We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, low cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place was so good we ended up booking extra nights. We had not experienced Premier Inn before as we live in NZ , so chose it simply for location and family rooms. But it was great. Good parking, new, clean and spacious facilities, secure and well located. Then there were the staff who were all helpful, warm and genuinely interested in our experience at their hotel. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordSouth, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review for Bedford South Premier Inn. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We have a fantastic team here who all take real pride in ensuring our guests have a great stay with us, your comments on the team are much appreciated and I will pass them on. The Housekeeping team will be delighted with your comments on the cleanliness and facilities. I hope if you are ever back in England you will choose to stay with us here at Bedford South Premier Inn and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Bedford South Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

A soulless exercise in corporate branding. From the bathroom tiles to the purple light behind the bedhead this is unmistakeably a Premier Inn. And it's very good too, clean, well-maintained and comfortable. But it's a bit like staying in identikit modules. There's no in-house bar nor restaurant nor any other public space. There's a large Brewers Fayre restaurant on the other side of the car park - a good thirty-second walk in the rain. Free wi-fi access is limited to an hour, but you can buy a 24 hour voucher for three quid. At £91 the price are steep. Another nearby chain hotel includes breakfast and an in-house bar for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordSouth, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review of Premier Inn Bedford South. We are pleased you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, I will pass on your comments to the Housekeeping team.

I apologise that your stay was not completely satisfactory in regards to having no in house bar/ restaurant or public space and we have taken your comments on board.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Bedford South Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having spent alot of time in the premier inns up and down the country this room is very updated and clean. The room has the up market feel with a very new modern look and feel. see photos. I was told the hotel has been open 6 months approx. Greeted very nicely and given my faxes etc urgently required by myself.
The room has the new samsung tv with the new media contact center below it allowing use of usb, audio/pc and HDMI input.so you can use the tv plus xbox if you take one with you to the hotel etc.
Carpet is all new and very lined with the premier lodge colours etc. Chair was new and manager like.
Overall the room is more open, large and well designed apart from the following point.

The toilet design is ok but the toilet is very close to the wall thus not allowing you to sit properly on the loo lol. This is a common problem in all newly designed rooms. Would be a good idear if the designers look at the minimum toilet set up distances before putting the new bathroom in ie give more leg room. Other wise the bathroom is very new and tidy with new cleaner dispensers.

Hopefully the managers continue to upgrade the rest of the hotels to this standard as some of them are looking a bit tired and worn.
Shaver point too near to wash bowl suggest putting higher and put the soap dispenser near to the wash bowl.

Floor - All sealed ok and simulated wooden floor clean and dark.

Food in pub - I arrived late went straight to the bar and wanted the self serve area was told not as closed. spoke to manager and suggested I would like the Italian self service as I had eaten most of the food on the menu a few times over. Thankfully he said yes and the food was nice . All staff very helpful considering i was late arrival.

Room Tip: Nice room, nice to be in a new updated hotel at last.Well worth a stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordSouth, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review of Bedford South Premier Inn. We are so pleased you like the new room designs, we have had lot's of positive feedback about them! We have taken note of your feedback around the toilet design in the bathroom, it is important we get feedback on the new designs so thank you very much.

I will pass on your feedback about the resturant to the managers there.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Bedford South in the near future.

Kind Regards

Bedford South Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I can't fault this new Premier Inn. Room was large, well furnished and spotless. Service (such as there was) was excellent. Breakfast was good and all of this at a very competitive price. I wonder if the standards will be maintained as it becomes older?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Never used the premier inn before but i thought it was really good i got a understanding from other friends but it was such a nice place to stay over night while i had some work going on in the area. Really good service and friendly staff!

Room Tip: You pay for what you get for never the less its a fantastic place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is the best Premier Inn we have stayed in. The rooms are large, extremely clean and have everything you need. The pillows are really good quality also and I always think this is a sign of a good hotel. There is lots of parking and the food facilities are really good with helpful, friendly staff who always help. The staff at reception are also very friendly and helpful too. Even though we were right next to the door to the stairs and expected this to bang all the time and keep us awake, the door was on a really good retainer so it always closed quietly and slowly meaning we got a quiet night's sleep and never noticed the door at all. Overall a relaxed weekend away for £30!!! Amazing value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the best premier inn, I have ever stayed it. The new room design is lovely with nice big rooms and lovely shower in the bathroom. Very clean. There is plenty of free parking available. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
3.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
744 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#10 of 18 in Bedford
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,651 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel

Address: Wilkinson Road | Marsh Leys, Kempston, Bedford MK43 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range: £47 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in style at our Bedford hotel, in one of our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, answer the call of the wild - the hotel is just a cheetah's dash from Woburn Safari Park and Woburn Abbey. You'll also be right on the spot for the many other big business venues and leisure attractions in the area. Directions: From M1 exit at J13 and take A421 to A507/Ampthill/Woburn/ Bedford. At the roundabout take the 1st exit, turn right to merge onto the A421. Take the A428 ramp to A6/Northampton/ Bromham/Kempston. At roundabout take the 4th exit onto Woburn road. Sat Nav: MK43 9AD. Transport and local information: Bedford Train Station 3 miles Bedford Theatre 3 miles Milton Keynes Theatre 15.5 Miles Woburn Safari Park 11 miles Wrest Park 10 miles Harpur Shopping Centre 3 miles Bedford Town Centre 3 miles Bedford International Athletic Stadium 3 miles Gullivers Land 14 miles Henlow Grange 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing