We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food....comfortable accomodation”
Review of The Barns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Barns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice food....comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was disappointed not to have had a room overlooking the water, but still had a lovely time. Stayed two nights and ate most of our meals there because it was so nice. Restaurant has lovely views out on the canal/ waterway and when warmer you can sit outside. We went for a walk around the lake opposite the hotel. Lovely surrounds. Would definitely go again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operations Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Julie D

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review.
I am pleased to read your lovely comments about your stay,
I have passed your feedback to my team and I hope to welcome you back to the Barns Hotel again in the near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    217
    96
    25
    28
See reviews for
178
228
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay for my Godson's wedding...the hotel, the accommodation, the staff, the wedding breakfast and evening reception all wonderful...I had a fab time and felt relaxed and comfortable.

Check in is quick and efficient. The room I stayed in was perfect and had everything I wanted......I slept very well...it was very peaceful.

Sat on the terrace overlooking the river, having a drink and catch up was blissful........

The evening meal the night before the wedding was delicious and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast on both mornings was varied, hot and tasty with seemingly endless supplies of tea and coffee......all served by the the friendly helpful Marie........thank you.

We all left the hotel on a vintage double decker bus for the wedding ceremony, returning later for canapés, drinks before the wedding breakfast....once again........delicious and served by friendly staff......nothing was too much trouble.

It is obviously a popular venue for weddings and I can see why.......

Thank you for a fabulous visit xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawrence1Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operartions Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lawrence1leeds

I was absolutely delighted when reading your comments,
I am so pleased you felt compelled to write about your experience. It was so lovely that everything went perfectly for your grandsons wedding.
I have passed on your kind words to all the staff especially Maria who you mentioned.
I hope to seeing you at the Barns hotel again soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed overnight just before Easter. Booked a meal in the restaurant and wow what a lovely meal.
Roast Beef was to die for. Enjoyed a glass or two of the House Wine which was more than pleasant.
Hotel was fairly quiet that night and we were given a free upgrade and what a lovely room.
Breakfast was more than enjoyable and just enough to set us up for the day ahead.

All in all a lovely hotel and a pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann0ying0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operations Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ann0ying Orange

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review.
I was delighted to read your comments

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed dining with us in our Wineglass Restaurant.
I have passed on your lovely comments to my team
I do hope to welcome you back to the Barns Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went on the 24th of May for a wedding reception, the room was small but lovely, the deco was lovely, the bed extra comfortable, the shower was a bit iffy with the temp, but the bath was lovely, chairs where comfortable the tv was a good size. The food in the restraunt was average, didn't expect too much, and was a bit disappointed that there wasn't a cocktail menu, but thankfully I know cocktails!
The staff where lovely and polite. But beware, the walls to the room are thin, so if your planning on having some fun, be silent unless you want banging on the wall and being shouted at!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operations Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jasmine F

Thank you for choosing the Barns Hotel, I am so pleased you felt compelled to write a review about your experience with us. It so nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

I have passed on all your feedback to my team and I look forward to seeing you again soon at the Barns Hotel

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went here for a wedding & reception in February, lovely room for service and reception .you have to move out of the wedding venue so staff can set up for the reception but a part of the bar is set aside for guests. Then guests are allowed back into the barn for reception. All decorated nice and extremely warm in fact too hot even for February. The rooms in the hotel are good and comfortable if not a little on the pricy side. Food was average I would say for a large gathering of guests but was hot and staff were good. The following morning tables were set aside for wedding guests. check out was a little of a pantomime as everyone of the wedding party wanted to check out all at once so this caused the staff a headache, but after an orderly wait all was fine.

Ideal for a romantic wedding with river side setting for those getting married in summertime .

Room Tip: If your a guest and weather is a bit iffy then keep an umbrella to hand whilst walking between barn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bondfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operations Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Bondfans

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Barns Hotel, I am pleased that you felt compelled to write a review about your experience with us.

I have passed all your feedback on to my team and I hope to welcome you back to the Barns Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Plus points:-
Hotel looks good and room was comfortable and clean. Location by the river is nice. Food was adequate. Staff are good (generally)
On the minus side:-
On arrival we thought that a drink and a meal in the Riverside Tavern would be nice. The receptionist seemed a bit surprised and we later found that this part only seems to open for weddings etc.
The menu showed whole turbot for about £18 (?). I had to have this! But what arrived was a turbot fillet-and not a very nice one at that. When I complained the waiter checked with the chef and I was informed that they had not had an expected delivery. Surely I should have been told before it arrived on the table. Got the feeling they hoped I wouldn't notice! They offered free deserts to compensate.
On the second night we popped into the restaurant to ask if we could reserve the table we had had the previous night. "Yes" to the booking but "No" to the specific table reservation. It is first come first served! Really unusual I thought especially as they weren't busy! We did consider eating elsewhere but it is nice to relax in your own hotel with food and drink and so we did try the hotel restaurant again that second night ( and were "lucky" enough to get our favourite table again as it wasn't busy. The whole turbot was on the menu again that night but I copped out and had the fillet steak which was very good.
Overall it's a nice place to stay - and if you're having a wedding there it's probably very good - but to my mind it's overpriced and they've got illusions of grandeur if they think they are 4 star. If there again we'd stay at the Premier inn on the other side if the lake because you know what to expect there!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaters53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operations Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Eaters53

Thank you very much for leaving us a review, however I was most disappointed to read some of your negative comments.
I would like to start by offering my sincere apologies and I have raised all the points you made with the team. Please be reassured that all your comments have been used for retraining purposes so that we can prevent this situation from happening again.
I do accept that on this occasion we have fallen short of our high standards that we set ourselves.
I would like to apologise again, and I hope that if you are ever in the Bedford area again you will pop in and see us so we can show our best to you.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A reunion dinner for 50+ and the hotel hummed like a finely-tuned Rolls Royce. The staff are amazing - hardworking, charming, efficient, welcoming. At dinner the food was hot and delicious, wine glasses were never allowed to be empty, and the general ethos is one of charming professionalism.
The hotel itself is well-appointed with comfortable beds and spacious rooms, and the room-service breakfast was hot, plentiful, and well-cooked. I'd arrived after a lengthy journey from south Devon and sat on the terrace overlooking the river with a cool lager before me thinking I had found a small piece of paradise.
Could not be more highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsHotel, Operations Manager at The Barns Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Christopher W

Thank you for choosing to stay and at the Barns Hotel. I am really pleased you felt compelled to write a review about your experience with us.
I have passed your lovely feedback to my team and I hope to welcome you back to The Barns Hotel again in the future
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,618 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
341 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
3.4 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns Hotel

Property: The Barns Hotel
Address: Cardington Road, Bedford MK44 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#6 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barns Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barns Hotel is situated in a beautiful riverside location, within three and a half acres of landscaped gardens, yet it is just 10 miles from the M1 and 8 miles from A1. The tranquil setting offers Bedford accommodation with views of the great River Great Ouse and the local country park and wonderful grounds in which to stroll and relax. Come and join us for a beautiful and relaxing stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barns Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing