We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with money spent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleased with money spent”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed her for one night as I was attending a wedding not too far from the venue. Used the hotel to get ready, sleep and breakfast the next day and was very pleased considering the low cost.

The room was very clean with a flat screen tv and lovely shower and bathroom. The bed was ok, the mattress was a little springy, but I had a good enough sleep.

The breakfast was a warm continental style, scrambled eggs were a bit weird, but filled up on orange juice, croissants, beans and sausages (weird mix for brekkie but I was satisfied).

Staff were very friendly and had a nice lobby area with pool table and tv to chill out if theres a group of you.

Overall was very happy staying, and although will probably not visit Bedford again, will definitely use Holiday Inns when I need a hotel :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Mashanna S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    112
    41
    6
    4
See reviews for
64
65
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is really a sad hotel. OK if you're travelling on a budget maybe this is a valuable option. But if you're on a business trip it's really a sad place to spend a night on your own. There's not much to do in the surroundings. The food at the restaurant is terrible. Overall it's not very clean. Rooms are OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimborazo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review, since your visit in July we have rolled out a new menu and new items on our breakfast buffet. We also now offer free WiFi. Whilst we are located out of town it has its benefits such as being able to offer free parking.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in the last 2 months. As HI Express hotels go this is a good one. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and in good order. The problem is the breakfast - no different to any other HI Express breakfast; they are all uniformly poor quality. I have got to the point of not having breakfast, l would sooner go hungry than eat food of that quality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SkyMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear from people that stay away often that we are one of the better hotels they visit. Our sister hotel in Milton Keynes have been running a breakfast trial with new products and we are hopefully that this will soon be rolled out to Bedford.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staying with my young son we arrived quite late but staff were friendly and helpful. Room was just as expected and breakfast, included in the rate, was great and all we needed. Great location - would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for this brilliant review, it is great to hear that you will be staying with us again.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Checked in early hours of Saturday 2nd November. Pleasant staff and very friendly. However what greeted me in my room was less than pleasant - a filthy shower curtain with strange brown/black markings. Couldn't work out if it was blood, make-up or someone had just confused the shower curtain for a piece of toilet paper. See photo for yourself and make up your own mind. What strikes me as really odd is the way the shower curtain is left hanging there presumable by the housekeeping - yes it really was in that position shown In the photograph. Presuamably they were drying it from the previous occupants use - unhygienic - I thought they changed these between guests. In nay case they should have been able to see what was blindingly obvious was that it was filthy with one large visible mark )and several more on the other side). Too tired from work and travelling to complain so settled down to a nice comfortable bed - wrong! The bed is completely useless with all the springs knackered so that as soon as you get on, metal cables creap into your back and then you sink right to the base of the bed. In fact it would probably be more suitable just to throw the mattress away and use the base. Breakfast - oh my word what a nightmare. About a dozen small tables for everyone to use in the whole hotel. On Sunday came down at about 9am to find mess everywhere, people queuing and barging past to get to the breakfast, no seats available so people sitting in reception, having breakfast next to pool table, kids running around screaming in this tiny cramped area while you try to eat some cereal. No croissants, pastries or most of the things even by 9am. Why I asked. 'We ran out' was the reply. I'm sorry but they knew how many guests were staying and could do with a larger breakfast area at leats double the size and actually ordering the right amount for breakfast. A shame as photos on the website made it look nice and could have been much better. My advice - stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for one with a bed not broken and has been cleaned since last guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear FranklyLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret the issues you encountered with the room you received. We have taken note of your comments and shared these with our management team to ensure the issues you've mentioned are addressed.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend to visit family in the area. The Hotel was easy to find being located just off the dual carriageway. We booked a twin room which was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for our short stay and included tea/coffee making facilities.

The bathroom although small was well designed with modern shower and soap dispenser. The beds were comfortable and the room, which was at the rear of the hotel was nice and quiet (apart from a few noisy late night guests, no fault of the hotel). Only a small moan, there is a lack of hanging space and no plug near a mirror for us ladies and our straighteners! However there was a hairdryer wired in for use.

A continental breakfast was included in the our booking, surprisingly it included scrambled egg and sausages. The choice was plentiful, fruit, yoghurt, croissant, toast etc with juice and coffee/tea machines. Breakfast is eaten in the Reception area which is comfortable, light and airy with TV.

A very good stay in a budget hotel which offers extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for this review it is great to hear that you found our hotel to be value for money. Hopefully with you having family in the area we can welcome you back soon, Kind regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If dyslexic be wary of using online booking services. I booked having checked dates only to get confirmation for the wrong month. The hotel were helpful but explained I would have to go back to the booking agent. I could not find anyway of contacting the agent so sorry using this format to try to get my views across. Really upset as short of money and will now sleep in the car as doubt there is anyway of getting it back at short notice and feel it is not my fault. Will pay more next time and be able to speak to a human being!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Drammie
Thank you for highlighting that despite the booking mix up the hotel staff were helpful. It was unfortunate that on the night in question the hotel was already full otherwise we would have happily accommodated you. I believe that the booking agent has since been in touch to confirm that we will not be charging any cancellation fee, so hopefully you have received a refund. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Thank you
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,597 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
704 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#9 of 18 in Bedford
147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Address: Elstow Interchange A6/A421 | Bedford Bypass Junction, Wilstead Road, Bedford MK42 9BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the well-connected Holiday Inn Express Bedford hotel for handy road links and proximity to Bedford's businesses. Friendly staff welcome you to the modern Holiday Inn Express Bedford, 2 miles south of Bedford town centre. We're conveniently located just off the A6 and A421, with plenty of complimentary parking. Surf the web over a coffee with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our newly refurbished guestrooms feature modern decor, comfortable beds, an en-suite with power shower and 32-inch TVs. Our bright family rooms have 1 double bed and 1 pull-out sofabed where kids under 18 stay for free with an adult. There's space for up to 25 delegates in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms, where you can host interactive conferences and board meetings. Choosing Holiday Inn Express Bedford also gives you easy access to local business parks. We're 1.5 miles from companies based in Priory Business Park and 6 miles from Millbrook vehicle testing centre. Relax in the great outdoors at the tranquil Priory Country Park with a woodland stroll and fishing and sailing on the lakes. You can watch tense competitions at Lawson Park Indoor Bowls Club, just 6 minutes' drive from Holiday Inn Express Bedford. Meet for drinks on our patio and gather inside for live sport on the flat-screen TVs and a game of pool. Our evening bar menu features spicy curries and pasta dishes. Fill up in the morning with sausage and scrambled egg from the generous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing