We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Palmersport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Halifax
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for Palmersport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at the Swan for 2 nights with 9 customers last week whilst we attended the Palmersport event at Bedford autodrome.. The setting is excellent, right next to the river with a great terrace bar overlooking the water. Really nice. The best thing about the hotel was the staff, they were all superb and really went out of their way to accommodate. Special thanks to Zuzanna and Charlie. Food was also good.

I think its always important to give some constructive criticism in order for hotels to like The Swan to maintain standards so the only thing I would say is that the rooms are starting to look a bit tired. The décor and bathrooms could do with updating. No big deal though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetowers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor further to your recent stay with us. It is lovely to read your comments regarding Zuzana and Charlie which have been shared with the team. We are looking into the possibility of a bathroom refurbishment in the near future and hope to see you again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    445
    259
    177
    112
See reviews for
297
531
66
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Clean, functional hotel with some character. The staff were excellent and had some good banter with the reception team. Rooms were OK, but very hot during the night. we ate evening meal in the hotel - having had a glass of wine in the outside bar area. Bedford is not the most beautiful town in England, but sitting alongside the river with a decent glass of wine in the the sun is most pleasant. If you prefer decent wine, make sure you order from the restaurant list as the bar wine lists are populated by low-end Chilean nonsense - shame, as the restaurant list is far better. The meals we had were good and everyone enjoyed their food - although it was a little overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was enjoyable - lots of space and choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments further to your recent visit. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning so I am sorry to hear you found the room too warm. The River Terrace is indeed in a prime spot and, although the wine list is more limited to what is available inside, offersa choice of wines from Chile, Italy and France along with a comprehensive cocktail selection. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a superior room with Laterooms which specified a river view but ended up with one overlooking roof, satellite dish and car park. The room was pleasant but quite small. We did call reception to ask to swap but no river view rooms were available. There were a few unfortunate occurances whilst we were there (no ceiling lighting for an hour, the keys to open up the pool not working in the morning as well as the wifi not recognising me as a guest!) I discussed all this with a receptionist who passed me over to a manager. They were both extremely helpful and polite and quick to offer me a reduction in our rate. Things do go wrong in hotels, these things can not always be pre-empted or avoided and the staff were very quick to make amends for this. It's a good hotel and the experience would not put me off staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sholt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologise sincerely for the issues which occured during your stay and for any inconvenience caused. It's good to hear the team dealt with this efficiently and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We were in town on a summer Friday evening a went to the outside terrace for a beer. The setting is superb, overlooking the river, artificial grass floor and nice big parasols with heat lamps. Regretfully the bar area is too small for the size of the seating area and the poor girls just can't cope with the volume of trade. Part of the problem was being let down by poor quality beer pumps that were chucking out flat beer. For such and idyllic spot they need to re-think their delivery.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMJM39, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mark 0966, I am really pleased to read that you visited our new Terrace Bar, I agree its a fantastic location. Really sorry to read that the beer wasn't quite right and the staff were under pressure. We are trying to iron out some of the initial teething problems and will hopefully get there soon.
Thanks for your feedback

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I live in Bedford and was out for a walk along the river with my young son today when we walked past the swan. Being a warm day we decided to go into the outside terrace bar overlooking the river for a cool drink and an ice cream. We sat down and a waitress approached, I asked what flavour ice cream they had available. To this I was greeted with a blank stare and was told we don't have any. Now before waking into the terrace bar I counted at least 5 signs (including 1 at the entrance) around the building advertising ice cream. When I told the waitress I was sorry I thought they did as the sign said they did, the reply I got was no and a shake of the head, no explanation or apology. She then asked if I wanted a drink, when I replied we would go elsewhere as I had promised my son an ice cream she raised her eyebrows at me and walked off. I'd like to add here that this is the first review I've ever written on this site, but after the service I received today along with poor service and an ever downward sliding of quality that I have experienced with their afternoon teas today I felt compelled to write one. I will not be returning to the swan this time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank sarahmj_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing this feedback which is vital for us to improve going forwards. We do offer ice cream at all times on the terrace so I am at a loss to explain why a member of staff would say this was not available. I am more concerned at the attitude you describe this team member portrayed which is unacceptable. I understand your reluctance to return however would very much appreciate it if you would try us again so we are given the opportunity to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedford hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent two days there on 18th/19th June 2014 our ratings reflect our opinion and we would happily go again. We tried all the facilities except the Terrace Bar and Barbecue as when we went on the 19th there was some sort of football match on the TV and it was standing room only so we resorted to the excellent room-service.

Room Tip: Whilst a more expensive room with a river view might appeal it seemed to us that you would also be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDatchery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMJM39, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. Our staff take great pride in the service they provide and very much appreciate your feedback. We use all the feedback provided, like yours, to constantly improve and develop our service and guest experience.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Yours sincerely, Dominic Mills, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well situated on the embankment and the building itself is attractive. The inside is well furnished, although the reception desk is hidden away, which is a minor negative point.

Our room was ok, I can't say any better than that. The room was a bit dated and the shower head in the bathroom was faulty, so it was difficult to have a decent shower.

This is a nice hotel for sure, but at this price point (standard room approx £90 per night) I would expect a room of a higher standard. However the location and staff can't be faulted.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertlb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Many thanks for sharing your feedback. I am sorry you didn't feel you received value for money, we will take your comments on board and hopefully see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing