We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Took my mum for Afternoon Tea today, lovely hotel and seating area. I asked if we could swap the salmon for another sandwich filling as my mum is allergic and this wasn't a problem. We chose an alternative however the quiche came out with salmon on?!? I think we were served by 3 or 4 different waitresses in the 2 hours we were there and the service seemed to improve throughout. Overall a lovely place, great location and the staff seemed keen to ensure you were having a good time and that everything was ok but not overpowering. And we were allowed to take home the cakes were didn't manage to eat :) would definitely recommend

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebzzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for sharing your review. It is a shame you have marked us down due to the salmon quiche and multiple waiting staff. These comments have been passed to my Head Chef and waiting team to avoid such issues in future. I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed yourselves and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    435
    254
    174
    111
See reviews for
284
526
66
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Bedford Swan has been our favourite hotel for a long while and we aim to go back soon. The building was beautiful and rooms very pretty and clean. The best part for me was the pool area, it is completely unique and stunning, gorgeous setting. We have compared every hotel to this one as it set the bench mark. Unfortunately when we went there was flooding so the banks of the river where high but still made for a beautiful view. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Try and choose a room to the front of the hotel, the river is a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your five star review. We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having spent four weeks at the Hotel as part of a business visit to Bedford I can thoroughly recommend staying here. Despite being in the center of town it is very quiet and the staff attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast was an absolute delight. As part of a larger group Yossi made an effort to ensure we were all seated together and that all our individual needs were catered for. His ability to remember our previous requests was exceptional and made the stay much more memorable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for sharing your five star feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments have been shared with the team and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bedford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We decided to celebrate my husbands birthday at The Swan in Bedford, however we very nearly walked out before going into the restaurant. We arrived early so we could go into the bar for a pre dinner drink. There was one other person at the bar who then asked for his drink to be put on his room, the barman gave a heavy sigh and went to the phone, when he got no reply he then walked out of the bar and came back a few minutes later and tried the phone again. In the mean time the customer had taken his drink to his table and we were left standing at the bar. He eventually came over to serve us and took our order nut was quite brusque with us and when we asked for the drinks to be put on our table bill we got more heavy sighs and eyes rolling before this was done. Whilst having our drink we noticed he was quite rude to other customers which made us think about leaving but as it started to rain we decided to stay. Once in the restaurant things were better, we were shown to a table overlooking the river but the table was sticky .
The staff were very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive and the meal was perfect. The bill was £80 and they could have missed out on this money on a quiet mid week night all through a surly member of staff. Although the food was good we will think twice about going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am pleased to hear you chose us to celebrate your special occasion. It is very worrying to read your comments regarding a member of my staff which I can assure you has been shared with my Restaurant and Bar Manager to investigate this matter and retrain to avoid such instances in future. I am delighted despite this initial welcoming you decided to stay for the evening and that you found staff good and the meal perfect. I do hope you come again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Dined with friends at the Swan for a 50th Birthday celebration on Easter Saturday. Starters were fine but as they were cold, I was not expecting any issues. Main courses however were disappointing. My Cod was dry and curled up at the edges the two accompanying florets of cauliflower were also dry and over cooked. My wife had the chicken, which again was dry but the surprise was finding a 4 inch long piece of chorizo nestling under the vegetable mix. Unfortunately our friends dishes were disappointing for the same reasons and little to write home about. The restaurant was relatively empty with only around 6 covers and yet during our entire meal no staff member came over to check if everything was OK.

For the quality of service and the food, this was over priced and disappointing, especially when the main courses came with very little in the way of side dishes, which have to be ordered separately.

In the recent past, we have dined there on numerous occasions and the service and quality of the food has been good, but from our last experience I shall not be taking that chance again.

Disappointing for us and our friends celebration.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuaneRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It is highly disappointing to read your review regarding your recent visit. Your comments relating to food quality have been shared with our Head Chef however I should state the chicken dish is served with, as quoted from our menu, "Butter Beans, Chorizo, Sun Blushed Tomatoes and Thyme" I am unsure by your review if you would have preferred more Chorizo or if you were surprised it was there at all. It is very disheartening to hear you were not checked on during your meal as this is standard practice here. It is good to hear previous visits have been enjoyable and hopefully you will decide to try us again in future so we are given the opportunity to restore your previous good faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedford hotels

Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the first moment I entered the Swan I was carried back in time to the days when courtesy and customer care were the perceived normality and not a speciality service.
The staff were polite and helpful. My room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful river view; what a joy it was to watch so many people of all ages using the river to exercise in so many different ways. The breakfast, served in such a delightful room, again overlooking the river, was outstanding in both the quality of produce and the array of choice.
The other services on offer - the pool, the jacuzzi. the spa - provided unexpected pleasures.
The charming ambience of the Swan served to enhance my short stay in the charming town of Bedford.
I will certainly be returning to both the

Room Tip: Congratulations to the chambermaids. My room was well cared for but so discreetly that If it hadn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your five star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I dined at the Swan on Easter Saturday with members of my family and the table was booked BEFORE reading the reviews on Trip Advisor! Needless to say I was very skeptical about what would greet me after reading so many negatives! BUT I was very pleasantly surprised....... the "new" menu was interesting with a great range of starters and entrees but personally the desserts were a let down so opted not to have one. The wine list was extensive and priced appropriately for the hotel and our choice was superb. The food was tasty, portions were generous, the location was pleasant, cutlery and glassware clean and polished (yes I am a catering manager!) and the service slick but not obtrusive. However, I cannot praise the young service team highly enough - Amy, Maddy, Dan, Paulo and Jacinto are staff to hold onto, to train and to nuture. They were charming, cheerful and professional and really made the evening. Please say thank you to them and make sure you keep them!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent dining experience. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit and your comments regarding the individuals mentioned have been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing