We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Swan that's an ugly duckling!”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Thank goodness I was only staying one night - I was glad to leave! As with a previous reviewer, a hairy bathroom. I was moved to another room, but this took some time. Then I ordered room service, a thai fish curry and a mixed salad (undressed), plus a glass of wine and a small jug of milk. I got the thai fish curry (which was approaching the vindaloo scale in terms of heat), an overdressed salad (so much salt I had to gulp down some water), no wine and no milk. Wine was brought up - practically room temperature (white) and then another journey brought a replacement salad, which was slathered in oil this time. I gave up and took my wine down to the bar myself where the barman topped me up generously and added some ice. Eventually some milk arrived, but yes I had ring reception for about the fourth time. On checking out they had deducted the cost of the food and wine from my bill. What a disappointment! This hotel looks great from the outside, in a great location, but it does need a contemporary refit. There's not much to choose from in Bedford so unless you fancy the Park Inn (and most people don't) you have no choice. Bedford is in desperate need of a decent hotel so go on Swan, time to transform yourself. Receptionist was very apologetic and deal with all the isues well, but she really shouldn't have had to.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pheonix-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,635 - 1,641 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2008

Booked on the day and got a good rate though only booked room only as the breakfast seemed to be £30.00 more for a couple. The room was nice but the chambermail knocked and let herself straight in while we were still in bed asleep so we weren't too impressed. We checked in with a really good receptionist who directed us in because my boyfriend had lost the map. The check out was not as good because though I had booked room only they charged me for breakfast and if I hadn't been paying attention I would have paid the £30.00 extra for breakfast I hadn't had. The receptionist in the morning wasn't as good talked on the phone when checking us out and actually turned her back on me to talk more privately. Swiming pool was nice and a nice feature and the bar tender was a perfect gentleman.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank u0i39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We stayed for a night only. I was looking forward to seeing our room as the place looks lovely as you enter. Spacious reception area and bar with lots of places to sit and relax. However, on inspection there are clearly problems with the rooms, which are need of a good refurb.

Most worrying were the hairs in the bathroom. On the floor, around the bin and on the toilet. Not very nice at all. Basic cleanliness is not difficult and this one is a basic essential for any hotel.
When we politely asked for the bathroom to be re-cleaned, they apologized and said of course. When we returned it had not be done.
We complained again on leaving - but I don't suppose it mattered to them much at that point.

I also have to agree with a previous reviewer - the drinks are overpriced. A rum and coke cost £4.80!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Stayed here for my wifes birthday 27th to 29th July, but had to leave after the first night due to the heat in the rooms. Temperatues outside were in the eighties, and with no aircon, the rooms were way too hot. Didnt sleep more than 4 hours so felt awful the next day.

We were on a DBB deal booked online. The ground floor of the hotel is lovely, with some very old ornaments and detail. This splendour is not maintained beyond the ground floor however. The bedrooms are very tatty and dated. Worn carpets, and nothing to indicate a 4 star hotel.

The meal in the evening was spoilt by a lazy waiter who failed to take the order correctly, leaving my wife with the wrong dish and then served us the wrong size glass of wine - very poor. Service in the evening was appalling. The actual food was very good. Breakfast - content was again very good with ok service.

Complained to the reception in the morning re the temperature in the rooms. We got a 50% refund for the second night that we missed.

They informed us the hotel has now been sold to a new chain who are set to start a £1mln refurb imminently. Unfortunately its too late for us.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SAMILA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wilcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
0.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £68 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Swan Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing