We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible day for petrol heads!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PalmerSport

PalmerSport
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
518 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Incredible day for petrol heads!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Lucky enough to get a corporate event day here through my company. A fantastic chance to drive high performance cars on race tracks. After a great breakfast and being put into a team of about 20 you head out on airport style shuttle buses to a circuit for the first car you will drive. You have 4 cars in the morning and 4 in the afternoon with a lunch break. There you get a helmet and cloves and shoes if you don't wear something suitable and then you get around 15 mins per car. All but one car is a two seater and you get an instructor to help you learn and get the best out of it. The helmets have mics and speakers so you can talk to each other. You learn so much and even if you are not confident you will be after a few laps. You'll learn how to brake in the right place, place the car for the corners and when to power on. You are told if you spin twice the session ends but people spun quite a lot and only idiots who do not listen to the instructors and endanger others would be stopped. All but one car has flappy paddle gear changes with only clutch used to get you going and end the session. The highlight for me was driving a BMW touring car and of course the single seater formula style car. This one is you on your own and you should learn from the previous session car how to handle this one. It is such as buzz driving this. There is also an off-road land rover event which is slow but fun as you go in water and up and down on an all terrain course. You also go out as a passenger in a Le-Man style two seater and experience how an instructor drives. Hold on tight! Mind blowing stuff. The day finishes with tea and sandwiches with plaques and trophies given out to the best times. You also get a USB stick with a video of the single seater drive you did and the Atom as well as the video of you out with the instructor as a passenger. Facilities are superb, staff and instructors a joy! I want to go again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goodguyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trackday Brilliance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very well organised event - have been before for a driving experience in several of the cars they offer but on this occasion I took my Caterham with a friend in his Subaru. Had an absolute blast and really enjoyed the day. All staff on hand were very helpful and had very good knowledge as well as important track experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBTLbisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High Octane Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Birth of my two children, wedding and day out at Palmersports rate as the 4 best days of my life - probably Palmersports was the best of the four

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EFPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable days ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I bought this day-long driving experience for my husband's 40th birthday. I looked hard at several alternatives before finally choosing Palmer Sport for his special day. It seemed to offer the 'ultimate' race day, rather than a few laps of a track in a fast car for roughly 1/3 of the cost of Palmer.

From my initial inquiry with Jon, Palmer Sport were helpful and speedy with the reservation and information given. I don't want to write a lengthy review on them but I would like to reassure any future client of theirs that the price of the day's racing was truly reflected in every aspect of our day (I booked to accompany him for the day without racing).

The cars selected and tracks built especially for the various races/activities have clearly been done with great care and knowledge: making sure that a novice 'racing driver' can experience great speeds at relative safety. I've never seen my husband so nervous, nor so exhilarated after each event.

The professionalism of every aspect of the day will demonstrate to you where each pound you spent has gone: High quality catering, immaculate cars, engineers and professional drivers everywhere, well-trained staff, seamless organization, quality transportation between tracks, comfortable warm suites for viewing races, good, free vending machines for refreshments and ultra-clean bathroom facilities at each track.

Friendly staff knew everyone's names quickly - and this to me is a sign of good training, visible everywhere at Palmer Sport. You'll also get a USB stick given to you which has recorded your laps too, a very nice momento.

If you book the super-ride, you will not be disappointed. I also did this brilliant ride and now have a whole new respect now for Formula racing drivers - you will experience at first hand how intensively they must drive to win races: it will leave you breathless.

I'd finish to say that if you want to give someone a day they will never forget, choose this one.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GoGapSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Ernest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best track day by miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Best selection of cars including the very fast single seaters, Le Mans Jags and of course the Caterhams and Aerial Atom and more.
You are encouraged to drive faster than you think you can do. If you do spin, there's nothing to hit! If you don't spin, you need to try harder...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PalmerSport also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to PalmerSport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing