We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding reception & stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wedding reception & stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We recently attended a wedding reception & stayed over night. The best way to describe the day & evening is faultless.
The organisation for the reception was brilliant. The waitresses first class. Fantastic wedding breakfast.
Bar staff very polite & efficient.
We stayed in room 112 - very clean, very comfortable & no complaints.
Check in was easy, quick & the staff very helpful.
Breakfast was of a good standard. Cooked full English buffet.
Probably won't stay again as we live local but due to the wedding decided it'd be easier to stay the night, but if you are looking for somewhere to stay in bedford you won't go far wrong with the swan.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank loyal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your five star review regarding the recent wedding you attended along with positive comments regarding the room, staff and breakfast. Although unlikely to stay again please note we have a wide offering for non residents such as Afternoon Tea, Sunday lunch, the River Terrace and Spa treatments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    445
    259
    177
    112
See reviews for
297
531
66
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've just returned from having afternoon tea at the Swan Hotel and would just like to say how much we enjoyed it. The tea, sandwiches, cakes and scones were wonderful and the serving staff friendly without being obsequious, helpful and efficient. We even had our leftovers packed for enjoyment at another time (as we were well and truly full from the offering).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for posting your five star review following your Afternoon Tea. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Visited yesterday after walking by many a lunch time, the three of us ordered and one of my friends hadn't read that her salad had anchovies in until it arrived and she had started eating, so she called over the waitress and asked if they could be taken out, without any fuss the waitress (it may have been the assistant manager) took away the salad and returned with a completely fresh one and said that the taste would still have been there, very good customer service. My brie sandwich was perfect and my other friends Greek Salad looked lovely and she said it was very good. Will return again hope the new and improved standard of service continues as many of my previous visits have been less than perfect but always willing to give it another go so thank you for the excellent service. The setting is lovely and the table nearby were having aftenoon tea which also looked fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisjj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for posting your positive feedback further to your lunch visit on our River Terrace. We hope to see you there at the River Festival where we will have a Hog Roast and Barbeque available all weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Swan mid-June and it was absolutely amazing. One not to be impressed easily, he was very impressed and is already trying to sort another weekend to go! We got there about half 6ish, had a very easy and friendly check-in, dumped the bags in our suite and spent the evening in the Terrace Bar which is so so nice. Comfy chairs, parasols for a little shade, astra-turf on the floor so to look like a pub garden, and with G&Ts in hand, we sat and watched the world pass by. The staff behind that bar were really friendly too.

The bedroom was stunning. We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade and checked in to Room 115. That bed is so large and very comfy, we definitely need to get ourselves one of those!! Air con to regulate the warm summer evening and complimentary Terry's chocolate orange in the fridge. We didn't make it for breakfast but had a lovely lazy lie-in watching the queens birthday on the TV, then checked out and headed off for the afternoon. Absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful five star feedback following your recent stay with us. Your comments are delightful to read, have been shared with the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Room clean and spacious however bathroom décor needs updating . Staff approachable and friendly . Evening meal expensive (cheese and biscuits £9:95) for dessert , breakfast very good with great selections. Would stay again but price would have to be lower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. Regarding the bathroom we are looking at a possible refurbishment soon. Regarding the price we do feel room rates reflect the accommodation, location and service we offer. The £9.95 price for the cheese board is one we feel is reasonable with good quality cheese and the price is fairly similar to other similar establishments locally. We look forward to welcoming you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is in a lovely spot right on the river. The food was good and if you wanted anything extra it would be given to you .The staff were excellent Jacintho Paulo Tiago Mikko and Dan who went out of his way every evening to get a table for us. We were a party of four( within a party of 39) .I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. I would like to thank all staff for being helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tins1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for your delightful five star review. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Hotel is beautifully clean and comfortable .The staff were very efficient and helpful. Paulo ,Tiago Jacintho Dan and Mikko were always ready to attend to our needs.The hotel has a good range of facilities and first class hair dryer ,kettle and iron .Also we requested extra vegetables and bread at meal times and this was immediately brought for us.Nothing was too much trouble ?Only 2minutes int the small town .I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: There are rooms available overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetjane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your delightful five star review with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing