We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Noisy room”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Swan based on the recommendation of a colleague who rated it highly. I was in room 148. I was woken at 1.30 am by a loud motorised noise just outside the window. This was made worse by the aircon unit heating the room uncomfortably while set to 17 degrees. I was moved to another room by the night manager when I asked. However with the disturbance I did not get a decent night's sleep. In fact I lost 4 hours sleep and was not a happy camper. I got different explanations for the noise. It was variously a generator or the extractor fans from the kitchen which somebody forgot to switch off.
The duty manager offered a discount on the room and a complimentary upgrade on my next visit. I won't be taking them up on a future visit.
We had a meal there. The staff were obliging but very slow as they were clearly understaffed.
Overall the staff were helpful but I won't be returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mctravellingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    459
    265
    181
    114
See reviews for
306
541
66
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've been to the Lotus Spa twice now in the last few months for some much needed time out and both times it has been absolutely fantastic. Both times I had treatments with Rachel who was brilliant... very professional and delivered fabulous treatments (often massages can be disappointing but not the case here!) I love that you can use the amazing spa facilities before or after treatments for free as it extends the relaxation perfectly... Rachel and the spa are such a find I will be coming back lots more... I just hope that not too many people suss out this lovely haven!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed here as a little gift to ourselves. The reception staff were extremely polite and welcoming. The room was very spacious and spotless....my husband took a dip in the pool and said how relaxing it was. During the evening we spent time in the bar area where the staff had A1 customer service. The meal in the restaurant was superb and the staff were lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable and after a wonderful nights sleep we indulged in a delightful breakfast. Overall a wonderful stay which i would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Family group of 6 had a really lovely Sunday lunch. Everything from initial service and help for my disabled mum, to the great freshly cooked food was just as we hoped. We will be back as soon as possible. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and cheerful. A great thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lesbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed ten days in the Swan this month. Every day was as good as the first. The welcome was friendly and efficient it made you feel at home as soon as you arrived. The breakfast is totally amazing. There is so much choice. It's the best I have ever been served. The dining staff are very attentive. The temperature of the food is constantly checked. Jugs are refilled. Our room was spotless our whole stay. Chocolate and water left for us in the fridge. The lounge is a beautiful place for relaxing. I cannot praise the hotel and it's dedicated staff highly enough. I can't wait to return

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutkinsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions when in bedford,
and have never had any issues. This time a few issues with the room , light fitting in bathroom hanging off, bath panel coming away , window lock broken meaning window could be fully opened on 3rd floor. It felt that the hotel had just lost some of its focus, nice bar staff, restaurant staff ok but lacked that friendly customer focus. Not sure
Whats happened with this hotel but feels like they just need to bring things back on track, standards feel like they have slipped , dissapointed a little !
at

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

First thing to say is that there are no many signs (if any) to reception and that needs to be improved. Reception was efficient and welcoming, but somewhat surprised that I had to pay £5 for parking. I feel that if you are staying at a hotel parking should be free, and personally I object to such payments.
The room was very acceptable - clean, spacious, and I was very happy with it, as I was with supper which was EXCELLENT.
Somewhat surprised you only got 30 minutes free wi-fi and again I think that for paying guest it should be free all the time you are staying.

Room Tip: My room was 181 and all the rooms that side of the corridor look out onto the car-park and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
335 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing