We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2011

"The Cottage" is delightful and very comfortable.450 years old but beautifully renovated standing in its own country garden, Janet and Graham and all their staff were charming and attentive. The restaurant served delicious home cooked food.
A perfect location for a relaxing weekend break

Room Tip: The Cottage sleeps a famiy of 2 adults and 2 children (in walk-through bedroom)
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Thrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

If you dont want to pay over the odds and have a pleasant stay find somewhere else !!!!!
Our room was cold, bedding not modern standard, bed not comfortable and zed bed at the cost of £25.00 per night was unusable, bath water was cold,bottles of water etc where not replaced for second evening and finally it was un clean, all mentioned to the owner who was most unhelpfull. all this for the total cost of £350.00.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have been dining at Cornfields for the past ten years and tend to go there every couple of months . The food and service is always superb. My husband and I have eaten in a lot of restaurants in and around Cambridgeshire and Bedfordshire and Cornfields still remains our favourite restaurant.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank kelbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I held my 40th birthday party here, it was a wonderful evening. The staff were pleasant and attentive and the setting glorious. The food was great, I arranged a set meal and my guests chose their main course in advance, with a lovely range of dishes, the home made canapes in particular were just delicious. The whole evening was most relaxed and dinner service went like clockwork. Many friends also stayed in the hotel rooms which are lovely, and my children stayed too and were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast did not disappoint - perfect. All in all a very enjoyable, stress free party, I would recommend to anyone wishing to host a small gathering/wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_sbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We booked in 7 members of staff at this hotel, Myself being one of the party. We stayed in the Old Stable Room, the decor was very clean, modern & homely. Dinner was the best part... we were offered olives & cheese straws before our meal which went down brilliantly, the 3 course meal that followed was second to none. Our entire stay was a real treat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Receptionist23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed at Cornfields for two nights just after Christmas so the hotel/restaurant were fairly quiet. We booked the stables room (with 5 rooms you book the one you want). The room was large very warm and cosy with a massive king size bed. The bathroom was excellent with double bath and a power shower. The room overlooked a large field and although would be better in summer was still a beautiful outlook. The service was excellent. The bar with many regulars was very friendly and the restaurant food was excellent. Stilton & Bacon Fritters recommended. Wine was reasonable and breakfast adequate. We would definitely return either to stay or to dine in the restaurant (booking recommended)

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Well this place has a very good rural location, but poor attention to detail lets it down.The wellcome by the young attentative staff was very good, but the grumpy owner serving breakfast needs to revisit the "charm" school, or perhaps the young girls could "mentor" him. The evenging meal was very good value, and overall a plus. The rooms where not clean, spiders webs everywhere, dusty, a TV which should have been put down along time ago. I think this place is resting on its previous glory, it needs some TLC, cleaning, and a potential star is born......I will revisit very soon to see if anything changes ??

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ComposHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
5.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
763 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tennyson House Hotel
Tennyson House Hotel
#7 of 19 in Bedford
53 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
457 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
335 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Wilden Road | Colmworth near Bedford, Bedford MK44 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a Village Inn, circa 17th century, still retaining its original oak beams and Inglenook fireplace. The five superior bedrooms are set adjacent to the main building in our large garden with views out over open fields. Located with close links to A1 and M1 in the Bedfordshire countryside, 10 minutes from Bedford and St Neots and 40 minutes from Cambridge. Activities close by include ,Clay Target Complex , Golf Courses, Horse Riding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing