We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal out at the Swan”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and restaurant. The building is stunning inside and has lovely views if the river.

We both had the roast pork which was fantastic, as the food always is at The Swan.

The service received from Ricardo was also excellent, very friendly and professional.

I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a special meal out.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your five star review following your recent meal. Your special mention for Ricardo has been passed on and we hope to see you in the Restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

A stay back in my home town for a birthday celebration . A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting . We even had a room overlooking the river , which we hadn't booked an added bonus ! Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I wasn't impressed having to pay for parking though being residents I know the hotel is near the town but surely that could be taken up else where . Spa treatments and a calm ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Belated birthday wishes, many thanks for choosing The Swan for your recent trip and for sharing your review. The Lotus SPA is extremely popular and well worth a visit. We hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We wanted to do something different for Easter Sunday, so settled on The Bedford Swan River Boat Cruise for 8 of us.

What a fantastic experience! We took my mother in law and father in law who are approaching 90 and they loved it. So much so, theyve asked to book again!

The waiting staff were polite and very attentive. The commentating was informative as well as humous at times. The afternoon tea was faultless as was the 'topping up' of the champayne!

All in all - this experience was out of this world.

We will be booking again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Many thanks for your delightful review of the cruise. Our next one is Friday evening 9th May with Champagne and Canapés, we hope to see you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Took my mum for afternoon tea as a birthday treat, The sandwiches were freshly made and were very tasty as were the terrific range of cakes and mini desserts we particularly
liked the choux pastry swans, we had plenty of tea and coffee too and nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff, also we both took doggy bags home with the cakes we didnt eat , which was nice too, we found the experience very relaxed and we did not feel we had to rush ourselves, on the whole a very nice afternoon, would come again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filomena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for choosing The Bedford Swan for your celebrations and for sharing your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Took my mum for Afternoon Tea today, lovely hotel and seating area. I asked if we could swap the salmon for another sandwich filling as my mum is allergic and this wasn't a problem. We chose an alternative however the quiche came out with salmon on?!? I think we were served by 3 or 4 different waitresses in the 2 hours we were there and the service seemed to improve throughout. Overall a lovely place, great location and the staff seemed keen to ensure you were having a good time and that everything was ok but not overpowering. And we were allowed to take home the cakes were didn't manage to eat :) would definitely recommend

Stayed: April 2014
Thank DebzzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Many thanks for sharing your review. It is a shame you have marked us down due to the salmon quiche and multiple waiting staff. These comments have been passed to my Head Chef and waiting team to avoid such issues in future. I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed yourselves and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Bedford Swan has been our favourite hotel for a long while and we aim to go back soon. The building was beautiful and rooms very pretty and clean. The best part for me was the pool area, it is completely unique and stunning, gorgeous setting. We have compared every hotel to this one as it set the bench mark. Unfortunately when we went there was flooding so the banks of the river where high but still made for a beautiful view. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Try and choose a room to the front of the hotel, the river is a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your five star review. We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having spent four weeks at the Hotel as part of a business visit to Bedford I can thoroughly recommend staying here. Despite being in the center of town it is very quiet and the staff attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast was an absolute delight. As part of a larger group Yossi made an effort to ensure we were all seated together and that all our individual needs were catered for. His ability to remember our previous requests was exceptional and made the stay much more memorable

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Many thanks for sharing your five star feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments have been shared with the team and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bedford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
763 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £66 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing