We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embankment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embankment Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
Charente, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked this hotel last-minute and didn't know what to expect so we were delighted to find such a great place to stay almost by accident! The staff were helpful and professional, just the right degree of attentiveness and awareness of our needs, from those on reception to those in the bar and in the restaurant. We loved the setting by the river - the terrace outside is a great place for a pre-dinner drink. The bar has an excellent choice of drinks, efficiently dispensed and with a smile! The evening meal was delicious; breakfast also very good. Our room was clean and comfortable - we were very pleased to be able to open the window rather than have to suffer the usual vagaries of hotel heating systems. It's a great achievement to ensure this level of consistency of service across an operation of this size - well done and thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review.
I am really glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and everything was just right for you.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bedford
Best wishes Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    95
    39
    22
    18
See reviews for
42
124
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for one night midweek in Sept. Arrived at 10pm, problem no parking. Check in hassle free and very welcoming, dumped our bags and enjoyed last orders in the bar! Our room overlooked the car park (but that was what we were expecting), nice quiet room a little small and basic but adequate and clean. Nice bathroom with shower (no bath). Heating controllable. Tea coffee and biscuits provided with lovely large mugs. Lack of plug sockets disappointing and found it difficult to plug in hairdryer near mirror. Breakfast was included in price, very you could choose cooked breakfast from menu and help yourself to cereal and pastries etc. Food was excellent though we thought the large breakfast might have been bigger than it was. A very enjoyable flying visit, booked very last minute so good value for what we paid. I would definitely recommend and hope to stay again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widnesrlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Many thanks for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed you stay and we will hopefully welcome you again on your next visit to Bedford. I have also addressed the plug issue in the room you stayed.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have stayed here on various occasions whilst visiting family nearby and wouldn't consider anywhere else. It has always been delightful, but everything seems to have gone up a notch recently, - service, room care, food. We stayed in one of the front rooms overlooking the river and embankment, and though you can hear the noise from people sitting outside the bar below, that stopped completely at closing time and it was then very peaceful. The room was spacious with ample room for a sofa, the bed was very comfortable, the decor charming and quirky; the bathroom clean and well appointed. Food, as always was a high point of the visit - we have never been disappointed. We will return!

Room Tip: Large front rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epsomhappytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in August. We had visited the hotel previously and had coffees in the bar which is why we decided to give it a go. A lot of effort has gone into a very tasteful renovation. I remember this place from years ago and it was lovely to see it had been developed into a relaxing but stylish venue. The staff and manager were very friendly and incredibly accommodating. A huge plus was when we were upgraded to a much larger room! We have previously stayed at the more expensive hotel just down the road but will definitely consider staying here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJHONGKONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from the Embankment Hotel in Bedford.
Great setting,good food,real ales,helpful staff and a lovely room. ( #103)
What more could you ask for.
We will be returning to this hotel.
Parking can be a problem...

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem as can noise from the outside area to the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christuckeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for one night. Good points were room was clean and stylish and the food was good. The staff, especially the manager, were very friendly and helpful. But our overall experience was spoiled by the fact that the noise level was unacceptable. We know it was a Saturday night and the venue is very popular and also had a hen party event there, but we had paid a premium for a river view room which meant our room was at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, this also meant that even after the partygoers had left the venue, the road was still very busy throughout the night with both traffic and other people on an evening out. Also, the staff were chatting very loudly when cleaning up outside until after 1am, and then the outside area was being prepared for a new day from 7am. We tried closing the windows but the room was too hot. The hotel did apologise and give us a discount on the room when we mentioned this when checking out, but we were shattered as had hardly slept and would have rather paid the full price to get a decent nights sleep. So if you are a partygoer then I'm sure this hotel will be right up your street!

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We needed to stay one night in Bedford to attend a wedding. Other hotels cost more than this one, but I booked it anyway and wasn't expecting too much. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff were helpful and looked after our luggage until the room was ready, even gave us a personal phone number in case we arrrived late from our wedding and had any problems.
Bedroom was clean and the hotel is right across from the river, so in a very nice position. We expected noise as it is a pub downstairs as well as a hotel..............but we had no complaints at all. I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BangorKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.6 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#12 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Property: Embankment Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#3 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Embankment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing