We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Portuguese food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baia de Cascais

Baia de Cascais
Ranked #72 of 411 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious Portuguese food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Ate at this restaurant with two colleagues. The food was delicious with friendly and attentive service. I enjoyed the Portuguese Chorico starter which became even more interesting when the owner brought it to the table and set is alight! This was followed by a delicious serving of peri-peri chicken with home made chips. The portions were generous. This was accompanied by a cold Sagres lager. One of my colleagues had the salted cod (Bacalhau) which he also really enjoyed. The menu is not overly extensive but I feel this is because the chef wants to ensure that everything is fresh and cooked with care. This is also a small restaurant so would imagine it is worth reserving a table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"BLINK AND YOU WILL MISS IT!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

All I can say ,

Although the skills aren't hard to learn, finding the happiness and finding the satisfaction and finding fulfillment in continuously serving somebody else something good to eat, is what makes a really good restaurant.

It a Nutshell this describe what Baia de Cascais has...
GREAT PEOPLE,GREAT FOOD , GREAT ATMOSPHERE... and to top it off the Puds are superb...


Thank you for a super night(still talking about it)
MR LSB Bedford

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrlsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very tasty but exceedingly rich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

i have eaten here twice, once was the grilled goats cheese with salad which was very tasty and a lovely lunch, The other time I had the salmon and asparagus with a touch of cream. i am not sure what more than a touch is at this was very very rich but still very enjoyable.
The owner was only too happy to help with anything and everything so it is purely an oversight on my part that i haven't returned as I keep intending to.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Christmas lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Fabulous Portuguese Christmas lunch yesterday at Baia de Cascais yesterday. Our second visit and a great success.

Excellent mussel starter mopped up with home-baked bread. Mains of salt cod with chick peas and duck with rice a long way from the usual Christmas menus, although plenty of turkey on the list for those who like it. Finished off with a fabulous dessert (a type of Algarve Christmas biscuit cake worth the visit on its own). Decent vinho verde and 'bica' espresso to finish.

Lovely meal, friendly service and all for less than £50! Why travel to Portugal, when it's on your doorstep!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seannicklin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is an ideal place to dine if you want simple but tasty food. Waiter very helpful and food was very good value. Will visit again...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baia de Cascais also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Baia de Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing