We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military Pilgrim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A military annual reunion brought me to the area of Bedford recently. I chose the Premier Inn, Bedford South because of its location, close to my target venue, and because I am familiar with the 'Premier Inn' style, and good value. From my perspective, the location was virtually perfect. Other travellers may find the hotel somewhat remote from Bedford itself, being on the southern outskirts, close to an industrial estate and adjacent to a major house building project.

Another 'downside' for me was that this Premier Inn didn't have in-house catering e.g. Thyme. However, immediately adjacent, stands a Brewers Fayre which was very acceptable given my long and tiring drive. Whilst the staff there were attentive and polite, the food tended to be of the standard BF type, for the less discriminating. (i.e.. 'fattening') I am not being critical, but I prefer something a little more.

I stayed for 2, very pleasant, nights at the Premier Inn. The staff were charming and most attentive. Room 6 was a quite large room which could have catered for a third person, a child I would guess. It was on the ground floor, facing the car park, which was better than facing the building site. The hotel opened about a year ago, I understand, so all the facilities were near perfect. Hanging and drawer space was rather limited, but intended, I guess, more for those on-the-move. (My wife and I were staying a little longer and had a more formal occasion to attend so had with us a somewhat greater variety of clothing. But we managed quite well.) Being on the ground floor and facing the car park was in no way detrimental to a good night's sleep. The weather was hot, so the client-regulating air conditioning assured a good night.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience, good value and geographically ideal.

Room Tip: I have mentioned satisfaction with room 6, but all are much the same I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for three nights, the greeting and check in were polite and efficient. The air conditioning made the room very comfortable during a hot weekend.

Don't use the route given by their website, it takes you to a school.

The Brewers' Fayre Pub menu is okay if you like chips/fried/fatty - but you'll need to hunt very carefully for anything resembling healthy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have been in hotels all over the country and I can honestly say that this is one of the cleanest and most comfortable I have stayed in. The bed was great and I slept well.
The staff were so helpful and friendly.




  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaLydiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Probably the best Premier Inn that I have used, mainly because it is still quite new. The rooms are bigger than normal, clean and modern with comfortable beds and nice duvets and a modern air conditioning system, essential as the windows do not open. The large modern shower was wonderful and the conveniently located restaurant does the business at sensible prices. Would not hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms are quiet and a modern lift affords easy access to all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very clean rooms modern and spacious. Lovely bar and restaurant across i think it is called breyers faire. It has lovely food and right for the pocket. Kids made feel welcome in both hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mthompson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

the Bedford South Premier Inn was simply perfect, better than expected, genuine pleasant & helpful staff with modern comfortable rooms, blissful!!.
the bar could have remained open longer to cater for the long distance travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The weather was extremely hot. The room was impressive - big, clean and inviting. The air conditioning coped with the excessive temperature perfectly, making the room a delight to sleep in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
3.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
744 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#11 of 18 in Bedford
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,651 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel

Address: Wilkinson Road | Marsh Leys, Kempston, Bedford MK43 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in style at our Bedford hotel, in one of our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, answer the call of the wild - the hotel is just a cheetah's dash from Woburn Safari Park and Woburn Abbey. You'll also be right on the spot for the many other big business venues and leisure attractions in the area. Directions: From M1 exit at J13 and take A421 to A507/Ampthill/Woburn/ Bedford. At the roundabout take the 1st exit, turn right to merge onto the A421. Take the A428 ramp to A6/Northampton/ Bromham/Kempston. At roundabout take the 4th exit onto Woburn road. Sat Nav: MK43 9AD. Transport and local information: Bedford Train Station 3 miles Bedford Theatre 3 miles Milton Keynes Theatre 15.5 Miles Woburn Safari Park 11 miles Wrest Park 10 miles Harpur Shopping Centre 3 miles Bedford Town Centre 3 miles Bedford International Athletic Stadium 3 miles Gullivers Land 14 miles Henlow Grange 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing