We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny but Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baia de Cascais

Baia de Cascais
Ranked #69 of 410 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tiny but Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

One of my firm favourites amongst the smaller and more clandestine restaurants in our area. Run by lovely friendly people, nothing is too much trouble. Some good choices for lunchtime menu and great traditional plates for the evenings. I adore their Flamed Salami / Chourico Assado and their Special Salted Cod / Bacalhau a Bras. The olive pate is second to none and compliments their fresh bread choices, great at the beginning or end your meal. Larger parties definitely need to book to ensure they can accomodate. Ideal atmosphere for couples or just something special with a couple of friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bloggsy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Would have marked this as "Good" ~ but no tag (better than average)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Unassuming but sooo popular and lively in the evening ~ so book a table. Atmosphere in this 22 seat cafe is the best feature. Service is very friendly and OK, but with only one person serving (presumably the previously mentioned Paulo) it can be a little chaotic but it works (just). Food ~ well, don't expect high class restaurant food. That might seem harsh, but this is best described as a unique (niche) and good cafe, with plenty of atmosphere. Food is very tasty. Downsides - some cutlery was bent, and plates were chipped. A significant number of baby clams (do they really allow such small clams to be harvested ~ rather than throw them back to mature) were unopened after cooking, so inedible. Also, the bill (so called) was written on a scruffy piece of paper and not itemised ~ just "Food" and "Drinks", so no idea if it was correct. It looked about right so we paid up. Will we go again? Probably, maybe, dunno. There's more restaurants to try in Bedford, which might be even better ~ except the service and atmosphere at Baia de Cascais was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with friends and their young children. What a nice "find" in Bedford. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The "flaming sausage" starter was an event in and of itself and was delicious. Everyone's meal was great...the entree I had was more than enough...couldn't finish it. The restaurant is cozy, so if going later in the evening book a table. The owner and staff are very friendly and the service is attentive. Did I mention the cake? Omg I was full but for this cake there is always room. The cake consisted of thin layers of cake with a very creamy covering like a thick whipped cream I don't even know how to describe it. It has more substance than whipped cream but is not like icing. Wonderful texture and flavor. The slice of cake sat in a strawberry and cream sauce. Do not miss the cake!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lpeacock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I (Well Joanie) had Chicken Piri Piri on Sunday and it was the best outside of Guia, Algarve Portugal yet. Thanks Paolo and Helena for the memory as it will be June before we are back to the Algarve!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Tasty and Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have been going here about every two months for over a year now. There is not one thing that we have ordered that I would not recommend. The meat platter never ceases to amaze me. It is like a taste of Portugal just down the road. Oh--and you must do the flaming chorizo--super tasty. The service is great, and I really appreciate that the Portuguese sparkling water that I loved on holiday is available here as well.

Definitely one of our two go-to restaurants in Bedford.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baia de Cascais also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Baia de Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing