We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbed of £20 via a mis-sold upgrade and they did not seem to care”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Robbed of £20 via a mis-sold upgrade and they did not seem to care”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Bedford Swan at the beginning of March 2014. We purchased an upgrade to a "luxury room" for £20 since it promised a river view. When we got to our room, we had a view of the backside of the building (mainly heating ducts and a fire escape). No river view! When we complained, they said that "not all luxury rooms had a river view, so some customers do not get it...and sorry we are fully booked". Even though their website and the glossy banner next to reception state "upgrade to a river view". It would have been nice to have be informed when we checked in that we were one of the "lucky few" who had been robbed of their river view. Apparently Charlie the manager did try to call our room but we were not there ... so glad he made a concerted effort to speak to his clients. You feel very valued. Obviously, we thought the £20 upgrade was excellent value for the free newspaper, tea and coffee making facilities (kettle) and the "special" shampoos. Also watch out for the £10 delivery charge if you want breakfast brought to your room! (equivalent to a hourly charge of £120 / hour -- it must be delivered by lawyers) BARGIN!!! This particular luxury room was also small and dark. The Hotel was otherwise OK and it is in a very central location

Room Tip: check in early if you have booked an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
It is clearly very disappointing to read your review following your recent stay at the Bedford Swan. I am very sorry you feel you were mis sold as this is never our intention. I would very much like if you would book with us again in future so we can allocate one of our best Suites. I would also appreciate you contact me regarding your room service delivery charge as the tray charge is £3 per order and in the event you have been over charged we will refund this without question. Please email me at info@bedfordswanhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    445
    258
    177
    112
See reviews for
297
530
66
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had our wedding here on 15/2/14. I would recommend this hotel. I booked wedding 1 year before and Zuanna our wedding co-ordinater was really helpful. On the day all went to plan and we had a wonderful time. Everyone commented on the Hotel, food and setting. I was concerned that we would not have enough tables and seating for the evening guests, but Charlie who was our other wedding co-ordinater could not do enough. I could not fault him and his staff for going the extra mile to make our guests comfortable. If i had to say anything negative, it was about the parking fee for the guests, I think if you are staying at the hotel the parking fee should be deducted from the hotel bill. But to end on positve note. Thankyou all at the Swan for making our wedding day memorable.

Room Tip: Get Married there, the wedding suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage, we were delighted to host your special day. Your comments regarding Zuzana and Charlie are much appreciated and have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took 3 generations of our family for afternoon tea very recently at The Swan Hotel. We had been a few years previously. We were met by a lovely Waitress Maria who attended to us. The Duchess of Bedford afternoon tea menu was vast and we chose full afternoon tea. The sandwiches were delicious together with some small quiches. Then followed the Cakes, sweets and gigantic freshly made scones with Jam and cream. Fill ups of tea and coffee were offered and accepted. We could not fault the food and Maria is a dream who really made us all feel very welcome,something that really made our afternoon. To be honest we could not eat everything and Maria quickly bought out carry out bags and wrapped all the remainder for us to enjoy at a later time. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your five star feedback following your Afternoon Tea and your delightful comments about Maria. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a dinner dance event on the Saturday evening.
Hotel in lovely location and very nicely appointed inside. Parking was OK for us as we arrived late morning, but other guests arriving around 3pm could not get in the car park and had to park some distance away.
Checked in at reception very quickly and easily, although it was busy. Rooms were clean and tidy. Spa and pool looked fantastic. Shower in the room was a bit lame, but overall OK.
Food on the Saturday night was very good, but the service seemed a little chaotic. Our table of 8 had 3 starters served and then had to wait 5 mins for the next 4 and then another few minutes for the last person to get their starter. Waiting staff were very attentive and when asked did bring things that were missing promptly, but if the service was better organised and with that little extra attention to detail given then you would not be able to fault the whole event.
Breakfast was very good in the morning with good choice all round.
Checking out was again very quick and easy for us, but again it was very busy.
Overall a good, well appointed hotel in a lovely location and would defintely stay again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If arriving by car after mid-morning you may struggle to get a parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights for hubby's birthday. Booked a suite thinking it would be better quality. Was woken up on the first night at 3.30am by the next door neighbours talking. It sounded like they were perched on my bed it seemed so close! They finally shut up at a little after 5 am. Was looking forward to a quiet night on the second night but had a very amorous couple in the room next door, so sleep was hard to come by ( but hey, if it was you, thanks for the cabaret!)
The location is great and the facilities are good but I really don't think I would stay here again, I had the worst two nights sleep of my life in this hotel

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Hotel was clean and friendly and the food in the resteraunt in the evening was good quality and good value. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was disappointed by the Spa the pool was nice to look at but it was small and the only other facility in the spa itself was a jacuzzi. There were only 2 sun loungers and the lockers had no doors on them. Children were also in the Spa Area. The lounge area of the spa was not accessible from the pool and there was a constant door slamming which interrupted the quiet. I had a sweedish massage which was excellent (apart from the door slamming in the background). There was no robe provided (only if you actually book a spa break). It appears that going for the suite (no twin beds) or upgrading will get you the things that you would expect in any room in a hotel that refers to itself as a spa. When in the room the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. There appeared to be a false economy of really cheap toilet roll.

Room Tip: This was ok for a Hotel plus a treatment but I would not recommend this for a Spa Break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Myself, partner and 3 year old daughter visited the hotel for a one night stay, last weekend.
We booked the 'Taste of Bedford' package which included a night's stay in a double room and a 4 course set menu dinner (for 2) with coffee and a bottle of wine.
We are not wine drinkers so were allowed £10 to spend on whatever drinks we wanted.
We ordered a separate child's meal for our daughter which she enjoyed. Food was delicious and we enjoyed our evening.
Staff were polite and friendly, throughout the whole of our stay and the breakfast buffet was the best I've seen anywhere. There was everything you could think of, with the option of ordering extras like kippers from the kitchen. Breakfast was also included in our package which was a bonus, though I would have gladly paid the £15 they charge for the breakfast.
There was such a nice atmosphere throughout the hotel, with family's enjoying afternoon teas, friends meeting and having beauty treatments and couples relaxing in the pool and Jacuzzi.
I lived in Bedford as a child and this night away, was a bit of a trip down memory lane for me.
I was happy to see that Bedford is thriving, with lots of chain shops around, but also plenty of independent little gems to explore. We visited The Kiln which was a lovely experience. All these places are just on The Swan Hotel's doorstep so are very easy to get to and enjoy!! Many thanks Swan Hotel, we will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing