortable(allthough the pillows were a bit too hard for us), the only concern would be that noise transmits through the walls quite easily and been woken up at 07.20 by the t.v in an adjoining room is not what you need on a Saturday morning, also the doors have self closures fitted so unless you keep hold of the door it will bang shut, again not something you want th hear in the early hours of the morning, some of this could also be down to very ,very inconsiderate people.
To summarise ,an excellent hotel in a very good location, with attentive staff, and good food , with a bit more soundproofing it would be perfect, would we stay again , most certainly

Room Tip: suspect walls may be more soundproofed in the older part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsmt47471015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to learn that in the main you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel on the night of our Christmas party because the prices were hiked up so I cannot give a review on the actual accommodation. I can say the hotel is nice with lovely views of the river.
However we went for our much looked forward to Christmas party which cost £50 a head. Was it worth it? Not at all!! £25 per head would have pushed it to be honest. The staff were polite, the food was average considering the price, the music was good but the atmosphere was non existent. Wouldn't go back there again for Christmas which is a great shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyface_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your festive party night. We offer reduced prices for accommodation to guests attending party nights so I am unsure what you are referring to when you state "the prices were hiked up". Throughout December we have offered a range of options to all customers varying in price from £25 to £50 per person. If you opted for a prime date such as a Friday or Saturday night then the £50 per person rate is would have been agreed at time of booking. Unfortunately atmosphere is created by guests attending and the Hotel cannot be held entirely responsible if this seems lacking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just checked into the hotel. Receptionist (older lady) extremely officious to the point of rudeness. Having booked through booking.com I had added as an extra dining. Just told no restaurant but snacks available in the lobby. Told them that was not acceptable now getting hassle about not wanting to dine in the hotel lobby. Sat here now - many guest complaining about waiting, poor service and rudeness.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Osyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your visit to us over the weekend. I regret that you found the dining options on your visit not to your satisfaction. We were serving a full A la Carte menu on the evening in question. The restaurant it’s self was fully booked but our lounge area was still available for guests to use. It is not, as you have stated, a lobby. As you can appreciate, at this time of year we are very busy and though we try to accommodate our guests in every way possible, on occasion this may not have been to your taste and you were offered a full refund for your dinner after you declined all other options. I feel it necessary to comment that having witnessed your interaction with our receptionist on the day, she was in no way rude or officious but trying her best to explain the options to you. I apologise if you felt this not to have been the case. I hope that you will feel able to return in the fullness of time to experience the hotel to the high standard we are usually known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here last week after working locally.

An excellent hotel that is fronted by some of the best staff I have come across in hotels. The reception team were wonderful.

Room was clean, functional and comfortable. Slightly small, but I'm not bothered by that.

Bar and restaurant was lovely. i met with an old friend for dinner and we both enjoyed a lovely meal and a few drinks in the bar. Breakfast was plentiful and with good choices. My only gripe on the restaurant was only choice of eggs were scrambled!

My only other gripe was they charge residents to park and this was not mentioned when booked through a third party.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your five star feedback with us following your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable. With regard to your comments about the car parking charges, this should be fully advertised regardless of where you booked the room. I would be grateful if you could let us know how you booked your room so that this may be checked and rectified if necessary. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon. info@bedfordswanhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We went to The Swan for afternoon tea to celebrate my friends birthday. We were looked after by a member of staff called Maria. The service we received was outstanding. She was attentive, friendly and made our visit special. The afternoon tea was amazing and the surroundings were lovely. It was a truly fantastic experience and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Louisotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your five star feedback with Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our afternoon tea offering and hope that we may see you back again soon. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to Maria and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was lucky enough to be treated to lunch here. The food was great , and at such a great price .The food was at a quality you would find at a top rate restaurant but without the hefty price tag. The staff where all so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson141065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor. We are delighted that your lunch was enjoyable. Your positive review has been shared with the team. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here last July and had such a lovely time that we returned this week end. Having read other reviews all I can say is some people will moan about anything. Decor is in keeping with an historical building, food is fantastic. Yes the pool is small but it's a hotel not a sports centre! Spa staff are excellent in fact all the staff are. I have no negative comments, I appreciate the care and first class service, thank you everyone. I will be back as soon as is possible!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 812Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your five star review. It is wonderful to read such a positive and honest review. Your feedback has been gratefully received by the teams who work very hard to deliver a superior service. We hope that we may see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
323 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing