We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice refurb and good beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Bedford B&B and Inns
Bedford
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice refurb and good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Just reopened after a nice refurbishment. Redesigned 'small room'area away from door is much more personal. Amazing what a coat of paint and some new furniture can do. 6 real ales and very appetising menu (not tried yet). Country pub feel, just off the town centre. Well worth a detour

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a proper old type of 'Pub', Real Ales, good selection of 'Top Shelf' including House specials on Whiskey, Vodka, Brandy etc great food, especially Sunday Lunch, (Served till late) A good group of regulars. The atmosphere is very friendly, the new landlord and Lady make a real effort to provide a comfortable place for all. They have a good sense of Humor as do the Barstaff. We live in Bedford and have not stayed there but Friends have and speak highly of the Accomodation with the added advantage of its own car park. Its close to the High Street and the River Ouse. All in all its a great place to eat and drink, I rate it as the best in Bedford, its a proper Pub which today is a rare place. I award thhe new owners 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very convenient pub with five B & B rooms. Needed to stay somewhere in central Bedford whilst attending family gathering. Very friendly owners. Rooms basic and very clean. Breakfast comprises cooked dish only (no cereals or juice). Private parking at back of pub - perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms, with a lovely atmosphere. The landlord is very welcoming and breakfast times are a delight.
Good selection of wines and ales with an expanding menu to cover most tastes. Dog friendly and ideally placed for a walk down the Embankment in the evening.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter, family room is definitely the best choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sensate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We plumped for the Castle Inn as it was central, seemed reasonably priced and had decent reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms are nice enough (if a little bland) and it’s surprisingly quiet for its location. It’s not the Ritz but for a pub with rooms it’s great.

A very pleasant couple had just recently taken over the running of the Castle when we stayed and they told us they are going to upgrade the accommodation (decoration, linen etc) so the place is likely to get even better. With that in mind we shall definitely return next time we’re in Bedford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puffpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Occupied two rooms over four nights in total. Rooms we used were clean and comfortable with new bathroom fittings, comfortable beds, tea and coffee, clock radio, cupboard space and a few toiletries/facecloth supplied. Clean towels every day. There are five rooms in total, three doubles (one on ground floor with wetroom), one twin and a family room. (We had a quick look around as the rooms are left open to air once people have checked out!) Pub staff were very helpful and were keen to ensure we had a good stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was solid English breakfast. We ate in the pub one night and the food seemed genuinely home-cooked, although pretty standard fair.

Only two small negatives - the bar area is tired and needs an update (new carpet etc) although this is not reflected in the condition of the accommodation behind, which has obviously been revamped in the last year or two. The other niggle - we stayed in a downstairs room and would have appreciated net curtains as well as proper curtains for a bit more privacy as we felt a bit 'on show' and needed to draw the curtains to dress.

Considering it's very central location (literally 5 mins walk to the main shopping/eating area) it was very quiet. For the cost, it was very good value, particularly when compared to our other friends who paid significantly more for not much extra in the Swan.

Room Tip: Ask for one upstairs (two doubles and a family room upstairs) for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Lovely food, fab bar staff, nice food, beer and wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 17 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.4 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#12 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 17 Newnham Street, Bedford MK40 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing