We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A belated birthday bash.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Bedford B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A belated birthday bash.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Treated along with five others to a late celebration of a mutual friend's birthday. Met up in the bar for a pre dinner drink, tall people mind your heads on very low beams! Nice atmosphere and we were given ample time to peruse menu and enjoy complementary nibbles. We were called through to take our seats and were all pleased with our starters ,four of us had scallops which were delicious. The restaurant was perhaps a little dark but this did give it an intimate feel. Wine list was very varied , staff were attentive without being intrusive. Main courses were all well received , I had duck which was perfectly cooked and the vegetables were fresh and tasty. The satisfaction continued with the desserts which we all ordered. Coffee accompanied by gorgeous chocolates. It is a very nice venue for a special occasion but would be a bit on the expensive side for a general night out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    16
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
21
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst working nearby.

Before i arrived I read the reviews which made me feel a bit concerned but looking at the pics I was sure this place would be great and I was not disappointed.

When I arrived I was taken to my room (Willow) by the owner, as I walked into my room I so pleased that this would be my home for the night, my first impressions were very good.

The room was large, clean and extremely comfortable, and the decor really did compliment the hotel and the area. My view of the fields was beautiful.

The bathroom was large, with a great bath / shower, fresh towels and complimentary products (shampoo etc).

I ate in the restaurant in the evening, the food was fantastic. I ate from the fixed price menu which had a brilliant choice of food, but there is also a la carte menu on offer. The bar area is lovely, really cozy and the wood fire going made you feel at home.

The staff were really friendly and could not do enough to ensure your stay was good.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely and set me up for the whole day.

As I said I stayed here whilst working nearby but I would be so pleased to be taken here for a romantic weekend away, it is just beautiful.

All in all my stay here was great, I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Went for sunday lunch and we were the only people in the whole place!!! Mains were average, deserts were good. The place is tired and even has a carpet in the public toilets. Pictures of naked women in the men's toilet confirmed this place is rather odd. It's also expensive and be warned the staff will stand over you whilst you eat!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Advertised and booked as dog friendly hence why it was booked. Dogs not allowed in public areas despite this being a 'country pub' type of establishment. I was corrected on this by the owner who said it was a restaurant with accommodation. On the accommodation side of things the room we booked at £150 per night was like stepping back into the 70's with veneer furniture, carpeted bathroom and integrated wall mounted kettle/caftiere station that had seen far better days or was least meant to be white rather than yellow at some stage in its life. On the plus side the bed was super king.

There was a strange atmosphere throughout our experience with guests squashed into what seemed like a tiny holding area/bar with oddly placed and unmatching chairs and sofas. Amidst the awkward silence orders for dinner were taken by the owner in the bar area. It was interesting listening to what everyone selected!

The bar staff seemed underwhelmed by working and eyes rolled as the manager seemed to constantly correct their every move even taking one aside. Say no more but I don't think we were meant to hear that conversation as guests.

The food itself was very tasty indeed and saved the whole experience however when we asked for a heavy red wine to accompany the delicious beef dish a pinot noir was one of the wines offered. An odd suggestion given the level of foodieness the menu portrayed.

Breakfast was served in a small room with a selection of continental items and a choice of hot items from a menu. An awkward silence prevailed again in this room and an unfriendly atmosphere as doors that didn't need to be shut were.

No newspapers, no crispy bacon, no hp sauce and no Heinz baked beans. Big mistakes even without the rest of our experience. We couldn't wait to leave and were £300 worse off after one night dinner, bed and breakfast. Go figure.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 804KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Paxton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed just one night when it was very cold. The room was very comfortable and warm. The dinner was excellent all food cooked very well and excellently presented. Service very good and good value for money. Breakfast good choice and again well cooked served.

Room Tip: We only saw the room we stayed in but only four rooms and we were told each one is different all ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLittlePaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I found Cornfields by browsing the Internet for a venue for my Mother in Laws 90th birthday lunch for all the family. We booked some months in advance and found Graham to be helpful from the start. The menu choices for our lunch were varied and interesting. We were a group ranging from 2 to 90 years of age and everyone found something to please them on the menu. It was all beautifully cooked. The staff were friendly and helpful and even managed to entertain the 2 yr olds! We came from as far as France, Anglesey, Yorkshire, Hampshire and no one was disappointed. The birthday girl herself loved it. I can highly recommend Cornfields for a family event. It is in a very dual location which we all liked too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked DB&B at Cornfields - a Saturday overnight in August.
Checking in was a warm and friendly experience. I am perplexed by other reviews with negative conclusions on customer service. We had a 5-star welcome.
Our bedroom in the adjacent converted building was spacious, well equipped & had a super view across the fields to the rear of the property.
Dinner was fabulous and the service in the restaurant was excellent.
We used the Lounge Bar for pre-dinner and after dinner drinks. Low ceilings, an abundance of very old beams, comfortable sofas - the quintessential Old England hostelry - fantastic.
Breakfast the following morning was as good as everything else the day before.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
6.3 mi away
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel

Property: Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
Address: Wilden Road | Colmworth near Bedford, Bedford MK44 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a Village Inn, circa 17th century, still retaining its original oak beams and Inglenook fireplace. The five superior bedrooms are set adjacent to the main building in our large garden with views out over open fields. Located with close links to A1 and M1 in the Bedfordshire countryside, 10 minutes from Bedford and St Neots and 40 minutes from Cambridge. Activities close by include ,Clay Target Complex , Golf Courses, Horse Riding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing