We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! The new style Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Wow!! The new style Premier Inn”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This really is some Premier Inn!!! Still very new with large rooms, wall-mounted flat screen TV, a huge shower and tasteful decor throughout. If only all Premier Inns could be like this!!

The site is easy to find but you are surrounded by new-build homes still under construction. Car parking is very good and well-laid out, check-in was seamless, friendly and efficient, wi-fi was offered at £3 for 24 hours, which is pretty good. Yes I did have a good night's sleep there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    78
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
120
116
22
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just about as good as any hotel chain as you could get. Ok so you don't get the mini bar etc but you get the basic supplies and in a beautifully clean and seemingly brand new hotel! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbuchan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This must be one of the new Premier Inns because it was excellent. Large, clean room, extremely helpful staff - couldn't fault it. Don't waste your money staying in a hotel in Bedford, try this Premier Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dundeemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 times in 3 different rooms. All immaculate and well stocked. Lovely hot shower, wonderful bed. Very quiet rooms. Just one complaint....if you are on the ground floor near the staircase you do hear quite a lot of noise!
Staff lovely and friendly. Pub brilliant too! Perfect poached eggs every time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Madamee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

stayed for 5 nights on business in early March and this being an almost new facility I found the accommodation particularly clean and well appointed. Once again the downside of Premier Inn is the ludicrous price extorted for wifi access which other similar chains provide free of charge
The associated Brewers Fayre restaurant was difficult to stay interested in for a whole week with a limited menu which lets down the hotel services overall

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_bethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent stay at the Premier Inn Bedford South...

In the new style for Premier Inn, this overhaul of their product really is excellent and on par with the upgraded offering by Holiday Inn Express. The move by these 'budget' hotels to radically overhaul their standards is paying dividends, especially as I've stayed in some pretty poor Premier Inns in the past and which I'm sure, are still out there. Quite genuinely, the modern decor, superb in-room facilities and fantastic service at this particular hotel is a cut above and easily on par with some of the great 4 star hotels in this area and further afield, giving a definite alternative option when looking for a room for the night.

Comfortable beds ensure a good nights sleep, no outside noise whatsoever or from surrounding rooms (a problem for some hotels built in this prefab style) and the large screen TV with numerous connectivity options and funky lighting scheme gives a real upmarket feel. Home comforts like tea and coffee making facilities and a large walk in 'wet floor' shower just add to an overall excellent room.

I'd have no problems recommending a stay here and while I didn't pay £19 for my room, it was well worth the extra paid... I'll be back.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room with no issues whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordSouth, General Manager at Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Bedford South Premier Inn. We are very proud of the hotel and the new style rooms. We have had excellent feedback around the rooms especially around many of the features you have mentioned such as the TV, shower and lighting.

We have an excellent night team who work hard to manage noise within the hotel and as you have noted we are a very quiet hotel.

We pride ourselves in offering an incredibly high level of service to all our guests and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to Premier Inn Bedford South in the near future.

Kind Regards

Premier Inn Bedford South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a pretty new Premier Inn and it shows. Very clean room, large TV and a large walk-in shower. Very friendly staff but typical Brewers Fayre. ie Food OK but no more than that. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedfordSouth, General Manager at Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Bedford South Premier Inn. I will pass your comments around the cleanliness of the rooms on to our Housekeeping team. The room designs are brand new and we welcome all feedback, we are so glad you like some of the features such as the TV's and the showers.

In regards to the Brewers Fayre, I will pass on your feedback regarding your experience at the restaurant.

As a team we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Premier Inn Bedford South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,597 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moret...
#1 of 1 in Marston Moretaine
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Address: Wilkinson Road | Marsh Leys, Kempston, Bedford MK43 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in style at our Bedford hotel, in one of our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, answer the call of the wild - the hotel is just a cheetah's dash from Woburn Safari Park and Woburn Abbey. You'll also be right on the spot for the many other big business venues and leisure attractions in the area. Directions: From M1 exit at J13 and take A421 to A507/Ampthill/Woburn/ Bedford. At the roundabout take the 1st exit, turn right to merge onto the A421. Take the A428 ramp to A6/Northampton/ Bromham/Kempston. At roundabout take the 4th exit onto Woburn road. Sat Nav: MK43 9AD. Transport and local information: Bedford Train Station 3 miles Bedford Theatre 3 miles Milton Keynes Theatre 15.5 Miles Woburn Safari Park 11 miles Wrest Park 10 miles Harpur Shopping Centre 3 miles Bedford Town Centre 3 miles Bedford International Athletic Stadium 3 miles Gullivers Land 14 miles Henlow Grange 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing