We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional afternoon tea for two :)”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional afternoon tea for two :)”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fantastic service, very friendly staff, amazing afternoon tea, so much to eat!, well worth the money and what we could not eat they wrapped in foil and bagged up for us, would recommend to friends and family :0)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LeeFox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your delightful five star review of your recent Afternoon Tea. We will be offering Afternoon Tea River Cruises at weekends commencing 25th May and hope to see you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    454
    263
    180
    113
See reviews for
301
536
66
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I were married there and used the hotel wedding planning service as we wanted a stress free day. Everything went like clockwork which allowed us and our guests to simply enjoy ourselves, all staff were kind and helpful with nothing being too much trouble for them. The food was excellent and the rooms very comfortable, one of our guests remarked that it had been an amazing week end and that just about sums up our experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Congratulations on your recent wedding and many thanks for choosing us as the venue to host your special day. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I recently hosted a lunch at The Swan to celebrate our joint 80th birthdays. We enjoyed pre lunch drinks and canapes in the Duke of Bedford Room and then relocated to the adjacent State Room for lunch itself which has lovely views overlooking the river; and using the 2 rooms in this way worked very well. We opted for a buffet lunch, which had a good variety to suit all tastes, the even our "gluten free" guests were catered for. The food was lovely and there was certainly plenty of it, and the staff were friendly and accommodating.
We have used this hotel for previous family celebrations and would certainly use it again as the views over the river make it a lovely venue - however a couple of things to bear in mind are:

These rooms are on the first floor which means the views are lovely but if you have very elderly or disabled guests it could prove difficult for them - the hotel has just one lift which is quite a distance away and was in fact broken when we arrived (although they did manage to get it going again before our disabled guest arrived).

There are also no toilets in the immediate vicinity with the nearest ones being on the ground floor (not something we had thought about when making our booking). Whilst a nearby bedroom with en suite bathroom was made available for the use of our guests, it was not ready before they started arriving and, in hindsight, it would have been nicer to have had the use of 2 rooms for our 58 guests.

Parking is also somewhat limited at the hotel and is chargeable whether you are using the hotel facilities or not.

Overall, a really nice hotel with great views so a lovely venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardsbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for choosing us for your recent celebrations. We are delighted to hear your function went so well and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with friends as had evening plans in Bedford. Booked a twin room & a suite for four people. Twin room as expected: clean & nicely decorated with nice complimentary toiletries. Considering we booked this hotel for its great location the views from the twin room were disappointing. The suite was soo much nicer! For a one night visit as a treat or if you have a little extra money I would definitely recommend staying in the suite. Large room with comfortable bed and large sitting area. Really nice room to chill out in and get ready for a night out. It's an old building so windows small but plentiful and views of river lovely.

Breakfast included in room was as expected. Both continental and hot cooked buffet with choice of ordering eggs. Can't complain!

Pool lovely but for luxury and a quick dip not for doing lengths in. I can imagine if it was busy it would e a bit awkward as not very big. Also hot tub out of action when we visited which was very disappointing as was suppose to e a highlight.

Overall a beautiful hotel with friendly staff. I recommend a espresso martini in riverside bar!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Twentiesgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for posting your delightful five star review. Our River Terrace is open throughout the Summer for Cocktails and we will have a Barbeque at weekends from June. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and restaurant. The building is stunning inside and has lovely views if the river.

We both had the roast pork which was fantastic, as the food always is at The Swan.

The service received from Ricardo was also excellent, very friendly and professional.

I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a special meal out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your five star review following your recent meal. Your special mention for Ricardo has been passed on and we hope to see you in the Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A stay back in my home town for a birthday celebration . A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting . We even had a room overlooking the river , which we hadn't booked an added bonus ! Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I wasn't impressed having to pay for parking though being residents I know the hotel is near the town but surely that could be taken up else where . Spa treatments and a calm ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Belated birthday wishes, many thanks for choosing The Swan for your recent trip and for sharing your review. The Lotus SPA is extremely popular and well worth a visit. We hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We wanted to do something different for Easter Sunday, so settled on The Bedford Swan River Boat Cruise for 8 of us.

What a fantastic experience! We took my mother in law and father in law who are approaching 90 and they loved it. So much so, theyve asked to book again!

The waiting staff were polite and very attentive. The commentating was informative as well as humous at times. The afternoon tea was faultless as was the 'topping up' of the champayne!

All in all - this experience was out of this world.

We will be booking again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for your delightful review of the cruise. Our next one is Friday evening 9th May with Champagne and Canapés, we hope to see you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing