We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
d'Parys Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Verve Hotel(Bedford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
110
63
36
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
63
36
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathfrosted glassnespresso machinequirky decorfree standing bathsweet shoppotato skinsshower and toiletbeautiful roomopen planposter bedearly nightmain buildinghotel is beautifula lot of noisebooked a tablefantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Came for dinner over bank holiday weekend. Waited 25 minutes for a table with a drink which was fine. When seated half the menu is unavailable. End up spending 30 pounds on two burgers which were ok. Just put on a piece of wood instead of a plate. Will think twice before coming again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy98373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank-You for taking the time to leave us your feedback, this was one of our first bank holiday weekends and we completely underestimated the demand for some of the core items on our menu. We have made some improvements to our burger so we still think its great value -d’Parys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The building and stylish interior is fantastic. Slightly quirky check in at bar where diners are queuing to get a table for dinner. The room looked amazing although very impracticle for some with open plan bath and sink and glass screens for toilet area. The room was very cold but can be forgiven as it was a large room and not too cold outside. Not sure how good it would be in December. The bed was fantastic and the linen high quality. Very quiet. I did mention the cold towel rail and said it needed bleeding but the young lady was more concerned that we were careful with the shower as it apparently was leaking down into the room below. Perhaps they may have thought about this before we checked in for 2 nights.

Getting a table for dinner is frankly a nightmare. We put our names on the list and told 1 hour and explained that we would go upstairs and come back in 45 minutes. We came down after 40 minutes to be told that they had been calling us and we had missed the table. I think the guy with the clipboard realised that getting us a table fairly quickly would be to his advantage.
The Down side....The food was shocking!! Raw liver which had to be sent back and my husband had finished when it came back. we were served by one of the best waitresses ever called Anna. She is just brilliant. Professional, efficient and taking control unlike the seemingly very young and clearly inexperienced duty managers. we asked for the bill to be put on our room and told that this was not their policy yet 1. There own email confirmation says they they take ALL payment when you leave. We were made to pay for the room when we arrived despite their own terms and conditions. 2. They had let us put drinks on our room at lunch time. slightly odd and frankly ridiculous for a place of this standard.

Breakfast is terrible. Raw eggs. Very poor choice of continental and what you do get is thrown together. such a shame. Huge potential with style over substance.

The confirmation says parking at rear. this is misleading as there are only a few spaces and none reserved for residents. I think they should say limited parking as this would allow people who do Not want to park on the road an honest view of the parking situation .

This is a potentially fantastic place. Beautifully stylish but with the best waiting staff I have ever seen. almost everyone trained in customer care. There seems a general lack of Leadership. Nobody seems to be In charge and this shows. Young and very inexperienced managers vs disillusioned yet amazing staff. This is easily rectified. The food however was really really poor.

Don't be put off. Just eat out!! The room, staff and comfort are well worth the money. The managers need to sort out confusions over what they do and don't do as policy. Loved the Venue, Loved the staff....Thank you to Anna and some of the others we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wasitgoodornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank-You for your feedback on our refurbishment and staff particularly Anna who we've passed on your comments, we did have some early issues with our sanitary ware so we had informed our team to inform our guests. As a guest in one of our rooms you do get the privileged of booking a table with us so I’m sorry this wasn't communicated when you checked in. We believe in our "young" deputy managers who have learnt with us on this journey and the majority of our guests enjoy our food so no need to "Eat Out" - d'Parys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great refurbishment and very stylist. Private little hubs making dining private. Food good chosen. Menu really clear for allergies which was helpful not always the norm. Service very good. Slightly expensive, not great choose for puddings! Would go again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sidneyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank-You for your short but very sweet feedback we like to think we are premium and not expensive, we have some new puddings available from Friday 8th May a “Brownie Burger”, Bread & Butter Pudding, Bedford Beer Sundae and Crème Brulee hopefully there is something there that takes your fancy. See you soon – d’Parys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit as a family , we so want it to work , but again we are let down . Roast beef Sunday lunch , vegetables nice and crunchy, beef cooked perfectly , sauce home made and very tasty , so why would you serve it with a home made but frozen Yorkshire pud and roast potatoes that tasted like they were from the week before . Come on Chef get your team working . The service was good but again not great , after delivering the main course the waitress forgot about us , such a shame as we are good tippers . Will support you one more time " time to get it right "

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Gary – Thank-You for being such a strong advocate of d’Parys and using us as a venue for your family outings. Our Yorkshire Puddings and Roast Potatoes are freshly prepared Sunday Morning these had been stored next to one of our ovens and the heat had affected the quality as you’ve fed back which has been changed. We hope this means your next visit will not be your last – d’Parys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Went on a Sunday evening for nice dinner with my girlfriend, looking forward to spend some time together as we'd not seen each other in a while.

Went to the bar to start and the barmaid was polite and provided good service and was looking forward to the meal.

We were sat in a booth and it went down from there. Three sets of cutlery were in a pint glass on the table which could easily sit four. Would expect a resterant to lay it out properly on the table. Menus were on a clipboard and on paper slightly creased did not look good. Had bread to start happy that we could replace olives with extra bread, however poor communication with staff as two members brought out side plates.

Halfway through our starters our mains were brought out?!?!?! I have never experienced that in a restaurant before, I can only assume poor communication between front of house and kitchen. My other half had ribs and was satisfied with them but I was not happy with my 'pie'. A bowl with gravy, steak, and carrot topped with a pastry lid is not a pie I'm afraid. As someone who has family from Manchester I am use to very good pies and this certainly not one. I could only eat half too as the steak was too flakey.

The waitress collected our plates at the end and was polite and asked for my honest opinion and I told her and she very kindly took it off the bill which I did appreciate which is why I gave two instead of one. Will not return any time soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Danny Thank-You for offering us your detailed feedback it does really help us improve. It is not our normal procedure to bring mains to your table before you have finished your starter and your assumption is correct communication comes with time and circumstance of which we have not had much since opening 8 weeks ago. The definition of a pie is "a baked dish which is usually made of a pastry dough casing that covers or completely contains a filling of various sweet or savoury ingredients” the d’Parys pies are as per the above. We know we are still learning, our team are trained and empowered to d’elight our guests which we did by discounting your meal so are surprised to hear we won’t be given another chance to make amends – d’Parys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews