We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good Indeed”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst attending a nearby party for an ex colleague's retirement.
The hotel is very new (as of July 2013), and location next to the A421/A6 interchange very convenient.
Room was very comfortable, all usual facilities, and no problems at all.
Location was very quiet, as was the hotel. At first I thought this was perhaps due to low occupancy that night, but the breakfast area was pretty full at 7.30 the next morning.
Breakfast choice (included in the rate I got) was perfectly adequate choice.
Staff throughout very helpful and pleasant.
All round a really good visit, and perfect for what I needed on that occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for this review, we love to recieve great comments such as 'perfect' regarding the standard of the hotel, especially as we will have been open for 10 years next year.

We hope to welcome you again should you find yourself in Bedford

Kind Regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    109
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
61
64
23
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
289 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were very impressed by this hotel - hadn't stayed in a Holiday Inn in the UK before - only abroad. It was far superior to either Premier Inn or Travelodge. The room was small but modern and clean. The bathroom although it didn't have a bath was well designed and contempory and there was also a blue night which was handy to leave on at night. There was also a large t.v. and comfortable bed, pillows and fluffy towels. There was a good selection of breakfast items both hot and cold. They also have a bar and do evening meals although we didn't eat there. We also noticed an outside area with tables which is quite unusual for motels in this country. It is easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We are pleased that you found our hotel to be a cut above other brands you have stayed at. I hope your experience with us will encourage you to book with IHG in the future.

Kind regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable although a little noisy as it is in a service area situated between a main road and a railway line.

Staff were helpful, food and bar were ok and the beds were comfortable with good en-suite facilties.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2ZTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and hope we may welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for one night. Had a family room, bit cramped with the soda bed out but everything was clean and very comfortable. Had a ground floor room, no noise and slept well. Free breakfast was good, not a huge choice but what was there was plentiful. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Would stay again if in the area and would recommend to family and friends. Very easy to find and convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaffhamsizzlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and its great to hear that you will be recommending us.

Kind Regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Picked this hotel because it was close to where I was working the next day and had good reviews / reasonable price. I hadn't stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before and will certainly use them again based on this stay. Staff at check in were prompt, polite and helpful. Room itself was quite modest in size but perfectly adequate, there was secondary glazing fitted to the double glazing so no problem with noise, decor was fresh and modern, there was a good sized modern flat screen TV and the bathroom is well set out with a decent shower that chucked out plenty of hot water, the blue LED lights gave it a bit more interest than your usual basic facility. My initial concern that the beds were a bit soft and lacking support proved unfounded and gave me a good nights sleep. Breakfast was okay, nothing special but a decent selection and plenty available to set you up for the day. I arrived mid evening and although the car park was pretty full there was still parking available, there is also a petrol station beside the hotel if you are looking for snacks other than what is in the hotel itself. For what it cost was good value and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review, I am pleased that your experience with us will lead you to consider the brand in other locations you may visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A few minutes from the M1 and close to Bedford town centre and less than an hour to Bicester Shopping Village. Stayed one night. Excellent welcome from friendly receptionist, comfortable quiet room and very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep. Good shower and excellent fluffy white towels. Plenty of choice for breakfast, cereal, yoghurt, toast, croissants, fruit plus the usual hot meal and plent of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. All good. Excellent value stay!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeBGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
We have recently replaced both our Towels and our TVs and would like to that you for mentioning these in your review. we hope you will use the hotel again in future.

Kind regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

we stayed here for one night and found it to be in an excellent location - easy to find from the M1 and just off the A6 - lovely, if compact, rooms which were exceptionally clean - new flat screen tv with lots of channels - love the blue light in the bathroom which is great at night and very useful if you have kids - were given lots of extra tea, coffees etc when we asked for more - very light and airy corridors and nice décor - only downside was the slight chaos at breakfast ... we went down at 9.25 as it ended at 10 on a sunday to find that there were no plates, no sausages ... Alan, the member of staff said 'there's always a last minute rush', and I can't help thinking that if that is the case then why don't they put a staff member on to deal with it! We missed the marmite, and little Danish pastries that most HIE have, but did nevertheless enjoy what we had - we'd happily stay here again though. It was a really nice hotel, and great value for money - HIE is a far better deal in quality and price than any Travelodge or Premier Inn.

Room Tip: for quiet rooms ask for a room furthest away from the lift - all rooms secondary glazed so very litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review, planning and preparation is certainly the key when we have a busy hotel, please be assured your comments have been communicated to the team to avoid others sharing your breakfast experience.

I am pleased that despite this you still enjoyed your stay

Kind regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Address: Elstow Interchange A6/A421 | Bedford Bypass Junction, Wilstead Road, Bedford MK42 9BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the well-connected Holiday Inn Express Bedford hotel for handy road links and proximity to Bedford's businesses. Friendly staff welcome you to the modern Holiday Inn Express Bedford, 2 miles south of Bedford town centre. We're conveniently located just off the A6 and A421, with plenty of complimentary parking. Surf the web over a coffee with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our newly refurbished guestrooms feature modern decor, comfortable beds, an en-suite with power shower and 32-inch TVs. Our bright family rooms have 1 double bed and 1 pull-out sofabed where kids under 18 stay for free with an adult. There's space for up to 25 delegates in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms, where you can host interactive conferences and board meetings. Choosing Holiday Inn Express Bedford also gives you easy access to local business parks. We're 1.5 miles from companies based in Priory Business Park and 6 miles from Millbrook vehicle testing centre. Relax in the great outdoors at the tranquil Priory Country Park with a woodland stroll and fishing and sailing on the lakes. You can watch tense competitions at Lawson Park Indoor Bowls Club, just 6 minutes' drive from Holiday Inn Express Bedford. Meet for drinks on our patio and gather inside for live sport on the flat-screen TVs and a game of pool. Our evening bar menu features spicy curries and pasta dishes. Fill up in the morning with sausage and scrambled egg from the generous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing