We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great breakfast!”
Review of d'Parys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
d'Parys Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here on our wedding night. Our room was amazing -side by side baths, comfy bed, love the decor and traditional furniture and to top it breakfast was great! Perfect way to end the perfect day! Only negative is that I didn't think the staff were very friendly, no help in with bags etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Freya – Thank-You for choosing to stay at the d’Parys for such an important occasion. I’m so pleased to hear you had an excellent stay, enjoying our rooms, decor and breakfast. We really do hope you come to visit us again very soon and we will carry your bags next time. – d’Parys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    60
    34
    21
    17
See reviews for
35
97
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed several times since it opened. We were blown away by our room ! Just beautiful.
The rooms are really lovely and the beds are so comfortable. Some problems with fixtures though- all the toilet seats seem to be loose and the bath tub plugs broken. Water damage on the ceiling in one room but staff said soon to be remedied.! Pipe not sealed properly above...and (except for room 8) the beautiful in-room tubs face the corner of the rooms (why???) !-plumbers need a call big time ! Also the housekeeping keep putting back dirty towels which are purposely left on the bathroom floor to indicate new ones! Not cool.
The service can be shambolic but I think they are finding their feet. The waiters and managers are so sweet and do try to be as helpful as possible.
But the thing that really bothers me is that the food is consistently awful. REALLY awful. Weird combinations and poor cuts of meat that the cooks can't seem to cook properly - they always arrive either under -or over -cooked. This has happened every time. It's quite frustrating. One time at breakfast I ordered pancakes- they tasted like they'd been cooked in a pan that had previously fried garlic-!!! Didn't eat that.
THEY REALLY NEED TO SORT OUT THE FOOD. IT IS TRULY POOR. If not for that I'd give this place 4-5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank-You for leaving us feedback on your numerous stays with us, we are pleased to hear you love the rooms, We have our snagging meetings with the builder tomorrow to rectify some issues you raise, we have been let down by some of the fixtures as you mention but as and when they fail we replace them. We continue to focus on training and re-training our team to ensure the service and food exceed guest expectations. – d’Parys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have eaten regularly at the d'Parys since it opened; it is fair to say it hasn't always been consistent in food quality or service but we truly feel that the restaurant has turned the corner. Robert was our waiter, his level of service was most excellent and the quality of food was also great. The children love going to the ice cream bar and sweet shop as a treat.
We would all I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hanmeli – Thank-You for trying and trying us again and again repeat business is so important to our business, we are getting there spending a lot of time training and retraining our kitchen and front of house teams so it’s great a repeat guest like yourself has noticed the improvements. We hope to see you again soon. – d’Parys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the imperial Russian room. This was our first visit at De Parys. Wow the room was fantastic with a very comfy bed.
Great food (loved monkfish and mussaka) and excellent service!
We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb13fk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
JB – Thank-You for the excellent comments regarding your d’ining and d’reaming experience we are pleased to hear you had an excellent stay and you enjoyed our great big comfy beds we hope you didn’t miss breakfast. – d’Parys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My sister and I had one night here very recently and were pleasantly surprised. The communal areas - bar and restaurant - are attractive, with some nice seating arrangements (booths are always appealing). We had an early drink and dinner later. By then the place was buzzing but both food and service were very good, although I do wish wait staff wouldn't say 'wonderful' as a response to every little thing you order. It felt like the happening place in a town rather devoid of such things. We had one of the stable rooms at the back of the hotel and were assured it would be quiet, although near the kitchen entrance - it was. The room was spacious and clean with 2 good sized twins and a large shower room. The lighting where we had to dry our hair could be better. Great little coffee machine! Breakfast was also good. The outside space is well designed and attractive with smoking allowed in the garden but not on the terrace.
We did feel the checking-in process could have been smoother: we were initially shown to a room already occupied. And we were charged twice for our stay but I'm sure that will get sorted out.
Overall a good time was had and we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Catherine – Thank-You for your feedback on your stay with us, we are pleased with your comments. Our check in process does need some attention and we are retraining the team at the moment to ensure this part of our guest experience is smoother than it has been in the early days. We hope you visit again soon – d’Parys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well thought my friend & I would pop in & have a glass of wine , after a lovely walk in the park inc tea & cake at the window kiosk. went in the door greeted by barman, we told him we would like to sit in garden & have a glass of wine. he told us to go outside he would get our order at out table. 2 other staff said they would come & take our order. WRONG. waited waited & waited some 20 minutes later said we would go to the bar. no one to serve us, then a member of staff came & said oh were you 2 sitting outside YES so she saw us but never got served. then the barman said sorry. but service is non existent. we felt because we were buying a drink only, they were just not bothered. so dissapointed it was my friends birthday soon, a pre birthday drink in lovely surroundings would have made us go back for a meal another day, SO NOT IMPRESSED. wont bother again. looking at your comments the only thing you are good at is making excuses. Beautiful place shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krysia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank-You for taking the time to share your experience with us, there are three elements that make the d’Parys a viable business and we expect to exceed expectations whether you are d’rinking, d’ining or dreaming with us this not typical of the service we aim to deliver and I would ask you to contact us directly at info@dParys.co.uk referencing Trip Advisor Title and user name so we can try and make amends. - d'Parys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, don't know if room we had hadn't been used for a while, but was a lot of dust, in toilet cubicle silver sanitary bag holder I wrote my name in dust on top of it, dust round bath taps too and on top of canvas Thick dust. We had room 5 and checked out today.
In my booking confirmation it said roll top bath coffee machine and flat screen TV, well 2 out of 3 ain't bad there was no roll top bath, but a fitted bath, and to be honest only reason we booked was cause of roll top bath option thought it quite quirky.
Pictures look lovely on Internet I told my partner I'd booked this lovely hotel room and room was up the gorgeous stair case, We booked in at bar and we're taken towards the kitchen door then up a tiny staircase, so nothing how pictures on Web site lead you to believe, we didn't even notice the old fashioned sweet section till we checked out, few shelves behind the bar.
It's very noisy people walking along bare wooden floors, and empty bottles being thrown out in recycling plus noise from fans in kitchen constant hum, bed was very comfortable I have to say, shame we were woken at just after 8 with yet more bottles being emptied in bin.
Room was very hot we slept with all 3 windows open and being old slash windows they only open few inches, so I would imagine it would be unbearable in height of summer, but they may provide fans I don't know.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Manager at d'Parys Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Vikki – Thank-You for staying at the d’Parys and leaving us such detailed feedback. The rooms are allocated on a first come first serve so if you book way in advance then you are likely to get the best rooms next time give us a call before you make your booking and we can let you know availability. We have had some lovely fans delivered last week which should help keep you cool if you visit us again we hope you do – d’Parys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
308 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to d'Parys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about d'Parys Hotel

Property: d'Parys Hotel
Address: 45 De Parys Avenue, Bedford MK40 2UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — d'Parys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to d'Parys - the home of premium d'rinking, d'ining, and d'reaming located in the heart of Bedford on De Parys Avenue. D'Parys is an all fresh food restaurant, a d'istinctive city bar, a coffee and tuck shop offering nostalgic sweets with handmade cakes and gelato with 14 d'reamy bedrooms. We celebrate Bedford's brewing, education and industrial heritage using exposed bricks and iron to create a unique and frankly rather random mix of Victorian style and contemporary design. We are casual not formal making d'Parys a great place to enjoy a Saturday night treat; a catch up with friends over a mid-week coffee; a place to bring the kids for homemade ice cream before a trip to Bedford Park; somewhere for meetings with business colleagues; or the first choice for the paper over a freshly cooked breakfast at the weekend after a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your d'Parys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Parys Bedford
De Parys Hotel Bedford
D'Parys Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing