We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Lesson Learned.”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive Lesson Learned.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had our work's 'Christmas party' here last week. I was really looking forward to it, but have to say i came away feeling very deflated. The function room was freezing cold, the food was below average in my opinion and the staff (when not texting on their mobiles) looked as if they'd rather be anywhere else. I can't say i blame them to be quite honest, i felt pretty much the same. Even the Christmas crackers were the cheapest i have ever seen. Carvery for us next year, at least we won't go away hungry & it won't be so expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyfoodie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, however it is disappointing it appears this wasn't mentioned on the night. We have received very positive comments regarding food and staff are aware not to use mobile phones in public areas so this will be reiterated to the team as priority. If you could possibly contact us directly so we know the date you attended the event this would be helpful. Please contact at info@bedfordswanhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    459
    265
    181
    114
See reviews for
306
541
66
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I'm pained to write a bad review as I'm a local and desperately want somewhere to recommend to the many people who ask where to stay or indeed eat, but the service here is appealing. The Swan seems to be in the last century with everything it does.
Had lunch here and the staff were not able to describe anything on the menu. The wine tasted old. The bar was cold and empty. The service was slow. The food was not quite as good as average.
Room was dated as expressed by many others on this site. I could forgive that, but the overall experience is so poor, I would recommend that you book elsewhere if you happen to find yourself in Bedford.
This is a second rate cheap wedding hotel which needs a complete overhaul.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
I am extremely disappointed to read your comments on your visit to our hotel. I find your comments to be quite unfair. We are an 18th Century Hotel and thus pride ourselves in our traditional character. Whilst our rooms have been refurbished, it would be out of keeping to create a concept too modern for this style of building. No business can claim to always get it right but the picture you have painted of our establishment is one which does not accurately reflect the reality of the situation or the feelings of the vast majority of our customers. With regard to your dining experience, I do apologise if you felt we were below par. However, I am sad to see we have no record of any such complaints being registered with our managers. Should you wish to discuss this further please contact our Restaurant Manager at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedford hotels

scarborough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a one night stay at the Swan in Bedford, and i have to say it was very good, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, and the hotel was really impressive,(its actually an old coaching house dating back to the 17th century). We booked breakfast in the package and also car parking(£5), The breakfast was worth the extra charge and was available until 10.30am, the £5 car park charge was also good value, as this hotel is on the river bank and parking elswhere would mean a bit of walking
The rooms were well equipped, and comfortable(allthough the pillows were a bit too hard for us), the only concern would be that noise transmits through the walls quite easily and been woken up at 07.20 by the t.v in an adjoining room is not what you need on a Saturday morning, also the doors have self closures fitted so unless you keep hold of the door it will bang shut, again not something you want th hear in the early hours of the morning, some of this could also be down to very ,very inconsiderate people.
To summarise ,an excellent hotel in a very good location, with attentive staff, and good food , with a bit more soundproofing it would be perfect, would we stay again , most certainly

Room Tip: suspect walls may be more soundproofed in the older part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmt47471015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to learn that in the main you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel on the night of our Christmas party because the prices were hiked up so I cannot give a review on the actual accommodation. I can say the hotel is nice with lovely views of the river.
However we went for our much looked forward to Christmas party which cost £50 a head. Was it worth it? Not at all!! £25 per head would have pushed it to be honest. The staff were polite, the food was average considering the price, the music was good but the atmosphere was non existent. Wouldn't go back there again for Christmas which is a great shame.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyface_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your festive party night. We offer reduced prices for accommodation to guests attending party nights so I am unsure what you are referring to when you state "the prices were hiked up". Throughout December we have offered a range of options to all customers varying in price from £25 to £50 per person. If you opted for a prime date such as a Friday or Saturday night then the £50 per person rate is would have been agreed at time of booking. Unfortunately atmosphere is created by guests attending and the Hotel cannot be held entirely responsible if this seems lacking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Just checked into the hotel. Receptionist (older lady) extremely officious to the point of rudeness. Having booked through booking.com I had added as an extra dining. Just told no restaurant but snacks available in the lobby. Told them that was not acceptable now getting hassle about not wanting to dine in the hotel lobby. Sat here now - many guest complaining about waiting, poor service and rudeness.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Osyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your visit to us over the weekend. I regret that you found the dining options on your visit not to your satisfaction. We were serving a full A la Carte menu on the evening in question. The restaurant it’s self was fully booked but our lounge area was still available for guests to use. It is not, as you have stated, a lobby. As you can appreciate, at this time of year we are very busy and though we try to accommodate our guests in every way possible, on occasion this may not have been to your taste and you were offered a full refund for your dinner after you declined all other options. I feel it necessary to comment that having witnessed your interaction with our receptionist on the day, she was in no way rude or officious but trying her best to explain the options to you. I apologise if you felt this not to have been the case. I hope that you will feel able to return in the fullness of time to experience the hotel to the high standard we are usually known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here last week after working locally.

An excellent hotel that is fronted by some of the best staff I have come across in hotels. The reception team were wonderful.

Room was clean, functional and comfortable. Slightly small, but I'm not bothered by that.

Bar and restaurant was lovely. i met with an old friend for dinner and we both enjoyed a lovely meal and a few drinks in the bar. Breakfast was plentiful and with good choices. My only gripe on the restaurant was only choice of eggs were scrambled!

My only other gripe was they charge residents to park and this was not mentioned when booked through a third party.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your five star feedback with us following your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that your stay was enjoyable. With regard to your comments about the car parking charges, this should be fully advertised regardless of where you booked the room. I would be grateful if you could let us know how you booked your room so that this may be checked and rectified if necessary. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon. info@bedfordswanhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We went to The Swan for afternoon tea to celebrate my friends birthday. We were looked after by a member of staff called Maria. The service we received was outstanding. She was attentive, friendly and made our visit special. The afternoon tea was amazing and the surroundings were lovely. It was a truly fantastic experience and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your five star feedback with Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our afternoon tea offering and hope that we may see you back again soon. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to Maria and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
335 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing