We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bedford for a business trip. Chose the hotel due to its location near my meeting.
On first impressions it appeared to be a hotel just off hte dual carriageway by the petrol station. But was pleasantly surprised.
Location was very quiet despite being on the side of the road, but wasnt near any local facilities (restaurants, pubs etc) but only a short taxi journey away.

I ate in the hotel and was pleasantly surprised. All the food wasnt gournet it was well prepared and a good variety from the menu and the specials menu.

Staff were all very pleasant.

Overall this represented excellent value

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessKittyKins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    103
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
63
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel but it was much better than I thought and I would happily stay there again.

The room was a nice size, everything very clean, comfortable and modern. The staff were really friendly and helpful and created a pleasant atmosphere. They've recently installed air con in all the rooms so overheating shouldn't be a problem. The only downside was that it comes on by default every time you come back in and has to be turned off if you don't want it, which was annoying.

The food I had in the evening was really nice although I agree with an earlier reviewer that the prices were quite high. I was happy with breakfast as I knew they only did the continental sort.

My one recommendation would be to ask for a room at the front away from the train tracks (which go quite close to the rear of the hotel). Although I didn't notice it much in the daytime, it was much more noticeable at night. I am quite fussy about noise though, it might not be a big deal to someone else, and in fact ear plugs did the job in blocking it out!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Air con by default
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GillycatBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford -West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

Stayed in this hotel for three nights over the new year.
we stayed 30th, 31st December and 1st January.
The hotel price was £169 for me and my husband, which we thought was excellent value for money considering the time of year, and the rooms were spotless. Hotel was quite away from anywhere but we were in bedford visiting my sister who lives nearby in Elstow.
First night back at the hotel we decided to have a drink at the bar..Only one more person sat in the bar area.
now I know why.. £10.50 for 2 wines with soda
this, I thought was scandalous for 2 drinks... rest of the stay we didnt bother with a drink in the bar, and judging by nil existing customers. neither did any of the other guests.
I'll opt for 3 bottles from Asda at the same price.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — small towels
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayneBod_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Many one-night business stays here.
One of the newer styles of Holiday Inn Express, so nicer rooms and a pleasant bar and restaurant area.
Location is outside Bedford, so a 15min drive or taxi to centre.
No restaurants close-by, although they do a basic dinner service in their own dining area.
Usual boring breakfast.
Recommend 'Saffron' or 'Blue Ginger' Indian restaurants in Bedford, the 'Blue Ginger' will also deliver a takeaway to hotel, ask at reception for menus.
Price usually reasonable (70-80 pounds) if you book on-line a couple of weeks before.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuarttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

Nice hotel, a bit far out of town though. I had business in the town so got a cab through the hotel and was ripped off. The cabs charge £6 for a trip within the town limits, so a fare that should be say £3.00 becomes £6 and they do not use a meter so you have no real ground to challange them.

However, the hotel was fine, if there is one problem it is that the train line goes past the hotel at the rear and the windows dont keep the noise out.

Would I go back, yes.


  • Liked — Bar and cleanleness
  • Disliked — Taxi company booked by the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2006

Stayed here recently just for one night, I have stayed at other hotels in the area similar like Travelodge and Premier Travel Inn but this beats them both and I will stay here regulary from now on when in the area.

Booked a room via the holiday inn express website got a special summer rate of £39.00 including continental breakfast.

Room was modern and had two single beds and was clean and everything needed for a short stay. My only complaint would be as the hot weather we had the room was so warm I found it difficult to sleep as the window only open a few inches but other than that definatly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank flossy_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2005

A plesant newly bulit hotel conviently located off the motorway and close to bedford by car.
The decor was identical to other holiday inn express that i have stayed recently but very clean, modern rooms with nice small but well designed bathrooms. considering you are just off a motorway the tripple glazed windows cut all the noise out.
As always breakfast was included and we got a cheap rate via the hotel chain website.
would stay again if i needed to.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muddy697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Address: Elstow Interchange A6/A421 | Bedford Bypass Junction, Wilstead Road, Bedford MK42 9BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the well-connected Holiday Inn Express Bedford hotel for handy road links and proximity to Bedford's businesses. Friendly staff welcome you to the modern Holiday Inn Express Bedford, 2 miles south of Bedford town centre. We're conveniently located just off the A6 and A421, with plenty of complimentary parking. Surf the web over a coffee with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our newly refurbished guestrooms feature modern decor, comfortable beds, an en-suite with power shower and 32-inch TVs. Our bright family rooms have 1 double bed and 1 pull-out sofabed where kids under 18 stay for free with an adult. There's space for up to 25 delegates in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms, where you can host interactive conferences and board meetings. Choosing Holiday Inn Express Bedford also gives you easy access to local business parks. We're 1.5 miles from companies based in Priory Business Park and 6 miles from Millbrook vehicle testing centre. Relax in the great outdoors at the tranquil Priory Country Park with a woodland stroll and fishing and sailing on the lakes. You can watch tense competitions at Lawson Park Indoor Bowls Club, just 6 minutes' drive from Holiday Inn Express Bedford. Meet for drinks on our patio and gather inside for live sport on the flat-screen TVs and a game of pool. Our evening bar menu features spicy curries and pasta dishes. Fill up in the morning with sausage and scrambled egg from the generous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing