We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful beyond belief”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful beyond belief”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

What a shame to have to write a review like this.

The Swan is the most fantastic looking building, in a perfect location, and yet it decides to serve barely edible food and warm (white) wine, all at a price point where you expect quality.

I Took my girlfriend for a quick lunch of Cajun Chicken Panini's. The chicken was genuinely unrecognisable as chicken? The lowest quality meat I have ever eaten, so processed that it was just white mush.

That along with limp salad, and a handful of crisps, made for my worst dining experience in many a year.

A warm glass of white wine for almost £8 didn't help.

All restaurants live or die by there ingredients, and quality of cooking, just having 'the best location in town' is not enough by a long chalk.

I have read a lot of reviews saying the same as I am on here, the management is replying to them, but NOTHING is changing is it?

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Hello Duncan M,

Thank you for Tripadvisor review. I am pleased to inform you that since you have dined with us that we have recruited a new Executive Head Chef and he has already began the process of implementing new menus of a much higher standard than what you previously experienced. I know that if you are to return to visit us again, you will most certainly be impressed by the difference in quality.

Kind Regards,

Gearoid Pyne
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    459
    265
    181
    114
See reviews for
306
541
66
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a fabulous afternoon tea at the Bedford Swan. Our server Ana was excellent, completely accommodating and friendly. The beverages were great, sandwiches tasty, and the sweets were particularly yummy. We would go back any time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Hello Douglas J,

Greetings to all in North Carolina. Many Thanks for such a great review. It is always so reassuring to receive such positive feedback as yours. I will be sure to pass on your regards to Ana who will be thrilled to read them. I hope that you will come back and visit us on your next trip to Bedford.

Be Well,

Gearoid Pyne
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After returning to the hotel from a meal out with my family we decided to have a drink in the hotel bar. We sat down and immediately two men started to make lewd comments about the women in our party. Clearly they were extremely drunk so we just ignored them. However their behaviour continued and worsened with their language becoming increasingly bad. The worse part was that the bar staff continued to serve them SHOTS!
We decided enough was enough and left the bar. As we did so they called my 62 year old father in law a "gay boy" in front of the whole room including children. I complained to the reception staff on my way to my room and will again at check out.
The price of the room was comparable to some London hotels. If I had been staying in a London hotel I am quite sure that behaviour would not have been tolerated. At the very least the staff would not have continued to serve them.
Disgraceful

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissieh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Today myself and two guests booked to have Afternoon Tea at The Swan Hotel Bedford. The experience we had today was awful, first we arrived at the hotel and as soon as we sat down we had a strong smell, which was coming from a wedding upstairs. The staff member had arrived with the menus and went through the menu etc. When the waiter had come we asked for three different types of tea and on all three attempts we were told that the specific teas had run out and that it is difficult to order in – not a good start considering this was “Afternoon Tea”. We then had to wait over 30 minutes for our tea to arrive at the table – the tea was very weak and tasted of water, by this time we had noticed that three of our plates were dirty and a cup was dirty, the waiter was very understanding when we asked for some new items. The waiter then arrived with the sandwiches after a further 20 minutes, she then dropped some of the sandwiches off of the slate it was served on and didn’t even apologies – once again a disappointment, the sandwiches were hard, dry and most of them still had half of the crusts on and half off. The waiter then brought over the cake stand which looked very appetising. The scones were dry and kept braking as you lifted them, the choux pastry swan looked incredible however tasted very stale, dry and as if they were “off”. The rest of the cakes were ok. Overall ambiance was awful, we understand that there was other function etc which is fine, however staff were constantly dragging dirty bins and dirty dishes etc right next to us as we were trying to relax and enjoy. We also had a dirty stench of cigarettes as we were eating. It was a big shame as we were really looking forward to having Afternoon Tea here at The Swan Hotel as it has a great reputation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank RajanChana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Hello Chrissieh80,

I am disappointed to read about your recent experience while attending the hotel for drinks.

From having investigated and reviewed CCTV footage of the evening in question, I can confirm that a drunken guest came in to the bar but was refused service by the bartender on duty. Upon refusal, the guest became irate and began to insult other patrons. At this point our Food & Beverage Manager came to the bar and removed the offending guest from the premises.

We are fully compliant with the Licensing Act of 2003 and several members of our Management Team hold Personal Licences.

I am very sorry that you and your family had to witness this incident and for the obvious upset that it caused.

I do hope that this isolated incident will not put you off returning to the hotel as it is very much so the exception as opposed to the norm.

Sincere Regards,

Gearoid Pyne
Head of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedford hotels

Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
309 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great experience. Have had afternoon tea at other venues and have often been disappointed - not here. There was plenty of tasty food - savoury and sweet, an excellent range and plenty of tea all topped up by excellent service from Tiago

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback further to your recent Afternoon Tea and for your note regarding Tiago. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very comfortable throughout in a lovely quite location right on the river-front, yet still close to town centre and all amenities. Enjoyed quite room and great friendly service from all staff. Highly recommended and we are looking forward to staying again. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Many thanks for sharing your five star review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From starting to organize our wedding back in Jan 2013, all the way through to the
morning after on July 26th 2014, everybody at the swan has been friendly, helpful
and courteous.
Zuzana, Georgia, Rachel were all great with emails and organising
the day for us. There was no element of the day that we needed to worry
about as it was clear it was all covered.
Sarah was amazing on the day keeping us all on schedule and letting
us know what was happening. She quickly fixed some last minute issues with parking too.
We loved the team, loved the environment and loved the service and would
happily recommend the swan to future couples looking for the perfect venue
to get married.

Room Tip: Honey moon suite was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Firstly congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing us as the venue for your special day. Your comments regarding the team here are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
335 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing