We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent nights sleep and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent nights sleep and friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying here twice in the last couple of months. The area around the hotel itself is nothing to write home about - a new housing estate, and chain pub and the such like, but the location is convenient.

The hotel itself isn't too old and as a result the rooms are clean and tidy. The staff are really welcoming and very helpful if you need assistance. There is also a small shop on site if you need a few bits and pieces.

The beds are very comfortable and I have always had a good nights sleep. The room itself was warm and clean, and being at the end of the corridor we had a quiet nights sleep. Each room has en-suite facilities, flat screen tv and all the facilities you would expect of this type of a hotel.

All in all a very pleasant stay. You will be offered breakfast during your stay at the pub chain across the road. Having done this previously I wouldn't bother again, my veggie breakfast was really rather poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor, it will be quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    81
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
121
119
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very clean, newish premier inn, perfectly acceptable, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Room a little smaller than other premier inns, extremely small (prison like, I assume) window which would not open, as we could not get the air conditioning to operate, this made the room over warm and stuffy. Must also add, why oh why must they rinse worn threadbare towels in vinegar, smells horrible and the smell stays with you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheepdogLambsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying there's nothing much wrong with the hotel but more of it's surroundings. The pub opposite played music until late and then people were running about in the room above from 12:28am until 1am and slamming doors.

We mentioned this in the morning and the lady just said she'd have a look and that was it.

Overall I'm not sure I'd stay here again with the music going on so late and with kids it wasn't the best stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canterbury84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at this Premier Inn having stayed at another in the group the night before. That provided an interesting contrast between the existing group properties and this, a "New Generation" hotel.

The exterior of the hotel is very pleasant, with ample parking, CCTV and the usual Brewers Fayre pub only yards away. The area is easy to find too.

Reception seems a colder place with minimalist approach and people aren't always present on the desk (not that this was a problem for me). However, they were very welcoming, very efficient and as good as any other Premier Inn staff I've found (and they're almost all very good indeed).

The hotel is very modern and the rooms match this. They're an improvement on the existing style without doubt. The decor is warmer and a little darker, with mood lighting behind the bed (I'll admit I didn't figure out how to switch this off but it wasn't an issue as I was so tired I slept without issue anyway!).

The large flatscreen TV with Freeview is a plus, although I've had this in quite a few old generation hotels too. The bathroom was well appointed although I was surprised just to find a shower and no bath. Again this wasn't a problem to me as I only take showers on one-night stays anyway, but had I been with my family and not on business, it might have been an issue.

As another reviewer has commented, the new shower gel is a major improvement over the old dispensed gel. The gel at this hotel was actually was pleasant!

Unfortunately they've kept the old style single-sheet toilet roll dispensers. These are awful. Not this hotels fault, but a group policy they should look to change. Nobody ever likes them and whilst I'm sure the theft of toilet rolls might be a big reason, they're just not nice and a pain to use.

The shower was excellent with good power.

The bedroom has the usual desk, a much improved desk chair (much nicer, a welcome change) and a single chair in the window. That brings me to the thing I disliked most. If I stayed here again I'd ask for a room that wasn't on the second floor or didn't have the sloped ceiling mine did. It narrowed head space considerably and banging your head off it twice in an evening isn't much fun.

It also made the room feel more cramped. Most rooms probably don't suffer from this, but be aware of it - especially if you're tall!

The cupboard/hanging space is less too and I'm not sure I like the new design of this. You basically slot your hangers into a recess that is about a quarter of the size of the old generation room hanger space from what I could guess at.

Everything about this new hotel is very good though. I'm picking on things that I notice as a very regular user of Premier Inn's and the group very rarely disappoints. This didn't either. I'd stay there again without issue and my only request would be not to have a room with the sloped ceiling.

I almost forgot, the internet seems a little slow at times but I'm well aware that is dependent on location and use. It just stalled once or twice for me and that's not usually something I experience. The 3G connection for mobiles was a bit hit and miss as well, but again it isn't essential and I'm only pointing it out if you prefer to use 3G or device tethering than pay the bargain £3 for 24 hours of internet access (easily the best value hotel chain for this).

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a room with the sloped ceilings on the second floor if you're tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very comfortable stay at what looks like a fairly new Premier Inn, highly recommended. Location very convenient for Bedford, M1 and Milton Keynes. Also a useful base for Woburn and attractions nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTYW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

For an overnight stop when on business I would choose the Premier Inn Bedford South over many 4-star hotels. The rooms were finished to a high standard with modern facilities such as a large flat screen TV, ports for laptops and gizmo's and a decent walk in shower with piping hot water. A fine hotel for a very affordable price. Good job Premier Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This really is some Premier Inn!!! Still very new with large rooms, wall-mounted flat screen TV, a huge shower and tasteful decor throughout. If only all Premier Inns could be like this!!

The site is easy to find but you are surrounded by new-build homes still under construction. Car parking is very good and well-laid out, check-in was seamless, friendly and efficient, wi-fi was offered at £3 for 24 hours, which is pretty good. Yes I did have a good night's sleep there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
3.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moret...
#1 of 1 in Marston Moretaine
119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.7 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Address: Wilkinson Road | Marsh Leys, Kempston, Bedford MK43 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in style at our Bedford hotel, in one of our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, answer the call of the wild - the hotel is just a cheetah's dash from Woburn Safari Park and Woburn Abbey. You'll also be right on the spot for the many other big business venues and leisure attractions in the area. Directions: From M1 exit at J13 and take A421 to A507/Ampthill/Woburn/ Bedford. At the roundabout take the 1st exit, turn right to merge onto the A421. Take the A428 ramp to A6/Northampton/ Bromham/Kempston. At roundabout take the 4th exit onto Woburn road. Sat Nav: MK43 9AD. Transport and local information: Bedford Train Station 3 miles Bedford Theatre 3 miles Milton Keynes Theatre 15.5 Miles Woburn Safari Park 11 miles Wrest Park 10 miles Harpur Shopping Centre 3 miles Bedford Town Centre 3 miles Bedford International Athletic Stadium 3 miles Gullivers Land 14 miles Henlow Grange 15 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing