We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We thought Superior Room Dinner Bed and Breakfast for £127.00 for Two, may be too good to be true! But it was not!
Very nice room 6 foot Bed, River view, full English breakfast and £25 each towards Dinner.
All first class. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay on our Spring offer. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a night whilst attending a wedding, also held in the hotel. The Swan has a lovely location, on the river bank and we had a lovely view from the window of our room. We had upgraded to an executive room which benefited from a later check out. The room was nicely kitted out although very small, the bathroom was spotlessly clean although the shower was freezing!

We enjoyed lunch and drinks on the river terrace bar, service was great. Every member of staff that we met was pleasant and helpful. Especially when we were late for breakfast but they arranged for us to have food and seated us in the bar area - much appreciated!

The hotel has a spa and the treatment menu is very expensive, I'd definitely try one if I was to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieS606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We expect the River Terrace to be highly popular over the coming months and barbeques at weekends start in June. Regarding the SPA the treatment prices we feel they are very reasonable with massages available from £29. We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Four of us did the sunset cruise on 9th May. It was our friends Birthday and we thought this would be a different way to start the evening - it was terrific! It really was difficult to believe we were in Bedford/Kempston, it was very relaxing and quite beautiful in parts. The team driving the boat were great, they engaged with everyone on the trip and couldn't have been any more helpful but never instrusive. The canapés were beautiful. The icing on the cake had to be the two members of staff from The Swan, they were just brilliant. They were polite, funny, helpful and all in all the perfect hosts. I would highly recommend this trip - we'll be doing it again! All finished off with a drink on The Swan Terrace where the staff are once again attentive and helpful. what a great night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Caro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent river cruise. Your comments regarding Amy and Tabatha have been shared with the team. We are offering weekend day cruises throughout the summer May ~ September with Traditional Afternoon Tea and Friday evening cruises with Champagne and Canapés. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Took our Canadian Friend for afternoon tea here. Were very very impressed, everything had been made on the premises and was delicious. Fantastic service throughout and they took into account my allegies and did just as asked setting mine out seperately. So very much to eat that it was impossible to the four of us to eat all the wonderful selection of cakes. Well worth the money but if I say too much here will take away the delight for others. A very big thank you to all.

Room Tip: Cannot give a tip other than book that afternoon tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eygpt186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for sharing your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had an excellent mid-week stay at the Bedford Swan. I arrived late but was upgraded to a suite in a very quiet part of the hotel. The room was really cute with wooden beams and a sitting room with a TV that swivelled its way into my bedroom. Best of all was my time in the pool the next morning - I had the whole place to myself in what felt like a Renaissance inspired rock pool with stone, red brick and tiled walls.

Room Tip: Get there when its quiet and maybe you'll be upgraded too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your five star review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A beautiful setting for a very nice hotel. Staff were all very pleasant and courteous and the rooms well appointed. The breakfasts were absolutely excellent, the best I have had and the service second to none. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for sharing your feedback. Your comments regarding staff, rooms and breakfast are much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fantastic service, very friendly staff, amazing afternoon tea, so much to eat!, well worth the money and what we could not eat they wrapped in foil and bagged up for us, would recommend to friends and family :0)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LeeFox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your delightful five star review of your recent Afternoon Tea. We will be offering Afternoon Tea River Cruises at weekends commencing 25th May and hope to see you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing