We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for both business and pleasure”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here alone for a couple of nights in February for a business course for my newspaper group. I had never been to Bedford before and was pleasantly surprised on how lovely the town is.
My stay at the Bedford Swan was very comfortable, all of the staff made me feel at ease and the food, room and lovely spa facilities were just perfect, thank -you all.

I will return for a visit as tourist to the area.
Many thanks again for making what could have been a lonely trip into a very warming stay.

Room Tip: Over looking the river is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent Saturday night here with my husband and had a lovely time. The view of the river is stunning and with the hotel being so wonderfully located, we were able to walk along the river to the nearby park which was holding a kite festival...this all added to the magic of our stay. The staff were very efficient, friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. The food was great and the bedroom very comfortable. I will definitely come back again, I love the atmosphere, the location, the service and everything about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at hotel for a friend wedding, great central location, staff very friendly rooms very clean Parking at car park rear of hotel, but make sure you get your ticket from the reception to ensure a fine.

Room Tip: River view lovely to wake up too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last night. I spend half my working life staying in hotels and they mostly feel souless . This place is special, a truely lovely old building right in the centre of Bedford but overlooking the river. A river full of swans! Gorgeous. The staff are not only courteous and proffessional but are such lovely people too. A real breath of fresh air. Keep up the great work guys and we hope to see you all again before the summer is over.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here as guests at a Wedding Reception which was held in the Hotel. The Hotel is in a nice location- easy to find and right next to the river. It is particularly pretty at night, as there are lights all along the river which makes for a pretty evening stroll.
The Hotel is attractive to look at, and there is ample parking. The check-in process was straight forward. We stayed in Room 166 which doesn't have the greatest view out of the window, but we didn't go there to stay in our room all day! As I have said in other reviews, I am fastidious when it comes to cleanliness- I generally keep shoes/slippers on my feet in Hotel rooms, and can spot a hair from more than a metre away! However, our Hotel room was IMMACULATE. No dust, hairs, fluff- just beautifully clean. For the first time in a long time in a Hotel I took my shoes off! For me, the cleanliness of the room really does make or break a stay- so I really can't praise the Housekeeping staff enough. The room was spacious (and we had a camp bed in our room to accommodate our Daughter) and the air conditioning was a welcome bonus. In order to give a truthful and well balanced review, I would have to mention that the bathroom (whilst spotless) is looking a little tired (the bath panel is coming away a little and the grout certainly needs refreshing in both the wall and floor tiles) and also a spring in the mattress (side nearest to the window) has come away and can be felt through the mattress- however, this is right on the edge, so can only be felt when sitting on the bed and not when lying down.
We enjoyed two good nights' sleep in the room, with no outside disturbance.
Breakfast is a veritable feast there for your enjoyment! Fresh fruit, pastries, juices, fresh toast and fresh tea and coffee are all available, as is the full English cooked option- with properly cooked bacon as opposed to the pallid, half cooked rashers you are normally offered with a Hotel breakfast. Your eggs are made to order and, if all this isn't enough for you, you can order from the menu delights such as Kippers etc.
All in all we found this Hotel to be very impressive, had a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again should we ever find ourselves back in Bedford.

Room Tip: If a room with a view is important to you, ask for a River View at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brockbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Had a beautiful time there attending a wedding the food venue scenic views of the lake Couldn't have been more picture perfect. There was a gentleman called Charlie who was the organiser on the day and he was really impressive making sure all the guests were attended to and happy. The whole experience was a delight!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked an evening event together with a meeting and accommodation for over 40 guests for 3 nights - the hotel managed the booking extremely efficiently, the event (which included a band) went without a hitch. The food was delicious and I would recommend this to anyone planning an event be it business or pleasure. The event staff "Charile" plus his staff were an absolute dream, he made sure everything went to plan, whatever we wanted he made sure we got. The accommodation was coordinated by Zuzana Hlavacova, she is an asset to The Swan. She kept on top of all the bookings, changes, cancellations (and there were many!). The breakfast is fantastic, i could have stayed in the restaurant all morning eating all the variety of foods, continental, cooked breakfast, fruit - you name it, you got it. The meeting room was great, very olde worlde. Again, the staff at The Swan Hotel were great, nothing was too much trouble. The Operations Manager "Paul" was there on hand to help at any moment - the conference staff made sure there was plenty of refreshments etc., all handled professionally and discreatly. I stayed for 1 night due to being the organiser, wish i could have stayed for another night, loved the room, the setting is perfect (just by the river), I don't think you could have asked for more. Thank you to The Swan Hotel and all it's staff.

Room Tip: I stayed in 274 - perfectly situated :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alis0n92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your fantastic five star review. Your comments regarding Charlie, Zuzana and Paul are lovely to read and have been shared with the team. We look forward to arranging and hosting your next event and to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
763 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing