We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is in a lovely spot right on the river. The food was good and if you wanted anything extra it would be given to you .The staff were excellent Jacintho Paulo Tiago Mikko and Dan who went out of his way every evening to get a table for us. We were a party of four( within a party of 39) .I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. I would like to thank all staff for being helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tins1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for your delightful five star review. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Hotel is beautifully clean and comfortable .The staff were very efficient and helpful. Paulo ,Tiago Jacintho Dan and Mikko were always ready to attend to our needs.The hotel has a good range of facilities and first class hair dryer ,kettle and iron .Also we requested extra vegetables and bread at meal times and this was immediately brought for us.Nothing was too much trouble ?Only 2minutes int the small town .I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: There are rooms available overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetjane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your delightful five star review with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have Stayed at this hotel a few times. All the rooms I stayed in were very well looked after and very clean and modern. The breakfast is really nice! Staff are friendly also! I would say it looks old from outside and dated and the bar is small. Seems dark inside aswell not very bright, but a nice hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for posting your five star feedback on Tripadvisor and comments regarding rooms, breakfast and the staff here who work very hard to ensure we meet the needs of all our customers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great! Great! Great! & Great!!
Great, polite and empathic service [we had two young grandchildren with us].
Great variety and tasty large finger sandwiches - one of us Gluten-free served separately - and not too sweet scones - plain & current - cakes and 'swan' filo/cream creation.
Great value!
Great position - kids and us had a good run-around along side the river - those calories almost came trumbling off.
It was worth the afternoon outing from London

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DANILondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at the Swan for 2 nights with 9 customers last week whilst we attended the Palmersport event at Bedford autodrome.. The setting is excellent, right next to the river with a great terrace bar overlooking the water. Really nice. The best thing about the hotel was the staff, they were all superb and really went out of their way to accommodate. Special thanks to Zuzanna and Charlie. Food was also good.

I think its always important to give some constructive criticism in order for hotels to like The Swan to maintain standards so the only thing I would say is that the rooms are starting to look a bit tired. The décor and bathrooms could do with updating. No big deal though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosetowers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor further to your recent stay with us. It is lovely to read your comments regarding Zuzana and Charlie which have been shared with the team. We are looking into the possibility of a bathroom refurbishment in the near future and hope to see you again should you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Clean, functional hotel with some character. The staff were excellent and had some good banter with the reception team. Rooms were OK, but very hot during the night. we ate evening meal in the hotel - having had a glass of wine in the outside bar area. Bedford is not the most beautiful town in England, but sitting alongside the river with a decent glass of wine in the the sun is most pleasant. If you prefer decent wine, make sure you order from the restaurant list as the bar wine lists are populated by low-end Chilean nonsense - shame, as the restaurant list is far better. The meals we had were good and everyone enjoyed their food - although it was a little overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was enjoyable - lots of space and choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments further to your recent visit. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning so I am sorry to hear you found the room too warm. The River Terrace is indeed in a prime spot and, although the wine list is more limited to what is available inside, offersa choice of wines from Chile, Italy and France along with a comprehensive cocktail selection. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a superior room with Laterooms which specified a river view but ended up with one overlooking roof, satellite dish and car park. The room was pleasant but quite small. We did call reception to ask to swap but no river view rooms were available. There were a few unfortunate occurances whilst we were there (no ceiling lighting for an hour, the keys to open up the pool not working in the morning as well as the wifi not recognising me as a guest!) I discussed all this with a receptionist who passed me over to a manager. They were both extremely helpful and polite and quick to offer me a reduction in our rate. Things do go wrong in hotels, these things can not always be pre-empted or avoided and the staff were very quick to make amends for this. It's a good hotel and the experience would not put me off staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sholt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologise sincerely for the issues which occured during your stay and for any inconvenience caused. It's good to hear the team dealt with this efficiently and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
766 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing