We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barns Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Knife & Cleaver(Houghton Conquest)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bedford(Bedford)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodland Manor Hotel(Clapham)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
453
261
104
30
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
261
104
30
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstithe barnwineglass restaurantmanor suitewedding venuewedding breakfastbottle of proseccobeautiful venuewedding receptionafternoon teawedding guestscountry parkoverlooking the riverbirthday partysunday lunchlovely roomfollowing morningfarms
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

First stay at the Barnes. Usual check in procedure,very smooth despite being quite busy, although there was only one staff member, she was very switched on. Room as you would expect no great issues, nice size, spacious bathroom. Bed was comfortable and clean, fittings a bit on the MFI side but functional.
Dined with party of 7 in main restaurant. Food was excellent with ample choices, very well cooked and served. The staff to a man were all very good and very attentive. Similarly breakfast was well managed from an extensive menu with fresh cooked items well presented by super staff.
Great value and will return when next in Bedford.


Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Weddings & Events Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear GGGR,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff, we are incredibly proud of all of them.
I hope to welcome you back to The Barns Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Decided to give the Wine Glass Restaurant another try, as the setting, even in Winter cannot be beaten anywhere else in Bedford. Sunday lunch was an absolute joy to eat, good choice of starters, good choice of main course and desserts. Mushroom soup was lovely and needed no seasoning, the roast beef was a great cut and cooked to perfection, lovely roasties, there could have been a few more veg for my partner. Service was very good, friendly and efficient once we were sat down for our meal, at £13.95 for two courses, we thought was very good value for money.

The reason it didn't get 5 blobs is because there really was not much atmosphere in the restaurant and my other pet hate for the Barnes is there is never anybody behind the bar, the waitress from the restaurant did come out and get us a drink eventually. Great shame, the Barnes has so much potential.

Point of advice the Barnes, advertise.......do a special offer on a sunday, you deserve to be so much busier.

Room Tip: When booking for a meal in the restaurant, check to see if there is a wedding on, otherwise, you are pushed out to a side room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Wedding & Events Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Sandy W

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.
The chef and all the kitchen staff were delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us.
I hope to welcome you back to The Barns Hotel again in the future, we will make sure that the bar is fully manned.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I treated my fiancé to a dinner, bed and breakfast stay at The Barns Hotel recently for his 30th birthday and I have to say that it was fantastic and we both had a lovely time here.

The room was quite small, but just about big enough for us for one night. Otherwise we found the room charming, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.

The hotel package that I booked also included a bottle of Prosecco and a box of chocolates. The Prosecco was nicely chilled and came with 2 champagne glass flutes, the chocolates however were not so impressive, just 4 chocolates in a little box (they were tasty though!).

Check-in and out were smooth and the receptionist was professional, spoke clearly and friendly.

We ate at the on-sight restaurant and the food here was delicious!

We will definitely return at some point, and we have already recommended the hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Weddings & Events Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Nikki C,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay with us and I am so pleased you felt compelled to write a review.
It is so nice to hear that you had a wonderful evening meal and stay here.
I’m sure we will see you at The Barns Hotel again in the future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were looking for an escape not too far from Cambridge. It was everything we hoped for and more. The setting is a beautiful timber framed collection of barns. From the moment you drive in to the car park, the attention to detail both outside and in is evident. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, which was unbelievably delicious gourmet food, with a great menu and helpful, knowledgeable waiting staff. (As an aside, they were also very understanding of my allergies, which doesn't always happen). The receptionist (Heather :) ) was extremely warm and friendly on arrival, and let us check out a couple of minutes late so that we could observe the two minute silence in our room (!). The room was luxuriously furnished, clean and crisp. The shower wasn't the best, but the bath was lovely, and the decor just wonderful to stay in. The TV was large and easy to use, and the paper came promptly in the morning. Breakfast was a wonderful spread, both buffet and cooked, and the kitchen showed the same attention to detail and flavour that they did the evening before. If you book online quoting 'vista', you get a free bottle of wine per night. And so we left this wonderful establishment with a bottle of white in hand. It's more than we'd usually spend, but we felt like we'd actually got brilliant value for money. All in all, a perfect night's escape!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Weddings & Events Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Abi M,

Thank you so much for your glowing review.
I was delighted to read all your lovely comments. We are very proud of all our staff, and I have passed on your comments to them. I was also pleased to read that you took advantage of one of our special offers.
We are sure we will see you here at The Barns again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here for a wedding, and it was a lovely venue, with very pleasant rooms and good food.

Convenient location with great access off the M1, and a very enjoyable day! No major complaints, nice breakfast made to order in the morning with a full buffet available too. All the staff we came in contact with were polite and pleasant and the wedding organizers moved things along very smoothly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Weddings & Events Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear yorkshirepug,

Thank you for your recent review of the wedding you attended here.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the day and felt that everything went smoothly.
We hope to see you at the Barns Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews